Bitcoin Forum
April 21, 2018, 09:50:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5850 HD crashes/reboots after 30-45 minutes  (Read 703 times)
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1000


The future is your Genome


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 01:13:03 AM
 #1

i have a 5850 HD card and i can mine for about 30-45 minutes before my computer crashes. my PSU is 650watts. the card requires 2x 6pin power plugs which i am running 1 from the PSU and another is an adapter from two 4-pin molex connectors because the PSU doesnt have 2 6pin plugs that the card requires. the card gets up to about 88 degrees celcius also. sometimes when i fire up my rig i get a long beep then 3 short beeps; which is GPU error, but if i hit the reset switch it will boot up just fine and i can mine for 30-45 minutes before it crashes again.  does this sound like a PSU problem or a problem with the card itself?


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524347429
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524347429

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524347429
Reply with quote  #2

1524347429
Report to moderator
1524347429
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524347429

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524347429
Reply with quote  #2

1524347429
Report to moderator
1524347429
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524347429

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524347429
Reply with quote  #2

1524347429
Report to moderator
Aztec
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


The Geek shall inherit the Earth


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 01:24:20 AM
 #2

It might be overheating. Try with the case open or msiAfterburner to control the fan

Gift Address: 1GVTJJtDo7mXg8rW4mQBukqwshKzqizc4U
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1000


The future is your Genome


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 01:57:46 AM
 #3

yea, case is open, will try msiAfterburner


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1000


The future is your Genome


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 11:56:48 AM
 #4

gpu temp is fine about 60 c, but still crashing at about 45 minutes... only thing i can think is PSU not supplying enough power or defective card


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
LivesUnderTheBridge
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 06, 2013, 12:27:19 PM
 #5

You OC it? Try hooking the molex up to a different connector.

Is it on an otherwise stable system?

I like bitcoin : 1AsVZ8ofY6BQjxje3hZZbXhNjFSV22TkUN
and litecoin : LYogfVW253cuHmjE5Qm6ryXQfTZFdHNjUX
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1000


The future is your Genome


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 05:57:31 AM
 #6

system
is stable with any other card... will msiAfterburner tell me if it has been OC'ed? just bought the card used.


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
Aztec
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


The Geek shall inherit the Earth


View Profile
April 07, 2013, 11:03:51 AM
 #7

MSI Afterburner will tell you the values for voltage, clock and memory speeds so you can compare to what the default settings should be

Gift Address: 1GVTJJtDo7mXg8rW4mQBukqwshKzqizc4U
bitcon
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1000


The future is your Genome


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 09:09:57 AM
 #8

yea, looks like the previous card owner had OC'ed it. i reset it to defaults and she's running stable now.  thanks.


.LET'S CHANGE GLOBAL HEALTHCARE TOGETHER.

JOIN OUR TOKEN CAMPAIGN!


                     ▄▄▄█████████▄▄▄
                 ▄▄████▀▀▀▀     ▀▀▀▀██▄▄
              ▄████▀                   ▀█▄▄
           ▄███▀       ▄████████▄         ▀▀
       ▄▄███▀        ▄███▀                 
    ▄▄███▀          ████   ▄███████▄                  ▄▄
 ▄▄█▀▀▀              ▀███▄       ▀███▄               ▄█▀
▀▀                     ▀███████▀   ████          ▄▄██▀
                                 ▄███▀        ▄▄██▀
               ▄▄          ▀███████▀       ▄██▀▀
                ▀█▄▄                  ▄▄███▀▀
                   ▀███▄▄▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████▀▀
                      ▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀


 ▄███████  ██    ██  ██  ██      ██  ▄███████▄   ▄████▄▄████▄
▐██        ██    ██  ██  ███    ███ ▐██▀   ▀██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ▀██████▄  ████████  ██  ▀███  ███▀ ▐██     ██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
       ██▌ ██    ██  ██    ██████   ▐██▄   ▄██▌ ▐██   ██   ██▌
 ███████▀  ██    ██  ██     ▀██▀     ▀███████▀  ▐██   ██   ██▌



██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
▐█▀▀▀▀▀▀   ▄█▌
 ▀▀█▄▄   ▄█▀▀
     ▀▄█▀▀
   ▄█▀▀ ▀█▄
 ▄█▀ ▄▄▄▄▄██▄
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▐█          █▌
 ▀█▄ ▀▀▀▀▀██▀
   ▀█  ▄▄█▀
    ▄▄█▀
  ▄██▄▄▄▄▀█▄
▄█▀        ▀█▄
██▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██
 ▀▀        ▀▀
TELEGRAM     MEDIUM    WECHAT
DISCORD     ANN THREAD    SLACK
TWITTER     FACEBOOK     REDDIT
Aztec
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


The Geek shall inherit the Earth


View Profile
April 08, 2013, 10:41:25 AM
 #9

yea, looks like the previous card owner had OC'ed it. i reset it to defaults and she's running stable now.  thanks.

no problem glad to help Try just knocking the clock up by increments of 5 and see where it gets you before it crashes. I used the AMD overclock tool to change my clock to 900 and mem to 300 and it is quite stable. I run msiafterburner in the background just to control fan speed. If I go beyond 900 clock, it's prone to crash

Gift Address: 1GVTJJtDo7mXg8rW4mQBukqwshKzqizc4U
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!