Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2018, 06:20:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to change Directory for Bitcoin?  (Read 271 times)
Anox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 10:18:15 AM
 #1

Hey people,

When I install bitcoin to a different drive, it still puts block ids and that stuff in my C:, However I own a pretty low an mostly full capacity ssd as a c:drive.

When syncing my wallet, it soon fills this limited free space up, and thus stopping the sync. The wiki article is very vague about changing this directory, and of course just moving it is to no avail.

Can anybody give me a hand with this?

thanks
~anox
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
1527142822
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527142822

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527142822
Reply with quote  #2

1527142822
Report to moderator
brenzi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:36:52 AM
 #2

I use linux and symlinked the block directory to another location. Works (as long as only one user accesses it - I'm currently trying to share the blockchain for multiple users...not straightforward)

AFAIK Win7 know symlinks as well, doesn't it?

However, there is a commandline option that might solve the issue too (--datadir=....)

kind regards

Anox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 11:20:51 PM
 #3

I use linux and symlinked the block directory to another location. Works (as long as only one user accesses it - I'm currently trying to share the blockchain for multiple users...not straightforward)

AFAIK Win7 know symlinks as well, doesn't it?

However, there is a commandline option that might solve the issue too (--datadir=....)

kind regards


AH thanks! That command did the ticket!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!