Bitcoin Forum
March 30, 2020, 06:17:35 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 [87] 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon A7 announced  (Read 146820 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Steamtyme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1660


Exchange Bitcoin quickly-https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 08:47:39 PM
 #1721

Hi,

Anyone can help me how to fix Avalon miner 741 with PG Code 3


Here is a link to a thread where they have the code list and advice on how to read it.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2012304.msg22904051#msg22904051

How to order it? Where it can be shipping?

Here is the link to the thread about canaan's distributor and there website:
Minerwarez.com

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2277516.0

So far my units have all been running really well. And the minor cosmetic issue I had on my fan casing when it was delivered has been solved, as they sent out a replacement fan casing from Canaan.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1585549055
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585549055

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585549055
Reply with quote  #2

1585549055
Report to moderator
Foofighter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 547


BTC Mining Hardware, Trading and more


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 09:00:55 PM
 #1722

This topic is getting full with questions about defective hardware  Shocked

As far as I know and experienced in the forum the failure rate of Avalon Miners is the lowest of all Manufacturers.

https://www.cryptouniverse.at - official Canaan Distributor
Check out our Mining Hardware shop in Europe: Shop
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 2213



View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:36:35 PM
 #1723

This topic is getting full with questions about defective hardware  Shocked

As far as I know and experienced in the forum the failure rate of Avalon Miners is the lowest of all Manufacturers.
well this was true of
avalon 4.1
avalon 6
avalon 721

the august 741's and the minerwarez  741'sin sept seem to be a bit worse.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
donatebitcointome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 02:46:52 AM
 #1724

This topic is getting full with questions about defective hardware  Shocked

As far as I know and experienced in the forum the failure rate of Avalon Miners is the lowest of all Manufacturers.
well this was true of
avalon 4.1
avalon 6
avalon 721

the august 741's and the minerwarez  741'sin sept seem to be a bit worse.

From 100 machine, I got 3 defective miner like I explained above and already send email to them and got no reply at all.
and
106 power supply, I got 8 defective (They said they are going to replace it, we'll see about that whether I will received the replacement or not, will update if I received replacement)
So I guess if they didn't replace my miner, then that's mean the Avalon miner cost, I have to add up 3% (defective rate)

Avalon 6 all good no defective, just the some miner hashrate is not like it was advertise (3.5 Th/s) but at least no defective.

we'll see about the new type later, hopefully its not as bad as 741 like Philip mentioned and what I received.
Thetaj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 403
Merit: 114


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 06:45:10 PM
 #1725



From 100 machine, I got 3 defective miner like I explained above and already send email to them and got no reply at all.
and
106 power supply, I got 8 defective (They said they are going to replace it, we'll see about that whether I will received the replacement or not, will update if I received replacement)
So I guess if they didn't replace my miner, then that's mean the Avalon miner cost, I have to add up 3% (defective rate)

Avalon 6 all good no defective, just the some miner hashrate is not like it was advertise (3.5 Th/s) but at least no defective.

we'll see about the new type later, hopefully its not as bad as 741 like Philip mentioned and what I received.


Its interesting you say that. From 100 machines, I also got 3 defective miners. So there are now 2 of us with a 3% defect rate. Did you try sending an email to Steve? I'm sure he can help you out man. From the 60 PSUs that I have, I haven't gotten a dead one yet (fingers crossed). Compared to the antminers ( I have 42 L3+ and 50 S9s with 14 more on the way) Avalons are way more reliable. I lost 8 hashboards on the s9s in the first 3 days of mining and 15 L3+ boards, In total I think Bitmain machines have a 10-15% fail rate. Lets see who will send me back the quickest RMA. (my money is still on Canaan). I will detail my experience in the other thread Smiley
Logan4el
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 103


View Profile
October 24, 2017, 08:49:29 PM
 #1726

Do you restart 741 once a month or let them run non stop?
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 25, 2017, 12:35:50 AM
 #1727

Do you restart 741 once a month or let them run non stop?

I have ran mine non stop for 2 months but have stop them to change the pool they are pointing to.
I don't know how to change where they are pointing to without having to poweroff and power back on.

No need for restarts unless you are having problems with something.
sauce11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 01:45:42 PM
Last edit: October 26, 2017, 01:59:05 PM by sauce11
 #1728

Hey guys,

I'm completely new to mining with Avalon 741 hardware. I just received mine yesterday and had the worst time setting up the miner. I finally connected to it after extensively switching around IP addresses, and then after restarting the Pi (its a 3 model b), I could no longer connect. I can still see it on my network, but for some reason can't log in anymore. I flashed the SD card with the most up to date firmware, and still cannot access the controller. Any ideas on what could be going on?

Thank you for all your help!

Edit: The LED on the miner is Yellow, and the LED on the controller switches from Blue and Green every so often, but mostly stays blue.
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 110


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 02:13:56 PM
 #1729

Hey guys,

I'm completely new to mining with Avalon 741 hardware. I just received mine yesterday and had the worst time setting up the miner. I finally connected to it after extensively switching around IP addresses, and then after restarting the Pi (its a 3 model b), I could no longer connect. I can still see it on my network, but for some reason can't log in anymore. I flashed the SD card with the most up to date firmware, and still cannot access the controller. Any ideas on what could be going on?

Thank you for all your help!

Edit: The LED on the miner is Yellow, and the LED on the controller switches from Blue and Green every so often, but mostly stays blue.

First priority is to connect to the controller.

1) You need to set your IP address to the same network the controller is on. The default is 192.168.0.1.100.
( see here: https://canaan.io/question/how-do-i-connect-an-avalonminer-721-and-avalonminer-controller-including-raspberry-pi-1-2-and-3/ )

2) Once you connect, set it to DHCP so that it'll get an IP the normal way, and reset your PC to DHCP
Steamtyme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1660


Exchange Bitcoin quickly-https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2017, 02:24:11 PM
 #1730


Hey guys,

I'm completely new to mining with Avalon 741 hardware. I just received mine yesterday and had the worst time setting up the miner. I finally connected to it after extensively switching around IP addresses, and then after restarting the Pi (its a 3 model b), I could no longer connect. I can still see it on my network, but for some reason can't log in anymore. I flashed the SD card with the most up to date firmware, and still cannot access the controller. Any ideas on what could be going on?

Thank you for all your help!

Edit: The LED on the miner is Yellow, and the LED on the controller switches from Blue and Green every so often, but mostly stays blue.


Is there a chance that you switched it to DCHP and are still trying to use the old IP address to connect to the controller? Look it up on your router and see what IP address it has been assigned.

If you are connecting to the controller and just cant log in, did you change the password or delete the default password?



sauce11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 02:27:12 PM
 #1731


Hey guys,

I'm completely new to mining with Avalon 741 hardware. I just received mine yesterday and had the worst time setting up the miner. I finally connected to it after extensively switching around IP addresses, and then after restarting the Pi (its a 3 model b), I could no longer connect. I can still see it on my network, but for some reason can't log in anymore. I flashed the SD card with the most up to date firmware, and still cannot access the controller. Any ideas on what could be going on?

Thank you for all your help!

Edit: The LED on the miner is Yellow, and the LED on the controller switches from Blue and Green every so often, but mostly stays blue.


Is there a chance that you switched it to DCHP and are still trying to use the old IP address to connect to the controller? Look it up on your router and see what IP address it has been assigned.

If you are connecting to the controller and just cant log in, did you change the password or delete the default password?





Thanks for the reply! I feel like I may have switched to DCHP by accident. If I did do this, what would I now have to do in order to log in? My router has given it an address of 192.168.1.100, but when putting that in, I get a could not connect screen on the browser. I'm about 99% sure I didn't delete or change the original password (which was blank), and I can't even get to the log in screen.
Steamtyme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966
Merit: 1660


Exchange Bitcoin quickly-https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile WWW
October 26, 2017, 03:10:07 PM
 #1732

I would double check that IP address , as it looks like that is the first device to be assigned one from your router.

When you say you reset the controller, did you maybe return everything to default, you might need to go through all the steps again to log in, the same way you did the first time, with the controllers default address.

Unfortunately I'm no expert when it comes to networking; but my fix for getting my Controller changed to DCHP when it first arrived was using a spare dlink router with the address 192.168.0.xxx, so i used that to connect my laptop and controller for my first log in. Once I changed it to DCHP I set the controller up on my home network with no further issues.

sauce11
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 03:15:18 PM
 #1733

I would double check that IP address , as it looks like that is the first device to be assigned one from your router.

When you say you reset the controller, did you maybe return everything to default, you might need to go through all the steps again to log in, the same way you did the first time, with the controllers default address.

I'll see if maybe I can force/manually assign another address from the router (would this solve the problem?) When I reset it, I meant to say that I both flashed the SD card, and power cycled the controller. I tried the default address of 192.168.0.100 but this never worked from the beginning.

I'm beginning to think more and more that this is more of a networking issue than hardware. Thanks for your insight!
donatebitcointome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:03:52 AM
 #1734



From 100 machine, I got 3 defective miner like I explained above and already send email to them and got no reply at all.
and
106 power supply, I got 8 defective (They said they are going to replace it, we'll see about that whether I will received the replacement or not, will update if I received replacement)
So I guess if they didn't replace my miner, then that's mean the Avalon miner cost, I have to add up 3% (defective rate)

Avalon 6 all good no defective, just the some miner hashrate is not like it was advertise (3.5 Th/s) but at least no defective.

we'll see about the new type later, hopefully its not as bad as 741 like Philip mentioned and what I received.


Its interesting you say that. From 100 machines, I also got 3 defective miners. So there are now 2 of us with a 3% defect rate. Did you try sending an email to Steve? I'm sure he can help you out man. From the 60 PSUs that I have, I haven't gotten a dead one yet (fingers crossed). Compared to the antminers ( I have 42 L3+ and 50 S9s with 14 more on the way) Avalons are way more reliable. I lost 8 hashboards on the s9s in the first 3 days of mining and 15 L3+ boards, In total I think Bitmain machines have a 10-15% fail rate. Lets see who will send me back the quickest RMA. (my money is still on Canaan). I will detail my experience in the other thread Smiley

I guess the replacement and warranty thing is just BS and sweet talk. I have been asking them 2 more times and what I get is just silent.............
until I got replacement, I guess the 90 days warranty, for me is just a typo by them, it should be no warranty.
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 110


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:16:26 AM
 #1735

I would double check that IP address , as it looks like that is the first device to be assigned one from your router.

When you say you reset the controller, did you maybe return everything to default, you might need to go through all the steps again to log in, the same way you did the first time, with the controllers default address.

I'll see if maybe I can force/manually assign another address from the router (would this solve the problem?) When I reset it, I meant to say that I both flashed the SD card, and power cycled the controller. I tried the default address of 192.168.0.100 but this never worked from the beginning.

I'm beginning to think more and more that this is more of a networking issue than hardware. Thanks for your insight!

It definitely sounds like a networking issue.

Your PC would need to have its IP address on the 192.168.0.x network to connect to the controller. Most consumer routers default to 192.168.1.x, so if you have one of the common ones that you didn't customize, you won't be able to connect.

I think it's dumb that the default Canaan image isn't set to DHCP, but not everyone can easily see all the DHCP clients on their network, I suppose.
donatebitcointome
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 03:01:19 PM
 #1736

Does anybody know why my Avalon can randomly restart itself.
Sometimes 15 min restart. sometimes 5 hour. and sometimes can last up to 1 day and then it restart by itself.

Thanks.
stugots2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 102


Too Many Miners Not Enough Electricity


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 03:08:42 PM
 #1737

I bought a lemon A6, and honestly there is NOOOOOOOOO support what so ever.

if it wasn't for you guys on this forum I would have been SOL and truthfully thats a turn off for me
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2758
Merit: 2213



View Profile
October 27, 2017, 03:44:48 PM
 #1738

I bought a lemon A6, and honestly there is NOOOOOOOOO support what so ever.

if it wasn't for you guys on this forum I would have been SOL and truthfully thats a turn off for me

Well  they will support the 741 better as they still have parts.

all the older gear the parts are not made any more.

how did it finally work?  new 4 pin cable?

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1433


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 03:46:01 PM
 #1739

I bought a lemon A6, and honestly there is NOOOOOOOOO support what so ever.

if it wasn't for you guys on this forum I would have been SOL and truthfully thats a turn off for me
No maker of miners supports miners that older than the current generation they sell. They are not made in sufficient numbers to allow for stockpiling of spare parts.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
PeaMine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 822
Merit: 506



View Profile
October 27, 2017, 09:07:28 PM
 #1740



From 100 machine, I got 3 defective miner like I explained above and already send email to them and got no reply at all.
and
106 power supply, I got 8 defective (They said they are going to replace it, we'll see about that whether I will received the replacement or not, will update if I received replacement)
So I guess if they didn't replace my miner, then that's mean the Avalon miner cost, I have to add up 3% (defective rate)

Avalon 6 all good no defective, just the some miner hashrate is not like it was advertise (3.5 Th/s) but at least no defective.

we'll see about the new type later, hopefully its not as bad as 741 like Philip mentioned and what I received.


Its interesting you say that. From 100 machines, I also got 3 defective miners. So there are now 2 of us with a 3% defect rate. Did you try sending an email to Steve? I'm sure he can help you out man. From the 60 PSUs that I have, I haven't gotten a dead one yet (fingers crossed). Compared to the antminers ( I have 42 L3+ and 50 S9s with 14 more on the way) Avalons are way more reliable. I lost 8 hashboards on the s9s in the first 3 days of mining and 15 L3+ boards, In total I think Bitmain machines have a 10-15% fail rate. Lets see who will send me back the quickest RMA. (my money is still on Canaan). I will detail my experience in the other thread Smiley

I guess the replacement and warranty thing is just BS and sweet talk. I have been asking them 2 more times and what I get is just silent.............
until I got replacement, I guess the 90 days warranty, for me is just a typo by them, it should be no warranty.


So far, while there have been some major delays, for the 3 issues I've had on all machines which were all from direct Canaan orders, they have resolved them within a month.
If you haven't already be sure to have a ticket in with Canaan.
https://canaan.io/ticket

S9s on the other hand, almost half have a bad board now spread across many batches, all almost magically after the warranty period.
Though the price I paid and efficiency, it's still not terrible in comparison.
I do like Canaan's warranty more.

Datacenter Technician and Electrician.  If you have any questions feel free to ask me as I am generally bored looking at logs and happy to help during free time.
Pages: « 1 ... 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 [87] 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!