Bitcoin Forum
January 23, 2019, 08:49:06 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: DPS2000BB Breakouts. New updates!  (Read 6708 times)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1485


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
June 25, 2017, 01:32:42 AM
 #41

my 2k from you are nice.

i prefer them to the 4k.

I will be looking to expand with my solar array partner. buy solar.

I will be need some 2k breakouts with wires

question do you have any 8 pin cables?

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
1548233346
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548233346

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548233346
Reply with quote  #2

1548233346
Report to moderator
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 25, 2017, 02:47:49 AM
Last edit: June 27, 2017, 12:08:29 AM by Optimizer
 #42

I do not, but I will be refreshing stock on cables as soon as they comes in.

The 4k board works amazingly well for its construction!

I generally carry the 6P to 6P ($3.50 x1 and $2.95 x100+) and the 6P+2P to 6P ($4.00 x1 and $3.20 x100+) but there is an unusually high demand and backorder at the moment.  I have heard that Sidehack can fill that void when we are unable.

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 26, 2017, 08:47:05 PM
 #43

bought some last week, works great!!! im able to power 3 l3+ with one 4k unit, overall very pleased.
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2017, 12:07:36 AM
 #44

bought some last week, works great!!! im able to power 3 l3+ with one 4k unit, overall very pleased.

Nice.  Thank you tlon19.  I expect all of the PCI-e connectors run farily cool at load on an I3+?

I don't suppose you have pictures of your rig you would mind sharing?

Also, edit above on cable pricing.  I initially posted the singles value.

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
tlon19
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 07:22:40 PM
 #45

bought some last week, works great!!! im able to power 3 l3+ with one 4k unit, overall very pleased.

Nice.  Thank you tlon19.  I expect all of the PCI-e connectors run farily cool at load on an I3+?

I don't suppose you have pictures of your rig you would mind sharing?

Also, edit above on cable pricing.  I initially posted the singles value.

-Optim

yes all the cables run cool, i used my old knc miner 120mm fants on the breakout borads, will post pictures later tonight
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 19, 2017, 08:19:36 PM
 #46

Looking for DPS-1200FB Breakout boards...
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 11:24:22 AM
 #47

bought some last week, works great!!! im able to power 3 l3+ with one 4k unit, overall very pleased.

Nice.  Thank you tlon19.  I expect all of the PCI-e connectors run farily cool at load on an I3+?

I don't suppose you have pictures of your rig you would mind sharing?

Also, edit above on cable pricing.  I initially posted the singles value.

-Optim

yes all the cables run cool, i used my old knc miner 120mm fants on the breakout borads, will post pictures later tonight

Nice.  Let me know!

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 11:25:39 AM
Last edit: July 21, 2017, 12:37:10 AM by Optimizer
 #48

Looking for DPS-1200FB Breakout boards...

How many do you need?  I played around with this design,  but ultimately abandoned because the power was too low for our stuff.

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 12:04:08 PM
 #49

Looking for DPS-1200FB Breakout boards...

How many do you need?  I played around with this design,  but ultimately abandoned because the power was too low for our stuff?

-Optim
Im looking for 2 initially for a pair of L3+ rigs I have coming.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1485


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 12:39:51 PM
 #50

Looking for DPS-1200FB Breakout boards...

How many do you need?  I played around with this design,  but ultimately abandoned because the power was too low for our stuff?

-Optim
Im looking for 2 initially for a pair of L3+ rigs I have coming.

I could use 2 or 3 myself.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 12:42:38 PM
 #51

Looking for DPS-1200FB Breakout boards...

How many do you need?  I played around with this design,  but ultimately abandoned because the power was too low for our stuff?

-Optim
Im looking for 2 initially for a pair of L3+ rigs I have coming.

I could use 2 or 3 myself.

We are pretty busy but I could try developing those in time.  While you wait, why don't you guys go for the DPS2000BB breakouts?  I have a pretty large stock of those.

Also, cables are in Phil

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 20, 2017, 01:03:41 PM
 #52

I don't recommend DPS1200 for L3+. Leastways I won't sell them to you if I know that's what you're using them on. The first five L3+ that came into my hosting, within a week three of them had set the PSU boards on fire. Looked like there was a flaw with the miner that caused potentially several hundred watts of additional power into one board, because every time the damage was centered around one pair of cables. The 1200 has about 500 watts of headroom over the L3+ stock power draw so it didn't trip overcurrent before the jacks started breaking down from the localized severe overcurrent draw. I could assume it's a flaw in the PCB, except that it happened to 3 of the exact same miner within seven days and not to any other of the same batch of boards, several of which I have powering S9/T9 off 1500W PSUs and they aren't even warm.
The owner of the miners said he saw similar trouble off pairs of Dell 750W, where one PSU would sometimes trip out (less headroom per supply). The L3+ are now driven off pairs of Seasonic 850W and I occasionally have to reset them.

My recommendation for the L3+, use no more than 1000W PSU and keep an eye on it.

My board works with the DPS800, which runs 800W on 120V and 1000W on 200+V, so that might be a viable option. I haven't tested it though.

But for safety I'm also not taking in more L3+ into hosting because I don't want my shop to burn down.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 01:12:15 PM
 #53

I don't recommend DPS1200 for L3+. Leastways I won't sell them to you if I know that's what you're using them on. The first five L3+ that came into my hosting, within a week three of them had set the PSU boards on fire. Looked like there was a flaw with the miner that caused potentially several hundred watts of additional power into one board, because every time the damage was centered around one pair of cables. The 1200 has about 500 watts of headroom over the L3+ stock power draw so it didn't trip overcurrent before the jacks started breaking down from the localized severe overcurrent draw. I could assume it's a flaw in the PCB, except that it happened to 3 of the exact same miner within seven days and not to any other of the same batch of boards, several of which I have powering S9/T9 off 1500W PSUs and they aren't even warm.
The owner of the miners said he saw similar trouble off pairs of Dell 750W, where one PSU would sometimes trip out (less headroom per supply). The L3+ are now driven off pairs of Seasonic 850W and I occasionally have to reset them.

My recommendation for the L3+, use no more than 1000W PSU and keep an eye on it.

My board works with the DPS800, which runs 800W on 120V and 1000W on 200+V, so that might be a viable option. I haven't tested it though.

But for safety I'm also not taking in more L3+ into hosting because I don't want my shop to burn down.

Aye, thanks for the additional info Sidehack.

By the way; by accident, I tested the DPS1600BB with my DPS2000BB, 2kW breakout.  That is also a viable solution here since pinouts worked there.

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 01:31:41 PM
 #54

I could use a pair of Seasonic X1000's that I have, but I also have 4x of the DPS-1200's from an old HP DL580 just sitting around.
I also have a pair of DPS-700GB PSU's from a HP DL360. These would be under-rated since the L3+ Draw is rated at 800W.
I was told by others to get a PSU rated at least 20% higher than the load.
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 01:45:57 PM
 #55

I could use a pair of Seasonic X1000's that I have, but I also have 4x of the DPS-1200's from an old HP DL580 just sitting around.
I also have a pair of DPS-700GB PSU's from a HP DL360. These would be under-rated since the L3+ Draw is rated at 800W.
I was told by others to get a PSU rated at least 20% higher than the load.


I would say ideally 50-80% for efficiency on these server supplies (full bridge topology).  You should invest in a DPS1600 or greater.

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 02:26:08 PM
 #56

I could use a pair of Seasonic X1000's that I have, but I also have 4x of the DPS-1200's from an old HP DL580 just sitting around.
I also have a pair of DPS-700GB PSU's from a HP DL360. These would be under-rated since the L3+ Draw is rated at 800W.
I was told by others to get a PSU rated at least 20% higher than the load.


I would say ideally 50-80% for efficiency on these server supplies (full bridge topology).  You should invest in a DPS1600 or greater.
Confused... Sidehack just recommended <= 1KW max due to fire issues when PSU doesn't shutdown on overdraw...

Also, 66% of 1200W is 792, right at the 800W mark for the L3+...
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2017, 04:08:43 PM
 #57

I am unsure, but if Sidehack says it worked for him, it is possible.  In my experience though, you want to load these supplies around 50-60% for peak efficiency.

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
usao
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 20, 2017, 04:37:57 PM
 #58

I am unsure, but if Sidehack says it worked for him, it is possible.  In my experience though, you want to load these supplies around 50-60% for peak efficiency.

-Optim
I think his issue was that the PSU was not cutting-off if the miner drew too much power, so he recommended having the PSU much closer to the 80% mark to make sure that if there was a power surge in the miner that the PSU would cut out and not cause any smoke/fire issues on the L3+.
In either event, im probably better off using my Seasonic 1000W PSU, that would be 80%. I don't have anything as low as an 850, but that would be like 95% anyhow, probably also not good.
Optimizer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
July 21, 2017, 12:04:24 AM
 #59

Ah, I normally only run GPU.  They are nice and generally error free

If the L3 is shunting out on you, I would not use it without some kind of power limiter or reset-able fuse that is temp triggered (AC Input side).

It is possible in frequency hops to produce pretty large transients.  Are you sure the problem isn't with a particular supply output?

-Optim

If you would like to E-mail me off forums, go to the Contact Us section of my website. 

www.price-technology.com
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1946
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 21, 2017, 12:59:40 AM
 #60

Seems unlikely, when there's problems on several different units of at least 3 different models of supply.

That's why I recommend using a PSU without as much trip-current overhead, and definitely not my boards on a PSU with more than 500W of overhead, especially not when three different boards on three different PSUs on three different L3+ caught fire.

Maybe heavier copper on Optimizer's boards would hold up to the localized surge currents better, but that just means the cables would fail next if the fault condition isn't fixed.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!