Bitcoin Forum
July 13, 2024, 02:05:23 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitworks 8 GPU 4U rack mount mining rig  (Read 7467 times)
padrino (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
November 13, 2016, 03:53:42 PM
Last edit: November 28, 2016, 02:24:33 AM by padrino
 #1

I've been manufacturing an 8 GPU rig for a few months now, as a follow-on to 4 and 6 GPU open frame rigs I've been making for a few years... Initially this unit used Radeon 380s and now Radeon 470/480s. Some may have seen it listed on ebay, I sell some there but it's primarily for the exposure, most units are sold direct to large farm operators who are running 50+ units at a time.

I do sell to individual miners as well and have been doing that for some time as well, posting this to share some details on the system as I have had a few people from the forums ask me about them...

The units run a fully custom Linux load, or a customized version of ethOS depending on the end users coin, they can mine most anything as with any GPU rig, given how many GPUs are in the system I sometimes need to customize the miner or it's launcher so it runs properly.

Prices start at $3600 USD for single systems and go down under $3,000 as the quantity goes up.

ETH: 230Mh/s
ZEC: 1200H/s
Power Usage ~1150W on 220V+, 1250W On 110V

These shots are from my 380 unit, 470 unit almost identical minus change in cards, and some strengthening of the chassis in my latest model revision to better handle shipping...




1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 502


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 03:59:27 PM
 #2

Looks really good. what motherboard you're using for 8-GPUs?
padrino (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
November 13, 2016, 04:00:19 PM
 #3

Looks really good. what motherboard you're using for 8-GPUs?

It's customized for the setup as a completely off the shelf one won't do the job

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
batko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 04:07:01 PM
 #4

same question what motherboard.?

i have 7x480 on BTC H81 +3in1HUB but  8x480 will not work.


Donation: ETH: 0x0c8ce94dd3d1bfd09c0f887559c61d1b551e4b4d
ps_jb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 04:16:01 PM
 #5

As all you can see there are 6x risers are going from MB - so it is standard one, but additional are connected through PCI splitter. And how to get them married together - it is his know-how.

And this is why it can be done only under *nix system

Just buy it - you cannot make it Smiley

cryptomined
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 104



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2016, 04:23:43 PM
 #6

As all you can see there are 6x risers are going from MB - so it is standard one, but additional are connected through PCI splitter. And how to get them married together - it is his know-how.

And this is why it can be done only under *nix system

Just buy it - you cannot make it Smiley



its probably a Z97 gaming 5 MSI board = 7 PCIE slots - 7 GPUs
with one M.2 to PCIE ? - 8th GPU
and ubuntu should work fine.... dont need to waste money on a ubuntu wrapper

deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751
Merit: 517


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 06:55:13 PM
 #7

Yup, can confirm from the image, that's the MSI Z97 Gaming 5 and it has 7 slots. The M2 though I do not think works with the PCI-e slots so thats not how hes got 8 working, its a splitter i believe.

Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
cryptomined
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 104



View Profile WWW
November 13, 2016, 06:58:04 PM
 #8

Yup, can confirm from the image, that's the MSI Z97 Gaming 5 and it has 7 slots. The M2 though I do not think works with the PCI-e slots so thats not how hes got 8 working, its a splitter i believe.

someone showed me a m.2 to PCIE board last week, i was very surprised... i have been meaning to pick one up
but could be a splitter

deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751
Merit: 517


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 08:02:28 PM
 #9

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1500
Merit: 1002


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 08:25:28 PM
 #10

@pad, when are u gonna donate one of those beauties to me heh .. have'nt seen u in a bit guess u must bz with that project. thumbs up mate !

nicely done mate.

anything more than 7 u need linux, then u can add splitters, afaik, linux has no limitations, windows does.
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 13, 2016, 08:42:17 PM
 #11

The nice thing about these kind of miner they don't destroy GPU mining like bitmain did or tried to do,  anyone can build one if they want to .

but this looks

AWESOME .


For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
cryptomined
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 104



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2016, 01:52:13 AM
 #12

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

this is what I was not sure about, if using m.2 disabled a PCIE lane or just some sata ports.
still might get one to try for the fun of it though Smiley

D8V1D
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 10:08:20 AM
 #13

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

this is what I was not sure about, if using m.2 disabled a PCIE lane or just some sata ports.
still might get one to try for the fun of it though Smiley


Anyone figure out how to get 8 GPUs on the MSI Gaming 5?

My power supply supports 9 PCIe power cables, be awesome If I could fit 2 more GPUs.
mettalmag
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1084
Merit: 1003


≡v≡


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 11:03:34 AM
 #14

On what quantity will it be 3.000$ ? 10 ? 25 ?
Price is great but what about shipping? Outside US it will cost a lot!
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3206
Merit: 1069



View Profile
November 23, 2016, 12:32:55 PM
 #15

600 sol and 1250w? doesn't look really efficient, normally sol/watt ratio should be 1:1 and with clymore is even lower 0.8-0.75
jstefanop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2138
Merit: 1398


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 04:35:41 PM
 #16

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

this is what I was not sure about, if using m.2 disabled a PCIE lane or just some sata ports.
still might get one to try for the fun of it though Smiley


Anyone figure out how to get 8 GPUs on the MSI Gaming 5?

My power supply supports 9 PCIe power cables, be awesome If I could fit 2 more GPUs.

You cant off the shelf. Im the one that designed this system with Padrino. My personal prototype systems are running 10 GPUs of a Gigabyte board. It requires very low level changes to how the board BIOS operates.

Project Apollo: A Pod Miner Designed for the Home https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4974036
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
D8V1D
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 05:59:55 PM
 #17

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

this is what I was not sure about, if using m.2 disabled a PCIE lane or just some sata ports.
still might get one to try for the fun of it though Smiley


Anyone figure out how to get 8 GPUs on the MSI Gaming 5?

My power supply supports 9 PCIe power cables, be awesome If I could fit 2 more GPUs.

You cant off the shelf. Im the one that designed this system with Padrino. My personal prototype systems are running 10 GPUs of a Gigabyte board. It requires very low level changes to how the board BIOS operates.

Mind if I ask what method you used to get 8th GPU running? I've tried PCIe multipliers, but it still maxes out at 7 GPUs.
batko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 23, 2016, 06:29:49 PM
 #18

No i mean the converters do exist, but on the msi gaming 5 if you are using the M2 slot the PCI-e 5 is disabled, so that wouldn't work i think.

this is what I was not sure about, if using m.2 disabled a PCIE lane or just some sata ports.
still might get one to try for the fun of it though Smiley


Anyone figure out how to get 8 GPUs on the MSI Gaming 5?

My power supply supports 9 PCIe power cables, be awesome If I could fit 2 more GPUs.

You cant off the shelf. Im the one that designed this system with Padrino. My personal prototype systems are running 10 GPUs of a Gigabyte board. It requires very low level changes to how the board BIOS operates.

which model?

Donation: ETH: 0x0c8ce94dd3d1bfd09c0f887559c61d1b551e4b4d
Aruku
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 25, 2016, 08:30:06 AM
 #19

I've been manufacturing an 8 GPU rig for a few months now, as a follow-on to 4 and 6 GPU open frame rigs I've been making for a few years... Initially this unit used Radeon 380s and now Radeon 470/480s. Some may have seen it listed on ebay, I sell some there but it's primarily for the exposure, most units are sold direct to large farm operators who are running 50+ units at a time.

I do sell to individual miners as well and have been doing that for some time as well, posting this to share some details on the system as I have had a few people from the forums ask me about them...

The units run a fully custom Linux load, or a customized version of ethOS depending on the end users coin, they can mine most anything as with any GPU rig, given how many GPUs are in the system I sometimes need to customize the miner or it's launcher so it runs properly.

Prices start at $3600 USD for single systems and go down under $3,000 as the quantity goes up.

ETH: 230Mh/s
ZEC: 600H/s
Power Usage ~1150W on 220V+, 1250W On 110V

These shots are from my 380 unit, 470 unit almost identical minus change in cards, and some strengthening of the chassis in my latest model revision to better handle shipping...

https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5626/30923077656_3cbbd405d7_z_d.jpg
https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5556/30828835772_bc7038e310_z_d.jpg
https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5350/25309689999_730757c76e_z_d.jpg

Wow! The chasis is so awesome.
Would be great if you post 3d model here. It seems that you know all the chasis and HW specs very well. Such a precise work. Would love to make that chasis on my 3d printer in ABS plastic =)
Nikolaj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 255


View Profile
November 25, 2016, 12:02:44 PM
 #20

I've been manufacturing an 8 GPU rig for a few months now, as a follow-on to 4 and 6 GPU open frame rigs I've been making for a few years... Initially this unit used Radeon 380s and now Radeon 470/480s. Some may have seen it listed on ebay, I sell some there but it's primarily for the exposure, most units are sold direct to large farm operators who are running 50+ units at a time.

I do sell to individual miners as well and have been doing that for some time as well, posting this to share some details on the system as I have had a few people from the forums ask me about them...

The units run a fully custom Linux load, or a customized version of ethOS depending on the end users coin, they can mine most anything as with any GPU rig, given how many GPUs are in the system I sometimes need to customize the miner or it's launcher so it runs properly.

Prices start at $3600 USD for single systems and go down under $3,000 as the quantity goes up.

ETH: 230Mh/s
ZEC: 600H/s
Power Usage ~1150W on 220V+, 1250W On 110V

These shots are from my 380 unit, 470 unit almost identical minus change in cards, and some strengthening of the chassis in my latest model revision to better handle shipping...
..

Wow! The chasis is so awesome.
Would be great if you post 3d model here. It seems that you know all the chasis and HW specs very well. Such a precise work. Would love to make that chasis on my 3d printer in ABS plastic =)

Are you kidding right?  Wink
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!