Bitcoin Forum
January 29, 2023, 12:33:59 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 24.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for advice - Rig (Noisetaker 600W / RX4XX)  (Read 598 times)
thedue (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 17, 2016, 08:29:51 PM
 #1

Hey,

I just found some (old) parts.. trying to put them together to another mining rig ;-)

PSU: Noisetaker 2 600W (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194005)
MB: old Gigabyte: x16 + 4x x1 = 5 PCI-e
CPU: Athlon 45W
8GB Ram
Win7 SSD
1x RX460 4GB, no 6Pin

---

Since the PSU has already got 2x 6Pin connectors I´m thinking of:

- x16 --> RX460 4GB no 6Pin + powered riser
- x1 --> RX470 6Pin no.1 + powered riser
- x1 --> RX470 6Pin no.2 + powered riser

around 300W for the 3 GPUs right? Won´t overclock .. but undervolt if anything.

---

What to do with the remaining 2 x1 PCI-e sockets?

1. 2 more RX470s would be too much for the PSU I guess?
2. 1 more RX470 (molex to 6Pin + powerd riser) and leave one socket empty? Or + a RX460 no 6Pin?
2 2 more RX460s no 6Pin with powered risers?

Any idea? Please do not forget.. the PSU is around 10 years old ;-)

Thanks for any advice / suggestion!
In order to get the maximum amount of activity points possible, you just need to post once per day on average. Skipping days is OK as long as you maintain the average.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1674952439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674952439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674952439
Reply with quote  #2

1674952439
Report to moderator
1674952439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674952439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674952439
Reply with quote  #2

1674952439
Report to moderator
1674952439
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1674952439

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1674952439
Reply with quote  #2

1674952439
Report to moderator
YIz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 17, 2016, 08:38:59 PM
 #2

Are you sure this PSU is capable of handling the load? I wouldn't trust a 10-year old PSU to run 24/7 in my house.
thedue (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2016, 03:42:52 AM
 #3

That it is why I am asking for advice ;-)
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3654
Merit: 5209



View Profile
November 18, 2016, 03:58:22 AM
 #4

here is some advice
it is old school  so the 3.3v and 5v rails are decent

but you have  2x 12 volt rails  the norm for back in the day.

22 amp = 22 x 12 or 264 watts each rail

one rail will feed the mobo  it will not do really well running a rx 470

the other rail will feed the pcie cable.

if you look it says the two rails together do 470 watts




+3.3V@34A, +5V@34A, +12V1@22A, +12V2@22A, -12V@0.6A, +5VSB@3.0A


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817194005

my verdict  run the 1 rx 460


 cost you zip nada nothing to set up

At best  you can add 1 rx 470  not 2

  so wait a bit just running the rx 460

make a little coin and find an rx 470 for sale  add it on.


if you cant run it pull the rx 460 and sell that just run the rx 470

3) Never invest more than you can afford to lose
2)Not your keys not your coins.
1) be like JJG just DCA
spiderdk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 18, 2016, 04:28:01 AM
 #5

A evga 600w, brand New, (plus White), can hold 2 rx 470 + i7 2700k (95w)?

Full load

49A single 12v rail
kisk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 18, 2016, 04:35:10 AM
 #6

Have to agree, system will perform great but get a decent power supply. Less risk if you fear fire.. not that it would :p
thedue (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2016, 05:21:11 AM
 #7

So I´m going to get a 470 for the 2nd rail and that´s it... (coins are already in my wallet from 2013 ;-) ) than getting a decent PSU later on and more 470s.

Thanks guys, especially philipma1957! That was really helpful!

vincetcm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 533


View Profile
November 18, 2016, 07:14:32 AM
 #8

Supports up to 12 cards.

http://www8.hp.com/uk/en/products/oas/product-detail.html?oid=3836975
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3290
Merit: 1563



View Profile
November 18, 2016, 08:40:02 AM
 #9

I tried one of those PSUs in the past, it was free and had like 300-400Watts or so, and it wouldn't even run a single GPU.

You will get instant stability problems because those PSUs were designed for simple "facebook browsing" and nothing else.



.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
thedue (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666
Merit: 500



View Profile
November 18, 2016, 09:13:47 AM
 #10

You´re talking about the Noisetaker 2??! Shocked
deadsix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 751
Merit: 517


Fail to plan, and you plan to fail.


View Profile
November 18, 2016, 09:33:29 AM
 #11

I couldn't run more than two RX 470's underclocked and undervolted on an old Antec 550W PSU. I think maybe you can do 2 X RX470 and 1 RX 460 but that would be it.

Ethereum/Zcash/Monero Mining Bangalore https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1703592
Oklawolf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 18, 2016, 01:38:52 PM
 #12

That PSU is at the end of its useful life, full of 10 year old electrolytic capacitors. One card might be ok. I would plan on replacing it ASAP regardless of what it's connected to. Worry about more cards after you've done that.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!