Bitcoin Forum
July 12, 2020, 01:30:30 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Warning: One or more bitcointalk.org users have reported that they strongly believe that the creator of this topic is a scammer. (Login to see the detailed trust ratings.) While the bitcointalk.org administration does not verify such claims, you should proceed with extreme caution.
Pages: « 1 ... 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 [296] 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3045502 times)
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Hell?


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:24:37 PM
 #5901

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

True, I agree with your conclusion.

There is an important participant of this forum discussing the role of the PSU for the KnC case:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=273584

I have reached out to them to confirm what the rail requirements are for the PSU. Hopefully they will nip this in the butt and just clear the air as it really seems it has to be a typo.

The saying is nip it in the bud. Not butt. But I appreciate you trying haha
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594517430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594517430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594517430
Reply with quote  #2

1594517430
Report to moderator
1594517430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594517430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594517430
Reply with quote  #2

1594517430
Report to moderator
1594517430
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594517430

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594517430
Reply with quote  #2

1594517430
Report to moderator
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:26:02 PM
 #5902

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

True, I agree with your conclusion.

There is an important participant of this forum discussing the role of the PSU for the KnC case:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=273584

I have reached out to them to confirm what the rail requirements are for the PSU. Hopefully they will nip this in the butt and just clear the air as it really seems it has to be a typo.

The saying is nip it in the bud. Not butt. But I appreciate you trying haha

Buds are for smoking, not nipping Smiley
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:29:30 PM
 #5903

Hey Bitcoinorama..    You there?  You like the KNC update they just released???  Oh wait, you bitched me out for asking for that update..   You Dumb Shrill..


You just wish you were half as useful as Bitcoinorama, but you are just a simple troll  Grin
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:29:34 PM
 #5904



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:35:17 PM
 #5905



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

I have, and as I said before, it is not the norm. Most units, even the ones that are larger than 2U (4U, 6U, whatever) still have the power supplies built in. I'm staring at a 4U Cisco UCS and another 6U rack mount blade system, both of which house their own PSUs (redundant PSUs, nonetheless). Smiley

Care to elaborate a little more?
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:37:32 PM
 #5906

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  
augustocroppo
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:42:06 PM
 #5907

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:45:01 PM
 #5908

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes

Sounds a lot like American politics.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:45:11 PM
 #5909

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes

No, you're just spreading FUD, and are ignorant.

It's fine to ask questions, but not the same crap repeatedly, and not answers to Q's you should have asked yourself before purchasing. Like, I'm pre-ordering, so how is this being made, when will the chips likely be ready.

Logic.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:48:05 PM
 #5910



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

I have, and as I said before, it is not the norm. Most units, even the ones that are larger than 2U (4U, 6U, whatever) still have the power supplies built in. I'm staring at a 4U Cisco UCS and another 6U rack mount blade system, both of which house their own PSUs (redundant PSUs, nonetheless). Smiley

Care to elaborate a little more?

look closer, that is modular and is its own 1U.  Not as stark as the ones on a HP C7000 but still separate.

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 262



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:49:53 PM
 #5911

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  

Why does any of this matter I'm wondering?
They are coming to us with no PS, and we know why. That won't change.
They obviously weren't aiming for farms as they said from the get-go that they were going for limited customers that they could support and those customers getting a decent return. They have done everything they can to make them noob friendly where a company aimed at businesses wouldn't need to.
The bit about selling to businesses when you buy one is bollocks and wouldn't stand up in any court..and is a bit confusing given the rest of their aims.

What I'd do if I had a facility to host mine would be to ask them how they are doing it...we all know they are hosting them in large numbers, so they will have this sorted already. It may help anyone planning to do the same?




  ▄███▄
▄███████▄
▀███████▀
  ▀███▀
           ▄███▄
         ▄███████▄
         ▀███████▀
           ▀███▀
  ▄███▄
▄███████▄
▀███████▀
  ▀███▀
K O I N P R O.
TRADE CRYPTO AND STOCK CFD WITH BITCOIN
[


      ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
     ▄█████░░█░░█████▄
  ▄██████░░░░░░░██████▄
 ███████░░░░░░░░░███████
▐███████████████████████▌
████▄░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░▄████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
▐███████░░░███░░░███████▌
 ███████▄▄▄███▄▄▄███████
  ▀███████████████████▀
    ▀████████████████▀
      ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀


.NO KYC



        ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
       ▄███████████████▄
    ▄███████████████████▄
   ████████░░░██░░░███████
  ▐████████░░░█░░░████████▌
  █████████░░░░░░██████████
  █████████░░░█░░░█████████
  ▐████████░░░██░░░███████▌
   ████████░░░███░░░██████
    ▀███████████████████▀
      ▀████████████████▀
        ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀


.EARN KOI


                                 ███
                  ▄▄█▄▄        ███████
                  █          ███████████
                  █████        ███████
                      █        ███████
                  ▀▀█▀▀        ███████
                               ███████
                █████████      ███████
                               ███████
               █████████       ▂▂▂▂
                               ▂▂▂▂
                █████████      ▂▂▂▂



. 100x LEVERAGE



               ▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
             ▄███▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀███▄
           ▄███░░█████████░░███▄
          ████░█████████████░████
         ▐███░██████▀▀▀██████░███▌
         ███░█████▀░░░░░░▀▀███░███
         ███░█████▄░░░░░░▄▄███░███
         ▐███░██████▄▄▄██████░███▌
          ████░█████████████░████
           ▀███░░██░░░░░██░░███▀
            ▀█▀▄███████████▄▀█▀
               ░▀▀████████▀▀░


.SUPER FAST
].
UNIQUE DOUBLE-UP
CONTRACT

DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:50:33 PM
 #5912

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  

if you were in a datacenter you would see all the odd crap that are in racks

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
KS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:56:08 PM
 #5913

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.
cognoscente
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:57:47 PM
 #5914

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.

Let's all hope that the heat syncs sink heat.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3346
Merit: 1048


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:58:06 PM
 #5915

if you were in a datacenter you would see all the odd crap that are in racks

While not ideal, as long as it draws air in front-to-back, and there's room for the external power supply on a 19" width, it'll be fine in a rack.

Buy & Hold
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:03:21 PM
 #5916

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.

Shocked Has someone hacked your account?!

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


Hell?


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:07:21 PM
 #5917

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.

Shocked Has someone hacked your account?!

i think hes mocking the mistake. lol
JohnyBigs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:24:13 PM
 #5918

I asked for a refund of my day 1 delivery Saturn, unless someone wants it for 60BTC PM me.
nightengale
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:29:32 PM
 #5919

I asked for a refund of my day 1 delivery Saturn, unless someone wants it for 60BTC PM me.

Why would you bother them with a refund request... And then offer it for sale here? Oy.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:32:31 PM
 #5920

I asked for a refund of my day 1 delivery Saturn, unless someone wants it for 60BTC PM me.

Why would you bother them with a refund request... And then offer it for sale here? Oy.

Because he clearly wants to double his money.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
Pages: « 1 ... 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 [296] 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!