Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2017, 03:27:18 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7th GPU's not working on MSI Z97 Gaming 5  (Read 144 times)
ertha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 02:45:27 PM
 #1

I have set up a few rigs using a number of different boards but this Z97 Gaming 5 from MSI is a bit hassle for me.

So far I've managed to make  6 gpus running stably, the problem occurs when I put in the 7th 1060. There will be an exclamation mark on this gpu in "device manager," in detail it says "this device does not have enough free resources" or CODE  12

I tried several config, but still can't get this to work. Some of those settings include;
1.) Change PCI lane to GEN1/2, latency to 8/4/4 as usual.
2.) Disable all on-board option as possible, it didn't work even I disable on-board LAN.
3.) Tried different bios version as well
4.) This MOBO is a bit old, so even newest bios available doesn't have "ABOVE 4G" decoding.

I think I've seen some people posted their 7-gpu rig using this mobo? so there must be something wrong with my set up?

Big thanks! Now I'm trying some alternative mining OS like simple mining. Will see if that work or not...
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508642838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508642838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508642838
Reply with quote  #2

1508642838
Report to moderator
1508642838
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508642838

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508642838
Reply with quote  #2

1508642838
Report to moderator
belaweb2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 02:50:54 PM
 #2

Hi,

I have the same issue and only saw working 7 GPU configs with AMD 4GB cards... not with NVIDIA (in my case 8GB 1070).
I gave up trying to add the 7th card under windows after I almost bricked the MB by flashing it with a homebrewn bios (with 4G decoding).

Would be interessted if someone made it working with 7x GTX1070.

BR
kapsel
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 02:51:31 PM
 #3

I can't be much of a help as I've run into the exact same issue running gtx 1060s, however 7 rx 470s work just fine with that board, the issue could be on nvidia driver side ? I can't say for sure as I could not figure out a way to make 7 1060s run on that board.
ertha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 02:57:13 PM
 #4

lol seems like I have lots of friends here  Undecided. Maybe I too should give up on this 7th 1060...





ltcsprite
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 02:59:39 PM
 #5

I could never get 7 stable under win10 with that board. ended ups witching to SMOS.  all is well now.
d57heinz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
October 16, 2017, 03:14:51 PM
 #6

I could never get 7 stable under win10 with that board. ended ups witching to SMOS.  all is well now.

Same result I had.  Never could get past 6 with windows. Switched to smos and haven’t looked back. Well worth the fee. ESP if you have 6+ gpu rigs.  Stable and a few more sols per Card.

BR

As in nature, all is ebb and tide, all is wave motion, so it seems that in all branches of industry, alternating currents - electric wave motion - will have the sway. ~Nikola Tesla~
ertha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 03:25:20 PM
 #7

does that stand for Simple Mining? What cards are you running right now? Cheesy Are their performances as good as in Win10? My Mixed 3g/6g 1060 can run smoothly for 163 mh/s for Ethash. Thanks for sharing mate!
d57heinz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile WWW
October 16, 2017, 03:58:46 PM
 #8

does that stand for Simple Mining? What cards are you running right now? Cheesy Are their performances as good as in Win10? My Mixed 3g/6g 1060 can run smoothly for 163 mh/s for Ethash. Thanks for sharing mate!

Yes is sure does. https://simplemining.net.  Grab a usb stick and try it out.  Don’t wipe your windows install. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1541084.0   You can checkout this thread for help.  

BR

As in nature, all is ebb and tide, all is wave motion, so it seems that in all branches of industry, alternating currents - electric wave motion - will have the sway. ~Nikola Tesla~
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
October 16, 2017, 04:14:57 PM
 #9

You really should stick to just 6 cards, any more and you will run into stability issues. Compound that with the fact that for some reason you are running windows to mine with and you will end up with a rig you have to mess with every couple of days.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
ertha
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 08:49:25 AM
 #10

You really should stick to just 6 cards, any more and you will run into stability issues. Compound that with the fact that for some reason you are running windows to mine with and you will end up with a rig you have to mess with every couple of days.

I agree. However for me stability for each rig is variable and to be tested. I have experience for a few rigs that run smoothly with 8 GPU but they are on Asus mobo (which known for stability!) MSI often gives me this kind of head ache, I will try to make this work and let's see how smooth it can run.

And of course i prioritize stability, if it's not stable it sure is not worth the effort and time, in that case I would stay with 6 cards Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!