Bitcoin Forum
May 11, 2024, 03:45:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Solo mining with BFGMiner and Bitcoin-Qt and BE's - Am I doing this right?  (Read 35674 times)
skeeterskeeter (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 07:12:06 PM
 #1

I have started bitcoin-QT in server mode

Code:
PATH\Bitcoin-qt.exe -server

With my rpc password and username in the bitcoin.conf file.

and I have the following arguments for BFGMiner

Code:
PATH\bfgminer.exe -G -o http://localhost:8332 -u RPCUSER -p RPCPASS --coinbase-addr ADDRESSFORBLOCKREWARD -S all --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100

I guess my main question is what port should I direct BFGMiner to? And do my my arguments look correct otherwise?

1715442345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715442345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715442345
Reply with quote  #2

1715442345
Report to moderator
1715442345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715442345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715442345
Reply with quote  #2

1715442345
Report to moderator
Even in the event that an attacker gains more than 50% of the network's computational power, only transactions sent by the attacker could be reversed or double-spent. The network would not be destroyed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
skeeterskeeter (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 10:54:31 PM
 #2

I have added
Code:
-rpcport=8332
to the bitcoin.conf file. BFGMiner just sits at "BFGMiner started"
skeeterskeeter (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 11:07:18 PM
 #3

Ok I have solved my problem. I can now connect with my Qt wallet and start mining. Though I get the error

"No suitable long-poll found for URL __" I read that this just means I won't be informed by my wallet(server) very fast if a new block is found, but its ok I will only ever do this for a few seconds?
skeeterskeeter (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 05:07:49 AM
 #4

And after some careful read-me examination
Code:
-no-longpoll
on BFGMiner removes my error message. Thanks guys!
Zeek_W
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 12:06:41 PM
 #5

I like seeing a thread where someone has done the following:

Asked a question with substance (ie showing what he/she has tried)

Followed up with more information

Then finalized with how to fix it.

good stuff!

skeeterskeeter (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 04:58:02 PM
 #6

And after some careful read-me examination
Code:
-no-longpoll
on BFGMiner removes my error message. Thanks guys!

This seems to cause a huge number of hardware errors, removing long polling from the wallet server, any ideas why?
cereal7802
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 11, 2013, 01:31:34 PM
 #7

here is what i have setup for do solo.

bitcoin.conf
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=USRNAME
rpcpassword=RANDOMPASSWORD
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332

Then for bfgminer i have my bitcoind address (localhost in this example) with the username and password in the bitcoin.conf. seems to work...
marcocoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2014, 09:22:57 AM
 #8

here is what i have setup for do solo.

bitcoin.conf
Code:
server=1
rpcuser=USRNAME
rpcpassword=RANDOMPASSWORD
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332

Then for bfgminer i have my bitcoind address (localhost in this example) with the username and password in the bitcoin.conf. seems to work...


Hi guys,

I have done everything as you describe above, but my bitcoin-qt refuses to start up in server mode as it will not accept any rpcpassword at all.

My bfgminer bat is:

bfgminer.exe -o 127.0.0.1:8332 -u USRNAME -p RANDOMPASSWORD -S antminer:all --set-device antminer:clock=x0981 --icarus-options 115200:2:2

My .conf file is as in the code in your post.

I keep getting a msg from wallet saying "It is recommended you use the following random password ....." and gives a very long random password as an example. (I would love to insert a jpeg of the screenshot, but do not know how to add it to the message).

I wonder if you can help.

Thanks

nybbler905
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 23, 2014, 06:12:17 PM
 #9

The password error is now common place.  Basicaly, it checks for the ' common ' 1 number, 2 letters ( small and caps ) so just make sure Bitcoin-QT.conf and your BAT file have the same password with at least 1 number and at least 2 upppercase and lower case letters.  It may give that error if you change to this example password as it may be ' too short ' as far as Bitcoin-QT is concerned as over 8 character passwords are more secure

EXAMPLE: -p 1Ab

I strongly advise using at least 1 of the characters from the number keys EXCEPT these 4 ' # & * % ' as they are considered special case characters in WINDOWS and may be misenterpreted.

Always looking for donations even as low as 1uBTC
14XfpYPdtYiGoEiDcKrSzuvBM3ukhwANUh - BTC
LS7FEfu9ajp3NQcDjui9TSKscwQesj9i8k - LTC
LHe9g5ixMyfdtqAEHU5vErG1eQrDshBFRW -Luckycoin
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1011



View Profile
May 24, 2014, 10:10:16 PM
 #10

My method for solo-mining (because of the difficulty...)







Code:
bitcoin.conf create in the "blockchain" folder in bitcoin-QT tree


disablewallet=1
server=1
maxconnections=12
rpcuser=14789
rpcpassword=12369
rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcport=8332





Code:
TXT file with .BAT extension in the BFGMiner folder


g:\bfgminer\bfgminer
-o http://localhost:8332
-u 14789
-p 12369
--coinbase-addr publicbitcoinadressofpayment
--coinbase-sig "bro, that's my block !"
--scan-serial erupter:all





and ... you MUST open the NAT of router with the 8333 (yes, this port...)
8332 is not a problem on NAT (don't open it !) because it's only between bitcoin-QT and BFGMiner (firewall on OS).
ganabb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 04:12:51 AM
 #11

By the time I get my asic I probably wouldn't make much. But still glad to have something.

os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3578
Merit: 1090


Think for yourself


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 12:45:16 PM
 #12

Ok I have solved my problem. I can now connect with my Qt wallet and start mining. Though I get the error

"No suitable long-poll found for URL __" I read that this just means I won't be informed by my wallet(server) very fast if a new block is found, but its ok I will only ever do this for a few seconds?

Add some pools to your fail over list.  They will notify you of block changes.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Meuh6879
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1011



View Profile
May 25, 2014, 02:40:21 PM
 #13

note : bgfminer (3.10) recognize bitcoin-qt (0.9.1) ... and not activate the "long pool" (indicate at the start on log of bfgminer).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!