Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 01:12:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 [296] 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3011555 times)
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 04:54:30 PM
 #5901


Clicked to see a working miner, got a simple case instead....

You got what they have, what people have asked for, anything they can show us.
This is why if it were me I'd have ignored the constant pestering...because everything shown won't be real or good enough for the armchair engineers, and criticised no-matter what.

They just can't win.
1511356362
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511356362

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511356362
Reply with quote  #2

1511356362
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511356362
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511356362

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511356362
Reply with quote  #2

1511356362
Report to moderator
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 04:55:55 PM
 #5902

With an external PSU and flying molex connectors I doubt that many "colo" datacenters will be happy to host it.

It's also quite big, a 42 units rack will get quickly filled Sad

I was thinking this as well. It certainly does not look as "rack friendly" as they were originally claiming, especially if the PSU is not housed within the unit.

Well, there is a solution for the lack of design to fit in a rack:

Quote


Technical details
Rack capacity: 2U
Maximum weight (capacity): 22.6 kg
Colour of product: Black
Source data-sheet: Icecat.biz

Other features
Width: 482.7 mm
Weight: 2.6 kg
Size: 406.4 mm (16 ")
Package weight: 3.3 kg
Height: 88 mm
Depth   : 406.4 mm

Read more at http://www.extak.com/catalog/25295/StarTech.com-2U-16-inch-Universal-Vented#qAWKhfPCXX33RWBx.99  

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:04:15 PM
 #5903

Noob question here but knc said there would be an RJ45 connector on the case to presumable connect directly to your router. I assumed the machine would connect directly to a computer (which is connected wirelessly to a router in my case) via usb where you would then set up cgminer to connect to whatever pool you were on.
Can someone explain exactly how these new fangled Asic machines are set up?

Go back a few pages and read their updates on their site.
This is all answered.
They are standalone linux boxes and when you order they have a form so you can pop in your pool details so it's ready to run the day you get it...all set up.
All you need is a power supply.
In short they set them up  for you if you give them the info they need. Smiley

Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:17:00 PM
 #5904


Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:22:06 PM
 #5905

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

True, I agree with your conclusion.

There is an important participant of this forum discussing the role of the PSU for the KnC case:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=273584

I have reached out to them to confirm what the rail requirements are for the PSU. Hopefully they will nip this in the butt and just clear the air as it really seems it has to be a typo.
ASIC-K
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Hell?


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:24:37 PM
 #5906

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

True, I agree with your conclusion.

There is an important participant of this forum discussing the role of the PSU for the KnC case:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=273584

I have reached out to them to confirm what the rail requirements are for the PSU. Hopefully they will nip this in the butt and just clear the air as it really seems it has to be a typo.

The saying is nip it in the bud. Not butt. But I appreciate you trying haha
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:26:02 PM
 #5907

I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

True, I agree with your conclusion.

There is an important participant of this forum discussing the role of the PSU for the KnC case:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=273584

I have reached out to them to confirm what the rail requirements are for the PSU. Hopefully they will nip this in the butt and just clear the air as it really seems it has to be a typo.

The saying is nip it in the bud. Not butt. But I appreciate you trying haha

Buds are for smoking, not nipping Smiley
CYPER
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:29:30 PM
 #5908

Hey Bitcoinorama..    You there?  You like the KNC update they just released???  Oh wait, you bitched me out for asking for that update..   You Dumb Shrill..


You just wish you were half as useful as Bitcoinorama, but you are just a simple troll  Grin

If this post helped you and you feel generous you know what to do: 1P9tXFy9bVgzrfPGeV7F8np26ZtFdCCWvz
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:29:34 PM
 #5909



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:35:17 PM
 #5910



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

I have, and as I said before, it is not the norm. Most units, even the ones that are larger than 2U (4U, 6U, whatever) still have the power supplies built in. I'm staring at a 4U Cisco UCS and another 6U rack mount blade system, both of which house their own PSUs (redundant PSUs, nonetheless). Smiley

Care to elaborate a little more?
crumbs
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:37:32 PM
 #5911

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  
augustocroppo
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:42:06 PM
 #5912

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes
greenbtc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:45:01 PM
 #5913

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes

Sounds a lot like American politics.
Bitcoinorama
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:45:11 PM
 #5914

Oh, let me understand the logic of the fan boys here:

If you ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

If you do not ask questions, you are spreading FUD and being an ignorant.

 Roll Eyes

No, you're just spreading FUD, and are ignorant.

It's fine to ask questions, but not the same crap repeatedly, and not answers to Q's you should have asked yourself before purchasing. Like, I'm pre-ordering, so how is this being made, when will the chips likely be ready.

Logic.

Make my day! Say thanks if you found me helpful Smiley BTC Address --->
1487ThaKjezGA6SiE8fvGcxbgJJu6XWtZp
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:48:05 PM
 #5915



I'm aware of the options of getting something in a rack, but my main point was the external PSU. I haven't seen a whole lot of equipment in racks that had external PSUs, so you are either going to have to eat up space in the rack somewhere for the PSU, or create an area outside the rack for the PSUs. Either way, this is eating up valuable space in an expensive area to house things Smiley

many things in datacenters are not racked with power units in their housing..  not everything is 2U Dell servers

depending on how many you fit in a rack, you would select from different power unit options and sizes (some with multiple outputs)


if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

I have, and as I said before, it is not the norm. Most units, even the ones that are larger than 2U (4U, 6U, whatever) still have the power supplies built in. I'm staring at a 4U Cisco UCS and another 6U rack mount blade system, both of which house their own PSUs (redundant PSUs, nonetheless). Smiley

Care to elaborate a little more?

look closer, that is modular and is its own 1U.  Not as stark as the ones on a HP C7000 but still separate.

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
timmmers
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:49:53 PM
 #5916

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  

Why does any of this matter I'm wondering?
They are coming to us with no PS, and we know why. That won't change.
They obviously weren't aiming for farms as they said from the get-go that they were going for limited customers that they could support and those customers getting a decent return. They have done everything they can to make them noob friendly where a company aimed at businesses wouldn't need to.
The bit about selling to businesses when you buy one is bollocks and wouldn't stand up in any court..and is a bit confusing given the rest of their aims.

What I'd do if I had a facility to host mine would be to ask them how they are doing it...we all know they are hosting them in large numbers, so they will have this sorted already. It may help anyone planning to do the same?
DPoS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:50:33 PM
 #5917

...
if you never worked in a datacenter, then you should be asking questions, not spreading FUD

What does working in a datacenter have to do with spotting gear that's obviously not designed for racks?  

if you were in a datacenter you would see all the odd crap that are in racks

~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~Play Boardgames for Bitcoins!!~~BTC~~GAMBIT~~BTC~~ Something I say help? Donate BTC! 1KN1K1xStzsgfYxdArSX4PEjFfcLEuYhid
KS
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:56:08 PM
 #5918

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.

“In Putin’s Russia bitcoin exchanges you.” - http://www.coindesk.com/ceo-bitcoin-officially-bans-china/
List of major BTC scams https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=576337
Bitstamp "no transfer" banks/countries list: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=270716.0
cognoscente
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:57:47 PM
 #5919

"KNCMINER. A company to keen an eye on." Smiley

Congrats for the milestone.

Let's all hope that the heat syncs sink heat.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2450


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 05:58:06 PM
 #5920

if you were in a datacenter you would see all the odd crap that are in racks

While not ideal, as long as it draws air in front-to-back, and there's room for the external power supply on a 19" width, it'll be fine in a rack.

Buy & Hold
Pages: « 1 ... 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 [296] 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!