Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2018, 10:27:29 PM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: new sse2_64 core  (Read 1285 times)
mu-b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 14, 2011, 01:36:36 PM
 #1

All - well I wanted to post this to a different forum, but alas 'newbies' post here.

Anyway, I was asked by a friend with a bit of CPU power to optimise the sse2_64 core, a couple of hours later and I have a new core, sse2_64_atom. The development and the mainstay of the testing took place on an Intel Atom, so please forgive the name. However, it should give speed ups on many cpu's, particularly Intel as you all know 4way is still fastest on AMD (although this significantly decreases the gap).

An example on an Intel Atom D525 (dual core),

[2011-06-14 14:18:42] 2 miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse2_64' algorithm.
[2011-06-14 14:18:56] thread 0: 16777216 hashes, 1047.98 khash/sec

[2011-06-14 14:18:19] 2 miner threads started, using SHA256 'sse2_64_atom' algorithm.
[2011-06-14 14:18:31] thread 0: 16777216 hashes, 1234.20 khash/sec

That is about +18% and counting.

You can grab the source http://digit-labs.org/files/otherstuff/sha256_xmm_amd64_atom.asm.

Benchmarks are much appreciated! although comments/flames are also welcome.
1516228049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516228049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516228049
Reply with quote  #2

1516228049
Report to moderator
1516228049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516228049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516228049
Reply with quote  #2

1516228049
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516228049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516228049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516228049
Reply with quote  #2

1516228049
Report to moderator
1516228049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516228049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516228049
Reply with quote  #2

1516228049
Report to moderator
1516228049
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516228049

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516228049
Reply with quote  #2

1516228049
Report to moderator
sirblade
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
November 13, 2011, 02:49:40 AM
 #2

thx, went from 0.7 mh/s to 1.3 mh/s (divided by 2 cpu)

using Intel(R) Atom(TM) CPU  230   @ 1.60GHz
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 06:19:07 AM
 #3

If you're mining with your cpu you're much better off mining ltc and selling them for btc.
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2394



View Profile
November 14, 2011, 06:20:55 AM
 #4

If you're mining with your cpu you're much better off mining ltc and selling them for btc.

Show your math. Smiley

Bitcoin will not be compromised
rapeghost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2011, 09:10:18 AM
 #5

You already have this core if you were in #eligius when i gave out cpuminer-ng.

If anyone wants a copy of cpuminer-ng just let me / mu-b know

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!