Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:18:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problem with ATI Tray Tools and multiple GPUs  (Read 3278 times)
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:23:27 AM
 #1

Hi everyone,

I have a problem with the latest version of ATI Tray Tools (Win7 64bit).

I can perfectly OC and UC my "mainGPU", a 5870 which is listed in AMD Vision Control Cencer as screen 2 with ATITT, but I have no option to switch to my 2 other GPUs, 2 6870 which are running in crossfire mode. In AMD VCC (CCC) I can OC them, change the fan speeds and so on (also changes are not permanent, when I reboot mem underclocking is reset). But how can I select these GPUs in ATITT? They are not listed in the drop down menu in hardware, nor in the the system information.

Thanks!

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
1481206723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481206723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481206723
Reply with quote  #2

1481206723
Report to moderator
1481206723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481206723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481206723
Reply with quote  #2

1481206723
Report to moderator
1481206723
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481206723

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481206723
Reply with quote  #2

1481206723
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:37:43 AM
 #2

Hi everyone,

I have a problem with the latest version of ATI Tray Tools (Win7 64bit).

I can perfectly OC and UC my "mainGPU", a 5870 which is listed in AMD Vision Control Cencer as screen 2 with ATITT, but I have no option to switch to my 2 other GPUs, 2 6870 which are running in crossfire mode. In AMD VCC (CCC) I can OC them, change the fan speeds and so on (also changes are not permanent, when I reboot mem underclocking is reset). But how can I select these GPUs in ATITT? They are not listed in the drop down menu in hardware, nor in the the system information.

Thanks!

Use MSI Afterburner.

stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 07:47:22 AM
 #3

i tried that before, not satisfying.

What should I have installed and what not to make it work? CCC? Just the ATI Drivers + OpenCL + APP SDK + MSI Afterburner?
Or the full AMD Vision Control Suite + MSI Afterburner?

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
Freakin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 08:18:51 AM
 #4

i tried that before, not satisfying.

What should I have installed and what not to make it work? CCC? Just the ATI Drivers + OpenCL + APP SDK + MSI Afterburner?
Or the full AMD Vision Control Suite + MSI Afterburner?

you can install the whole suite + afterburner.  That is what I did and afterburner works great

You can select GPU in settings.  Make sure it's set to synchronize similar GPUs there as well. 

you can't get enough control with multiple GPUs with CCC.
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 08:44:28 AM
 #5

I will try that. Probably my error with afterburner was that I did not "unlock" the full power with editing the cfg file.
Tray Tools works like a charm (on that one gpu Wink ), but the issues with the other gpus and the need for reinstallation after reboot bugs me out.

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:44:41 PM
 #6

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154

Here's a complete tutorial for using Radeon Bios Editor.  It's alot more simple than you may think going in.  Find a safe OC speed prior to doing this.

The guide linked above has links to all software you'll need, Radeon bios editor, GPU-z, and atiwinflash. 

I was looking for a solution to OC my 3 5830's and tried trixx, afterburner, ati tray tools, and ccc and none gave me the results I wanted.  I simply flashed all 3 and they're chugging along @ 285mh each.
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 12:54:45 PM
 #7

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/154
Here's a complete tutorial for using Radeon Bios Editor.  It's alot more simple than you may think going in.  Find a safe OC speed prior to doing this.

That way the gpu just keeps its settings?

How did you determine your safe OC speed prior flashing the BIOS?

For example I have my 5870 with ATI tray tools now at 950/300 and it is running stable with 419mhash/s, set to 985/300 I got a white screen after a couple of minutes Wink Is there an easy calculation method what speeds and voltages work well together?

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!