Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 10:05:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Has anyone ever considered creating rack mounted asics?  (Read 3611 times)
bbulker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 12:58:50 AM
 #21

Installing a shelf inside a rack is the most retarded thing you can do. Racks are about high-density. A rackmountable ASIC miner would allow you to put much more hashing power in a smaller amount of space vs putting a few oddly-shaped chassis on a shelf. Also, racks and datacenters aren't only for hard drives.
1510956331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956331
Reply with quote  #2

1510956331
Report to moderator
1510956331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956331
Reply with quote  #2

1510956331
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510956331
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510956331

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510956331
Reply with quote  #2

1510956331
Report to moderator
mjsbuddha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


yung lean


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:06:13 AM
 #22

Has anyone really been far even as decided to use even go want to do look more like?
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:07:59 AM
 #23

Installing a shelf inside a rack is the most retarded thing you can do. Racks are about high-density.


Yea that 1/32nd of an inch is really gonna cramp your style....
bbulker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:09:36 AM
 #24

Installing a shelf inside a rack is the most retarded thing you can do. Racks are about high-density.


Yea that 1/32nd of an inch is really gonna cramp your style....



Assuming you aren't going to set anything on top of that.... but then that's just a waste of space. Derp.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:10:51 AM
 #25

Assuming you aren't going to set anything on top of that.... but then that's just a waste of space. Derp.

Your response is as confusing as mjsbuddha's
senseless
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:15:04 AM
 #26

That's ridiculous.  In 1999 what required a rack of machines can now be done in a 1U unit.  Major companies will continue to build server rooms, because they have the data, but smaller companies simply have no need for all that space or the insane cost to build out such a space.  

That's what dedicated server, vps and webhosting providers are for; of which there are more providers for than ever. I have servers in 25 separate sites worldwide. There are dozens upon dozens of datacenters to choose from even in tiny city-states like Singapore, Hong Kong, Monaco, Malta and even Iceland! Even in third world countries you have a great deal of choice. I've personally hosted servers in 4 different datacenters in the philippines, 2 in egypt, and a half dozen in south africa.

If a datacenter is built in the woods, and no one is around to see it, does it exist?

Also, it really doesn't matter what your density is any more. You can get a full rack w/o power and internet for < 500$/mo anywhere in the world these days with most popular locations as low as 200$. You only need a single redundant drop for all of your boxes (2 network drops -> 2 switches w/ spanning tree & bonding, then split off 2 redundant ports for switches in each sub-rack). So you'd get 2x 100mbit ports @ 200$/mo + 100$ port fee. Then something like 300$/month per rack + 300$/month for 3-4Kw/h usable power. So you end up with 900$/month for your initial rack, and 600$/month for each subsequent rack. It's really a moot point arguing about a few Us. For what you'd pay for high density solutions (and the higher density cooling to go with it) it's usually cheaper to buy multiple racks and work out a better deal with your datacenter.
bbulker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:16:09 AM
 #27

Assuming you aren't going to set anything on top of that.... but then that's just a waste of space. Derp.

Your response is as confusing as mjsbuddha's

Go ahead and try convincing me that tower chassis are more dense than rackmount.
EngMan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:17:15 AM
 #28

Assuming you aren't going to set anything on top of that.... but then that's just a waste of space. Derp.

Your response is as confusing as mjsbuddha's

It isn't confusing at all....that shelf is wasting 1U of rack space from the look of the hole spacing...not helping with rack density unless it is needed.

Sorry, I'm all sold out of x6500's.
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:23:37 AM
 #29

It isn't confusing at all....that shelf is wasting 1U of rack space from the look of the hole spacing...not helping with rack density unless it is needed.

If the asic is 3 u as it appears you can place 14 of them in a rack with no lost space.  The shelf takes up zero space, the steel fits between the u below and the u above.  It is a 1u shelf.

Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:26:15 AM
 #30

Go ahead and try convincing me that tower chassis are more dense than rackmount.

My only point, per the OP, is that there is no market for rack mounted asics.  Anyone spending $250k or more on ASIC technology will likely be building their own units and the one guy that bought 50 units will probably place them on wire shelves, saving the expense of buying an expensive rack.
bbulker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 03:29:16 AM
 #31

Go ahead and try convincing me that tower chassis are more dense than rackmount.

My only point, per the OP, is that there is no market for rack mounted asics.  Anyone spending $250k or more on ASIC technology will likely be building their own units and the one guy that bought 50 units will probably place them on wire shelves, saving the expense of buying an expensive rack.


What if I wanted to buy just a couple 1U rackmount ASICs and colo them at a small, local, and cheap datacenter instead of letting them heat up my house, make lots of noise, and get clogged with dust? Racking a server or two doesn't cost a fortune. Especially with the low bandwidth requirements for mining.
firefop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 04:03:15 AM
 #32

Ultimately as hardware gets cheaper and connections faster we'll see more and more small datacenters springing up wherever they're needed.

That's ridiculous.  In 1999 what required a rack of machines can now be done in a 1U unit.  Major companies will continue to build server rooms, because they have the data, but smaller companies simply have no need for all that space or the insane cost to build out such a space. 

Like you I own two racks, one in the house and one in the garage.  Like yours they take up room about the space of two large refrigerators.  All they do now is hold a bunch of old heavy servers that are now worthless.  These $50 servers cost $20 to $50 thousand when new a decade ago.

Google and Walmart need data centers.  With terrabyte hard drives the rest of us are lucky to need 1U of rack space to store every piece of data we will ever encounter.  You don't need a rack for anything you do.... nor will most prospective asic owners.  These days a quarter rack is far more than most any person can use for every component in their house.

Getting back to the original question, if you have a 1/4 million dollars to spend on this problem you are probably going to build your own chip... you are probably NOT going to buy 14 Avalons.  Even if you did buy them it's trivial to place a computer that isn't designed to be rack mounted on a shelf installed in the rack.  A shelf (including pull-put slider rails) can be added to ANY rack in 5 minutes. 

I don't think BFL will ever deliver, but I do believe their presentation is exactly what the world wants/needs/expects in an asic.  A coffee cup warmer.  There is no market for rack mounted asic mining rigs and the additional design expense would not be recovered.


Well see that's your problem... you're using them for storing out dated equipment. I've got one rack that's filled with my music mixing stuff (including a 42 tray dvd copy appliance) and the other with a couple of servers 2u servers and all my fpga-s... and yes they're on shelves, but I'd sure love to be able to buy rackable asics. The main reason I run them in the rack is because it's got it's own AC cart and that's by far the best way to keep temps where I want them.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 05:13:46 AM
 #33

Having connections and discounted rates at a small (YES, small) datacenter nearby, I would totally be interested in a rackmountable ASIC. I was actually disappointed that the BFL MR wasn't rackmountable.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
April 09, 2013, 05:14:44 AM
 #34

Oh, and this thread is HILARIOUS. IDK which is more comical: the ignorance, or the arrogance.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
PeterChang
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
April 09, 2013, 01:19:51 PM
 #35

A rack mounted ASIC would be awesome Smiley
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!