Bitcoin Forum
July 14, 2020, 11:36:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 1492 1493 1494 1495 1496 1497 1498 1499 1500 1501 1502 1503 1504 1505 1506 1507 1508 1509 1510 1511 1512 1513 1514 1515 1516 1517 1518 1519 1520 1521 1522 1523 1524 1525 1526 1527 1528 1529 1530 1531 1532 1533 1534 1535 1536 1537 1538 1539 1540 1541 [1542] 1543 1544 1545 1546 1547 1548 1549 1550 1551 1552 1553 1554 1555 1556 1557 1558 1559 1560 1561 1562 1563 1564 1565 1566 1567 1568 1569 1570 1571 1572 1573 1574 1575 1576 1577 1578 1579 1580 1581 1582 1583 1584 1585 1586 1587 1588 1589 1590 1591 1592 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3046303 times)
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 04:02:48 PM
 #30821

Well seems many people outside and inside europe have to learn the new SEPA ( swift/bic ) system
Every bank in europe uses them and does no longer accept simple 9 to 10 number back numbers.
We have to use the freaking new swift/bic which is very hard to remember
The only way to make it easy is to allways carry a new bankcard in your wallet so you can read it on your card.
Sweden uses the same system so banks in other countries should be able to handle them, if they don't they are freakign far behind with adopting it.
Or they never do international orders, its know for what 8 years that sepa would become standard in the eu banking so they had time enough to change the way they handle eu transfers.
If you got such a damn lazy bank its not knc who to blame

KNC is to blame because they refuse to refund small orders in BTC.   Pretty simple really.
1594769774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594769774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594769774
Reply with quote  #2

1594769774
Report to moderator
1594769774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594769774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594769774
Reply with quote  #2

1594769774
Report to moderator
1594769774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594769774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594769774
Reply with quote  #2

1594769774
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594769774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594769774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594769774
Reply with quote  #2

1594769774
Report to moderator
1594769774
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594769774

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594769774
Reply with quote  #2

1594769774
Report to moderator
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 06:14:36 PM
 #30822

Well seems many people outside and inside europe have to learn the new SEPA ( swift/bic ) system
Every bank in europe uses them and does no longer accept simple 9 to 10 number back numbers.
We have to use the freaking new swift/bic which is very hard to remember
The only way to make it easy is to allways carry a new bankcard in your wallet so you can read it on your card.
Sweden uses the same system so banks in other countries should be able to handle them, if they don't they are freakign far behind with adopting it.
Or they never do international orders, its know for what 8 years that sepa would become standard in the eu banking so they had time enough to change the way they handle eu transfers.
If you got such a damn lazy bank its not knc who to blame

KNC is to blame because they refuse to refund small orders in BTC.   Pretty simple really.

^-- Agreed, especially since they already broke their word concerning not refunding any amount in bitcoin, but have done it at random for both small and large orders.

This is one of the issues KNC has had growing over the past few months.. consistency.

Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366
Merit: 1530



View Profile
March 13, 2014, 06:56:10 PM
Last edit: March 13, 2014, 07:15:43 PM by Biodom
 #30823


This is one of the issues KNC has had growing over the past few months.. consistency.

"All Dude wanted is [to get] his rug back."

All i wanted since learning about bitcoin mining is to be involved in the process.
Jupiter was not available, so i had to decide between KnC and unknown entity-cointerra.
I put money on KnC and it was most likely a mistake. Even bigger mistake was to see a note regarding Jupiter's in December and waiting and waiting and waiting.
That was kind of low blow and almost everybody agrees on that.

Finally, I decided to order Antminer a week ago-it is noisy, only 180gh, but it cost me just $640, was delivered in 5 days, set up in a relatively few hours (due to my general inexperience), and it is hashing now and I feel...happy.
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 13, 2014, 07:19:58 PM
 #30824

When I saw the antminers dropping below 1btc, I was pretty excited. I'd love to grab a couple, but have decided to hold off because it doesn't appear they'll make back their investment cost. Not knocking them though.

As to noise, change out the fan. Is it a 120 or 140? I think it's 140 isn't it? I suggest you take a look at the Prolimatech Vortex fans, they're silent and push good air:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0045FE3V8/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B1WQ4VA/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Edit: Since noise levels are subjective, let me put it this way. I have about 70 of these in a room, and the noise level is absolutely negligible when compared to silence.

organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1007


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
March 13, 2014, 09:14:16 PM
Last edit: March 13, 2014, 10:17:06 PM by organofcorti
 #30825

Edit: Since noise levels are subjective, let me put it this way. I have about 70 of these in a room, and the noise level is absolutely negligible when compared to silence.

Noise levels are objective. You can measure them, and if you like compare the intensities you find negligable to those that others find negligable. Most modern cheap (~$100) sound levels meters are sufficient for this type of use.

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366
Merit: 1530



View Profile
March 13, 2014, 09:48:02 PM
 #30826

When I saw the antminers dropping below 1btc, I was pretty excited. I'd love to grab a couple, but have decided to hold off because it doesn't appear they'll make back their investment cost. Not knocking them though.

As to noise, change out the fan. Is it a 120 or 140? I think it's 140 isn't it? I suggest you take a look at the Prolimatech Vortex fans, they're silent and push good air:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0045FE3V8/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B1WQ4VA/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Edit: Since noise levels are subjective, let me put it this way. I have about 70 of these in a room, and the noise level is absolutely negligible when compared to silence.

Thanks, but as far as investment cost is concerned, all that matters is that I spent $640.
If bitcoin stays at the same price, I should get ~1BTC in 3mo, plus miner will have some (albeit small ) residual value.
If bitcoin rises, i will have good ROI in $$.
If bitcoin falls, then I would have lost money anyway whether I bought a miner or bitcoin.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2014, 05:43:33 AM
 #30827

Better off these days just buying a bunch of bitcoin and storing them. All the shit you gotta go through to mine new rigs these days. And the newest stuff you have to re-wire your house and put in extra cooling. Just gets ugly.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1314

Clueless!


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 09:27:08 AM
 #30828

When I saw the antminers dropping below 1btc, I was pretty excited. I'd love to grab a couple, but have decided to hold off because it doesn't appear they'll make back their investment cost. Not knocking them though.

As to noise, change out the fan. Is it a 120 or 140? I think it's 140 isn't it? I suggest you take a look at the Prolimatech Vortex fans, they're silent and push good air:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0045FE3V8/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B1WQ4VA/ref=wms_ohs_product?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Edit: Since noise levels are subjective, let me put it this way. I have about 70 of these in a room, and the noise level is absolutely negligible when compared to silence.

Thanks, but as far as investment cost is concerned, all that matters is that I spent $640.
If bitcoin stays at the same price, I should get ~1BTC in 3mo, plus miner will have some (albeit small ) residual value.
If bitcoin rises, i will have good ROI in $$.
If bitcoin falls, then I would have lost money anyway whether I bought a miner or bitcoin.


yeah...if i get one it will be for "hobby mode" but the above is probably how to look at mining in general in the future..ie back to hobby mode of thought (the heady times of 1250 coin and my oct 18th jupiter 555gh alas)

Searing

Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/19. It also works with Windows 10 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine! Five Minute Install! Look it over uninstalls just as fast! Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 11:57:37 AM
 #30829

So finally I get a response after almost 2 weeks and they say that the information is invalid. I use a credit Union and as a result there is an intermediary bank that it has to flow through but since KNC's system doesn't allow for that they can't process the refund? I think they are just being lazy or this is a stall tactic. I'm going to be pissed if I need to open a new bank account for this. What a cluster&%@@.

Credit Union's work differently than banks when wiring transfers and receiving write transfers, to you and I we wouldn't know the difference as the customer. So KNC's bank likely won't wire transfers to Credit Union's requiring you to open a bank account. This isn't uncommon for banks to require another major bank to be receiver of wire moneys.

http://money.howstuffworks.com/personal-finance/banking/difference-between-bank-and-credit-union.htm

dimaze
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 53


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 06:57:09 PM
 #30830

Are they allowing shipment of hosted miners? I think those contracts are expiring. If not, they should soon. Shipping @ 100-270ish

Searing
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1314

Clueless!


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 07:36:53 PM
 #30831

Are they allowing shipment of hosted miners? I think those contracts are expiring. If not, they should soon. Shipping @ 100-270ish

are you talking about the jupiters that were hosted here since oct 1st 2013 or so...?

hmmm for some reason i thought they were hosted for 1 year and/or you could cancel before
and they kept the equipment

i've no idea but that is how i thought hosting works obviously i'm wrong

how exactly does it all work ..you pay months in advance by the month etc etc

just in case this crops up with the virtual mining i guess I'd better ponder this

Searing (assuming i don't punt my last order of a neptune)


Old Style Legacy Plug & Play BBS System. Get it from www.synchro.net. Updated 1/1/19. It also works with Windows 10 and allows 16 bit DOS game doors on the same Win 10 Machine! Five Minute Install! Look it over uninstalls just as fast! Freeware! Full BBS System! It is a frigging hoot!:)
bkminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 100

Don't let the nam-shub in your operating system.


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 04:42:57 AM
 #30832

merv, they already said a month ago they wouldn't sell upgrade modules anymore.

This was the last comment on the KnC forums on Feb. 5th from Kurt about modules....

Quote
I see a lot of questions regarding upgrade modules. We are still looking at the possibility of releasing more upgrade cards for sale. However, our management team are still yet to decide the details of this. As soon as we have an update, we will let you all know.

http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/resellers-affilicates/general-questions/29377-plan-b/page3 Post #34

opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2014, 02:53:48 PM
 #30833

merv, they already said a month ago they wouldn't sell upgrade modules anymore.

This was the last comment on the KnC forums on Feb. 5th from Kurt about modules....

Quote
I see a lot of questions regarding upgrade modules. We are still looking at the possibility of releasing more upgrade cards for sale. However, our management team are still yet to decide the details of this. As soon as we have an update, we will let you all know.

http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/resellers-affilicates/general-questions/29377-plan-b/page3 Post #34



Any talk from KNC regarding releasing modules or the possibility of releasing modules is solely a marketing tactic to keep a few people on the fence about where they spend their money. They know %100 they won't be releasing any modules but since they hate seeing people buying other companies hardware they have to try something. Then when it is time to make a statement modules will not be released there will be a product/plan for sale. Seriously, do you think KNC would ever release upgrade modules at this time? You would need 50 of them to make a bitcoin.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
bkminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 100

Don't let the nam-shub in your operating system.


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 05:33:21 PM
 #30834

... Seriously, do you think KNC would ever release upgrade modules at this time? You would need 50 of them to make a bitcoin.

Naw, I wasn't suggesting I believed it, it's just more of that lost trust in KnC.  That statement to me seems just what you suggested, keep people on the hook...
arousedrhino
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 347
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 07:11:34 PM
 #30835

merv, they already said a month ago they wouldn't sell upgrade modules anymore.

This was the last comment on the KnC forums on Feb. 5th from Kurt about modules....

Quote
I see a lot of questions regarding upgrade modules. We are still looking at the possibility of releasing more upgrade cards for sale. However, our management team are still yet to decide the details of this. As soon as we have an update, we will let you all know.

http://forum.kncminer.com/forum/resellers-affilicates/general-questions/29377-plan-b/page3 Post #34



Any talk from KNC regarding releasing modules or the possibility of releasing modules is solely a marketing tactic to keep a few people on the fence about where they spend their money. They know %100 they won't be releasing any modules but since they hate seeing people buying other companies hardware they have to try something. Then when it is time to make a statement modules will not be released there will be a product/plan for sale. Seriously, do you think KNC would ever release upgrade modules at this time? You would need 50 of them to make a bitcoin.

Thats why they would likely release them now since they will just be all the asics from the Jupiters they have been mining with all these months. They will release modules once they no longer need the Jupiters anymore.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1616
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 15, 2014, 07:36:01 PM
 #30836

So finally I get a response after almost 2 weeks and they say that the information is invalid. I use a credit Union and as a result there is an intermediary bank that it has to flow through but since KNC's system doesn't allow for that they can't process the refund? I think they are just being lazy or this is a stall tactic. I'm going to be pissed if I need to open a new bank account for this. What a cluster&%@@.

Credit Union's work differently than banks when wiring transfers and receiving write transfers, to you and I we wouldn't know the difference as the customer. So KNC's bank likely won't wire transfers to Credit Union's requiring you to open a bank account. This isn't uncommon for banks to require another major bank to be receiver of wire moneys.

http://money.howstuffworks.com/personal-finance/banking/difference-between-bank-and-credit-union.htm


It is really very simple. In the US a "wire transfer" could mean a transfer of funds over the ACH network or the SWIFT network. The ACH network requires an ABA routing number which is valid in the US only. The SWIFT network requires a BIC number and is valid across the global SWIFT network.

Internationally, a "wire transfer" usually means a a transfer over the SWIFT network. The Swedish bank would know nothing about US ABA routing numbers. If your regional bank or credit union does not have a BIC number, it is not on the SWIFT network cannot receive funds directly from an international bank. It needs to go through a correspondent US bank that has both SWIFT and ACH connectivity, and that is when things are likely to screw up.

Source: Direct experience building SWIFT to ACH gateway systems.
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 08:28:34 PM
 #30837

Thats Correct. My funds get routed to JP Morgan in the US via swift. It then gets sent to the head CU from JP Morgan via a differnt swift number and account number which is them sent to the member branch where my account is.

Things could be alot easier if they would just give me BTC. I shouldnt have to open a whole new bank account to get a refund but I will do whatever I have too to get out of this mess.
theMiracle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 08:51:07 PM
 #30838

Edit: Since noise levels are subjective, let me put it this way. I have about 70 of these in a room, and the noise level is absolutely negligible when compared to silence.

Noise levels are objective. You can measure them, and if you like compare the intensities you find negligable to those that others find negligable. Most modern cheap (~$100) sound levels meters are sufficient for this type of use.

It's still pretty subjective, that's why they have all the weird weighing curves nobody really agrees on...  The "annoyingness" of noise is also all over the place, so white/pink noise is easier to take than tonal/weird envelope noise (a squealing/whistling fan will drive you nuts, for instance, regardless of db level). 
/OT & pointless geekery.  Sorry.

Vagnavs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1119
Merit: 1003

ChainLink


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 11:15:05 PM
 #30839

okay question guys. I have heard many people complain about their refund process. Some people saying I wish they would just refund my BTC.

Well if they gave you back your 10 BTC, that would be worth about $6400.

Rather than if they gave you back the refund in Fiat, it would be 10K.

What am I missing?? 10K buys more than 10 BTC at current market price.
Regards

ChainLink. The one coin that is a must own..
Grix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 536
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 15, 2014, 11:19:22 PM
 #30840

okay question guys. I have heard many people complain about their refund process. Some people saying I wish they would just refund my BTC.

Well if they gave you back your 10 BTC, that would be worth about $6400.

Rather than if they gave you back the refund in Fiat, it would be 10K.

What am I missing?? 10K buys more than 10 BTC at current market price.
Regards

They want the current dollar value, in BTC.

BTC: 1Fahk2aa4NS4Qds4VDAL4mpNArDEdV2K5K
LaserShowGen Laser Show Software
Helios Laser Show Hardware
Pages: « 1 ... 1492 1493 1494 1495 1496 1497 1498 1499 1500 1501 1502 1503 1504 1505 1506 1507 1508 1509 1510 1511 1512 1513 1514 1515 1516 1517 1518 1519 1520 1521 1522 1523 1524 1525 1526 1527 1528 1529 1530 1531 1532 1533 1534 1535 1536 1537 1538 1539 1540 1541 [1542] 1543 1544 1545 1546 1547 1548 1549 1550 1551 1552 1553 1554 1555 1556 1557 1558 1559 1560 1561 1562 1563 1564 1565 1566 1567 1568 1569 1570 1571 1572 1573 1574 1575 1576 1577 1578 1579 1580 1581 1582 1583 1584 1585 1586 1587 1588 1589 1590 1591 1592 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!