Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2017, 12:10:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new sse2_64 core  (Read 1210 times)
mu-b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:36:36 PM
 #1

All - well I wanted to post this to a different forum, but alas 'newbies' post here.

Anyway, I was asked by a friend with a bit of CPU power to optimise the sse2_64 core, a couple of hours later and I have a new core, sse2_64_atom. The development and the mainstay of the testing took place on an Intel Atom, so please forgive the name. However, it should give speed ups on many cpu's, particularly Intel as you all know 4way is still fastest on AMD (although this significantly decreases the gap).

An example on an Intel Atom D525 (dual core),

[2011-06-14 14:18:42] 2 miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse2_64' algorithm.
[2011-06-14 14:18:56] thread 0: 16777216 hashes, 1047.98 khash/sec

[2011-06-14 14:18:19] 2 miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse2_64_atom' algorithm.
[2011-06-14 14:18:31] thread 0: 16777216 hashes, 1234.20 khash/sec

That is about +18% and counting.

You can grab the source http://digit-labs.org/files/otherstuff/sha256_xmm_amd64_atom.asm.

Benchmarks are much appreciated! although comments/flames are also welcome.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1484741451
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1484741451

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1484741451
Reply with quote  #2

1484741451
Report to moderator
sirblade
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 02:49:40 AM
 #2

thx, went from 0.7 mh/s to 1.3 mh/s (divided by 2 cpu)

using Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU  230   @ 1.60GHz
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 06:19:07 AM
 #3

If you're mining with your cpu you're much better off mining ltc and selling them for btc.
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 06:20:55 AM
 #4

If you're mining with your cpu you're much better off mining ltc and selling them for btc.

Show your math. Smiley
rapeghost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2011, 09:10:18 AM
 #5

You already have this core if you were in #eligius when i gave out cpuminer-ng.

If anyone wants a copy of cpuminer-ng just let me / mu-b know

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!