Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2017, 01:27:34 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: sapphire rx480 nitro+ not detected  (Read 317 times)
bughatti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 12:19:10 AM
 #1

So a week or so ago I ordered a used sapphire nitro+ rx480 4gb with epilda memory.  It worked out of the box and I had it in a temp machine running fine and tested out a couple of different ROMS.  They all worked fine, no issue.  I took the card out a couple days ago in preparation for a second rig build and low and behold it is not detected, in windows nor in bios.  I tested a few different risers, plug it directly into the board and after that did not work, I took it back to the temp computer and nothing.  I get the sapphire light on it, no fan action and nothing in bios.  I know reading the threads that if you flash the bios it voids the warranty and I have anoraks overclocked bios on it so I dont think I can send it back to the manufacturer.  Any help would be greatly appreciated, even if its a your f***ed, that way I know to stick to my nvidia rigs.



++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Edit: I tried the vswitch next to the led switch following this thread, still not working.  http://www.overclock.net/t/1353325/tutorial-atiwinflash-how-to-flash-the-bios-of-your-ati-cards  I found a thread here https://forum.ethereum.org/discussion/9443/bricked-your-rx-480-due-to-bad-flash about doing the 1+8 but I would need to take the chassis off and since I bought it from amazon warehouse deals, I think I would much rather risk trying to send it back compared to taking parts off and then try to send it back

Any ideas?  I know there is a heavy user group of the rx480's here, no one else has ever had this issue?
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
1487770054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1487770054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1487770054
Reply with quote  #2

1487770054
Report to moderator
bughatti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 02:22:57 AM
 #2

Well i tried the 1+8 trick and still a no go, guess I will see what steps I can take.  I really hope this isn't what I have to look forward to with these rx 480's
Encho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 05:02:35 AM
 #3

What's the 1+8 trick?. It also seems like you won't be able to claim the warranty because of the bios (you should try contacting Sapphire anyway), also probably why the previous owner sold it, the card was showing signs of a failing.

Btw, I'm running 7x RX 470 and 480 cards, and they've been awesome and stable. Just a little underclock and now all run below 68ºC.
coinzoid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 11:13:31 AM
 #4

Are you able to list it in atiflash command prompt with atiflash -i command?

If you can flash original bios then you can send it back to service provider.

I recommend using an integrated gpu to test the rx480 bios flash again.
bughatti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 02:17:01 PM
 #5

So no matter what I do the card is not detected in the BIOS, tried in multiple motherboards.  Until the bios detects it, atiflash wont see it.
chudm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 04:05:30 PM
 #6

So no matter what I do the card is not detected in the BIOS, tried in multiple motherboards.  Until the bios detects it, atiflash wont see it.

got the same problem with a 470 nitro+, at least i send it back to amazon and got a refund for the card, try to do that, i did it and was fine (Even with the modified bios)
bughatti
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
February 16, 2017, 04:40:27 PM
 #7

So no matter what I do the card is not detected in the BIOS, tried in multiple motherboards.  Until the bios detects it, atiflash wont see it.

got the same problem with a 470 nitro+, at least i send it back to amazon and got a refund for the card, try to do that, i did it and was fine (Even with the modified bios)

I did that last night, new one on the way by friday.  My thought is the card was modded on the other position vswitch bios but worked on my current vswitch bios, after  I modded that one I had no way to fix either of them, hence why I tried the 1+8, or either the card literally is a dead card.

What I have determined is now that I know all the functions on the card, I will test both vbios switch as normal rom and working, then make sure I am in performance mode that only gets the updated rom
chudm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
February 17, 2017, 12:08:37 AM
 #8

So no matter what I do the card is not detected in the BIOS, tried in multiple motherboards.  Until the bios detects it, atiflash wont see it.

got the same problem with a 470 nitro+, at least i send it back to amazon and got a refund for the card, try to do that, i did it and was fine (Even with the modified bios)

I did that last night, new one on the way by friday.  My thought is the card was modded on the other position vswitch bios but worked on my current vswitch bios, after  I modded that one I had no way to fix either of them, hence why I tried the 1+8, or either the card literally is a dead card.

What I have determined is now that I know all the functions on the card, I will test both vbios switch as normal rom and working, then make sure I am in performance mode that only gets the updated rom

To be honest i dont know why my card failed, i flashed the bios on performance mode, and never touched the switch, the card lights were on, but never detected on bios, it was running fine for 5 months along with 4 more, but at least amazon refund me 80% of the card and now the price is lower so i got a new one (samsung memory) from the refund i got
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!