Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 02:12:46 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Building a rock solid multi-gpu linux mining rig with CEntOS 6.0  (Read 48896 times)
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 06:42:55 PM
 #81

1. After going through it again, perhaps just moving this to the later section after the git command would be enough:

cp /home/miner/miningpacks/ADL-SDK-3point0-temp/include/*.h /home/miner/cgminer/ADL_SDK
rm -rf /home/miner/ADL-SDK-3point0-temp


2. I did reinstall it all from the live CD, and no luck.  I made sure there were no updates by from yum at all.  

a. Now the kernels look identical to yours:
yum list installed | grep kernel-*
dracut-kernel.noarch                004-32.el6                         installed
kernel.x86_64                       2.6.32-71.el6                      installed
kernel-devel.x86_64                 2.6.32-71.el6                      @base    
kernel-devel.x86_64                 2.6.32-71.29.1.el6                 @updates
kernel-firmware.noarch              2.6.32-71.el6                      installed
kernel-headers.x86_64               2.6.32-71.29.1.el6                 @updates


b.
aticonfig --list-adapters
* 0. 13:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  1. 12:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  2. 0b:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  3. 0a:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  4. 07:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990
  5. 06:00.0 AMD Radeon HD 6990

c.
ps aux | grep X
root      3417  3.6 16.9 216720 314916 tty1    Ss+  14:04   0:47 /usr/bin/Xorg :0 -nr -verbose -auth /var/run/gdm/auth-for-gdm-4iMIIH/database -nolisten tcp vt1

d. locate fglrx64
looks identical to yours

e. uname -r
2.6.32-71.el6.x86_64


f.  lspci -nn | grep VGA
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:671d]
0b:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:671d]
13:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc Device [1002:671d]

g.
env DISPLAY=:0.0 aticonfig --pplib-cmd "set fanspeed 0 100"
PPLIB command execution is Successful!
(and the fan revs up)

h.
glxgears
44174 frames in 5.0 seconds = 8834.614 FPS
44441 frames in 5.0 seconds = 8888.093 FPS

i.
export DISPLAY=:0
./cgminer -n
No protocol specified
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                    
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                    
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)                    
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] Error -1: Getting Device IDs (num)                    
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] clDevicesNum returned error, no GPUs usable                    
 [2013-05-28 14:39:08] 0 GPU devices max detected        


1511100766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511100766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511100766
Reply with quote  #2

1511100766
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511100766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511100766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511100766
Reply with quote  #2

1511100766
Report to moderator
1511100766
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511100766

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511100766
Reply with quote  #2

1511100766
Report to moderator
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 06:56:14 PM
 #82

j.
lsmod | grep fglrx
fglrx                2763401  225

I did this:
sudo DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo


And NOW I got this:

cgminer -n
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] CL Platform 0 vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] CL Platform 0 name: AMD Accelerated Parallel Processing                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] CL Platform 0 version: OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4 (595.10)                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] Platform 0 devices: 6                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    0   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    1   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    2   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    3   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    4   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54]    5   Cayman                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 0 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 1 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 2 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 3 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 4 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] GPU 5 AMD Radeon HD 6990 hardware monitoring enabled                   
 [2013-05-28 14:56:54] 6 GPU devices max detected   


Fingers crossed that I can mine now.  ;-)

Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 06:58:28 PM
 #83

AHHH, nice.  I could never figure out how to run it as sudo.  I run as a dedicated user.  NICE FIND!

For me the error cleans up when I run the same:
export DISPLAY=:0

as the dedicated user, so your solution makes alot of sense.


Oh, you are golden now.  
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:02:37 PM
 #84

1. One thing I'd emphasize by the yum update section is to not do any GUI updates either.

2. The only issue I am having now is that if I am running as the user "miner" e.g.:
su -l miner 

Then it is not working.

If I am running as root with your example here (to say thanks):
./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://mining.eligius.st:3334 -u 1NQc6tCtRmT8zBeLKNpboFaUBMLcxDwUm6 -p x0 -I 9 --per-device-stats 2>logfile.txt

then it is mining.

So the only remaining hitch is to figure out why it is running okay as root, but not as the miner user:


-rwxrwxr-x.  1 miner miner 1010558 May 28 14:15 cgminer



So, if others have problems, here are two things to try:
sudo DISPLAY=:0 fglrxinfo

And as root try running cgminer.

e.g.
cd /home/miner/cgminer
./cgminer  -n



Thanks for the tips.

cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:14:30 PM
 #85

Hi,
I think I would prefer to run it as a dedicated user vs root  (I didn't run cgminer using sudo yet, but will try it).

It is mining with your test now, so you should see some coins.  I need to adjust the aggressiveness a bit.

It does appear that the GUI is not working right now, but I'm okay with that.  ;-)  I'm not messing with things at the moment.



AHHH, nice.  I could never figure out how to run it as sudo.  I run as a dedicated user.  NICE FIND!

For me the error cleans up when I run the same:
export DISPLAY=:0

as the dedicated user, so your solution makes alot of sense.


Oh, you are golden now.  
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:16:24 PM
 #86

Yea, that's why I do that. You could just give miner a password at the end of the process and then you can log in as miner and use it without needing to sudo.  

Great advice and suggestions.  I'll re-work the instructions just as soon as I can.  (Unless you who just did this want to make the changes necessary, I'll just copy and paste your code).  

Thanks again!

ps. I run at I=14 since I don't use the box for anything else.
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 07:32:10 PM
 #87

I don't use it for anything else either.  I will bump it up to 14 to see how that goes. 

Rebooting fixed the GUI although I am just sshing in still.

If I have time in a bit, I'll try to re-work the instructions in those two spots.  I was just re-arranging the order there I believe and correcting that one typo.

Thanks!


Yea, that's why I do that. You could just give miner a password at the end of the process and then you can log in as miner and use it without needing to sudo.  

Great advice and suggestions.  I'll re-work the instructions just as soon as I can.  (Unless you who just did this want to make the changes necessary, I'll just copy and paste your code).  

Thanks again!

ps. I run at I=14 since I don't use the box for anything else.
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
December 29, 2013, 06:40:46 AM
 #88

Is this updated? Latest cgminer that does GPUs is 3.7.2 I think.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
January 03, 2014, 11:19:19 PM
 #89

The problem has never been cgminer, it's been Centos.
eduncan911
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88

Miner / Engineer


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 04:47:34 AM
 #90

Got a problem...  It may be because I am using the latest 2.9 SDK and 13.12 drivers.

I have a collection of GPUs, so I was thinking of using the latest drivers as it seems the ones in the guide is quite old.

R9 280x
R9 290
HD 7970

CentOS 6.0
Using my local user account, not a separate user 'miner' (added myself as sudoers as well, so shouldn't be a problem using sudo).


Things were humming along nicely until I got to the AMD driver install (after the SDK install and reboot).  I try to run this:

Code:
(as root)
[root@miner01 miningpacks]# sh amd-catalyst-13.12-linux-x86.x86_64.run

And I get this error almost immediately:

Code:
=====================================================================
 AMD Catalyst(TM) Proprietary Driver Installer/Packager
=====================================================================

error: Detected X Server version 'XServer _64a' is not supported. Supported versions are X.Org 6.9 or later, up to XServer 1.10 (default:v2:x86_64:lib:XServer _64a:none:2.6.32-431.3.1.el6.x86_64:)
Installation will not proceed.

Removing temporary directory: fglrx-install.LqjBJn

During the guide, when the author says to replace the CentOS-Base.repo with his own, I got a lot of 404s and "No more mirros to try." So i reverted back to the one that came with CentOS.  Maybe this is the reason?  It installed a newer version of X by using the default repos?

EDIT: I'll try to uninstall x11 and look for other mirrors per the comments (now that I re-read the script file) /EDIT

Also, I noticed that the author said it was ok to have multiple devel kernels' loaded.  Humm.  I could not find a matching -devel kernel to match my kernel.  So it looks like I installed two kernels?

Code:
[root@miner01 ~]$ sudo yum list installed | grep kernel-*
[sudo] password for eric:
dracut-kernel.noarch                004-32.el6                         installed
kernel.x86_64                       2.6.32-71.el6                      installed
kernel.x86_64                       2.6.32-431.3.1.el6                 @updates
kernel-devel.x86_64                 2.6.32-431.3.1.el6                 @updates
kernel-firmware.noarch              2.6.32-431.3.1.el6                 @updates
kernel-headers.x86_64               2.6.32-431.3.1.el6                 @updates

As of now, I'm stuck.  I tried downgrading, but yum only downgrades to known packages (all still 13.*).

Code:
[user@miner01 miningpacks]# yum downgrade xorg-x11-server* xorg-x11-drv*
Loaded plugins: fastestmirror, refresh-packagekit
Setting up Downgrade Process
Loading mirror speeds from cached hostfile
 * base: centos.unmeteredvps.net
 * extras: mirror.ash.fastserv.com
 * updates: centosb5.centos.org
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-Xdmx-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-Xephyr-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-Xnest-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-Xvfb-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-server-common-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-devel-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-devel-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-server-source-1.13.0-23.el6.centos.noarch
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-server-utils-7.5-13.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-acecad-1.5.0-6.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-aiptek-1.4.1-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-apm-1.2.5-5.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-ast-0.97.0-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-ati-7.1.0-3.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-ati-firmware-7.1.0-3.el6.noarch
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-cirrus-1.5.1-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-dummy-0.3.6-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-elographics-1.4.1-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-evdev-2.7.3-5.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-evdev-devel-2.7.3-5.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-evdev-devel-2.7.3-5.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-fbdev-0.4.3-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-fpit-1.4.0-5.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-glint-1.2.8-3.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-hyperpen-1.4.1-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-i128-1.3.6-3.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-i740-1.3.4-5.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-intel-2.21.12-2.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-intel-devel-2.21.12-2.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-intel-devel-2.21.12-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-keyboard-1.6.2-7.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-mach64-6.9.3-4.1.el6_4.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-mga-1.6.1-10.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-modesetting-0.5.0-1.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-mouse-1.8.1-7.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-mouse-devel-1.8.1-7.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-mouse-devel-1.8.1-7.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-mutouch-1.3.0-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: 1:xorg-x11-drv-nouveau-1.0.1-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-nv-2.1.20-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-0.3.0-3.20120806git.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-devel-0.3.0-3.20120806git.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-openchrome-devel-0.3.0-3.20120806git.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-penmount-1.5.0-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-qxl-0.1.0-7.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-r128-6.9.1-1.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-rendition-4.2.5-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-s3virge-1.10.6-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-savage-2.3.6-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-siliconmotion-1.7.7-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-sis-0.10.7-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-sisusb-0.9.6-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-synaptics-1.6.2-13.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-synaptics-devel-1.6.2-13.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-synaptics-devel-1.6.2-13.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-tdfx-1.4.5-2.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-trident-1.3.6-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-v4l-0.2.0-6.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-vesa-2.3.2-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-vmmouse-12.9.0-10.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-vmware-12.0.2-3.20120718gite5ac80d8f.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-void-1.4.0-3.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-voodoo-1.2.5-3.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-wacom-0.16.1-4.el6.x86_64
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-wacom-devel-0.16.1-4.el6.i686
No Match for available package: xorg-x11-drv-wacom-devel-0.16.1-4.el6.x86_64
Only Upgrade available on package: xorg-x11-drv-xgi-1.6.0-18.20121114git.el6.x86_64
Nothing to do


EDIT 2:

Ok, I'm trying to force an install of x11 1.7, but yum is not being cooperative. 

It seems the only x11 available by yum is 1.13.  So I downloaded 1.7 directly from the mirrors and try running:


Code:
yum localinstall xorg-x11-server-Xorg-1.7.7-26.el6_0.3.x86_64.rpm

It seems Yum does version checks, and wants to install what it knows is online:

Code:
Dependencies Resolved

============================================================================================================================
 Package                             Arch                 Version                               Repository             Size
============================================================================================================================
Installing for dependencies:
 hal                                 x86_64               0.5.14-11.el6                         base                  375 k
 hal-info                            noarch               20090716-3.1.el6                      base                   56 k
 pm-utils                            x86_64               1.2.5-10.el6                          base                  108 k
 system-setup-keyboard               x86_64               0.7-4.el6                             base                   11 k
 xorg-x11-drv-evdev                  x86_64               2.7.3-5.el6                           base                   40 k
 xorg-x11-drv-vesa                   x86_64               2.3.2-4.el6                           base                   20 k
 xorg-x11-drv-void                   x86_64               1.4.0-3.el6                           base                   11 k
 xorg-x11-server-Xorg                x86_64               1.13.0-23.1.el6.centos                updates               1.3 M

Transaction Summary
============================================================================================================================
Install       8 Package(s)
Upgrade       0 Package(s)

Total download size: 1.9 M
Installed size: 5.2 M
Is this ok [y/N]:


BTC: 131Zt92zoA7XUfkLhm1p2FwSP3tAxE43vf
Nova!
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 06:41:48 PM
 #91

I've had great luck on more modern cards using the distro from LTCRabbit.  I know that doesn't help your problem, but when we moved to the R9 290x we couldn't make it work under CentOS and ended up changing distros.  Prior to that time we have been mining with 6870x2's.

The nice thing about the LTCRabbit distro is that it "just works".  No fiddling around with anything other than a couple of config files (to make it mine anywhere else other than LTCRabbit).

Donate @ 1LE4D5ERPZ4tumNoYe5GMeB5p9CZ1xKb4V
eduncan911
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88

Miner / Engineer


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 06:49:05 PM
 #92

I've had great luck on more modern cards using the distro from LTCRabbit.  I know that doesn't help your problem, but when we moved to the R9 290x we couldn't make it work under CentOS and ended up changing distros.  Prior to that time we have been mining with 6870x2's.

The nice thing about the LTCRabbit distro is that it "just works".  No fiddling around with anything other than a couple of config files (to make it mine anywhere else other than LTCRabbit).

Thank you for this.  I first tried Ubuntu but since I was using it mainly for Nvidia (successfully) I ran into lots of drivers and display issues when I swapped in AMD gpus (I am all headless on my boxes here).  I decided that if i was going to format to wipe Nvidia, I'd try something more known to work smoothly.  This CentOS setup sounded like the key - but, doh!

If I didn't find a solution today, and opening it to the community didn't resolve it, I was going to give Rabbit or BAMT a try tonight.


BTC: 131Zt92zoA7XUfkLhm1p2FwSP3tAxE43vf
Nova!
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 06:57:41 PM
 #93

One tip with LTCRabbit, make sure to use at least a 4GB thumbdrive.  Even though it's <2 GB distro, it seemed to choke when put on anything smaller than a 4GB thumbdrive.  Not really sure why, maybe swap space or some other non-sense.  But the fact is I couldn't get it to boot and run reliably on anything smaller than 4GB.

Donate @ 1LE4D5ERPZ4tumNoYe5GMeB5p9CZ1xKb4V
reamsnyc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 06:26:00 PM
 #94

Im looking to build my first rig
Im getting 4 - SAPPHIRE AMD ATI Radeon HD 7990 6GB GDDR5 21207-00-43G
Im not sure what motherboard i can use for all 4 cards nor where to go from there in terms of flashing bios and software support

any help will be appreciated
Thanks in advance 

[ANN] PixxCoin | PoS | Wallet with built in Exchan
eduncan911
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88

Miner / Engineer


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2014, 07:25:07 PM
 #95

FYI, I am returning here to say I gave up and just went with LTCRabbit.  Loaded the USB stick up and booted and the damn thing started mining within 2 minutes of boot up!  At 690 khash/s per 280x no less!  Seriously, I didn't touch anything and it started mining (to the author's pool no less, but that's normal until you configure it to use your pool).  It was plug-boot-and play litterly.  Yeah, don't frack with CentOS - just use LTCRabbit.

I then went with BAMT Scrypt version; but, I noticed why LTCRabbit has in their release notes "fixed a number of bugs in BAMT."  Hehe.  It didn't feel as refined and didn't work out of the box.  I had to tweak their version of the 'default' cgminer.conf file.  

I went back to LTCRabbit and am just dumdfounded how rock-solid from boot.  Then again, I already had 280x GPUs so if you have anything else, it will require you to tinker with the cgminer.conf file (and will lockup if you have lower-end GPUs - just edit-and-break the cgminer.conf within the first 20s of boot - because you have 20 seconds of delay before it starts mining).

Im looking to build my first rig
Im getting 4 - SAPPHIRE AMD ATI Radeon HD 7990 6GB GDDR5 21207-00-43G
Im not sure what motherboard i can use for all 4 cards nor where to go from there in terms of flashing bios and software support

any help will be appreciated
Thanks in advance  

This is getting off-topic as this thread is about building for CentOS.

But, any motherboard that supports 4 PCIe slots will do.  There are plenty out there, search around for cheapest posted in Bitcointalk.

Also note that each of those 7990s will draw close to 400 to 450w (500-550 if you push them hard with I 20).  Running 4 in a single rig is going to require two PSUs, and a 20A circuit to feed both PSUs (or two dedicated 15A circuits).

If you feel it's too complicated and a waste since you can't run that many, hit me up in PM - I'll buy the 7990s from ya!  Hehe

BTC: 131Zt92zoA7XUfkLhm1p2FwSP3tAxE43vf
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
February 04, 2014, 07:58:51 PM
 #96

With that post I am locking this thread.  I agree that Centos is no longer the best or perhaps even a viable solution. 
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!