Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:23:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How can I make this RIG more cost/hash efficient?  (Read 987 times)
BTCnoobie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 01:55:20 AM
 #1

A little help and I'll send a 1/4 of a bitcoin. That's all I've made so far on my terrible mining gpu, gtx 580, but much much better IMO as far as gaming. This is why I need a independent mining rig

Been studying up on the forums, and I found this previously recommended hardware.....on this thread here. http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=14166.0

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Depending on what you mean by "light gaming" this may work for you and be much cheaper:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827151233

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811133094

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139020

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822148701

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102906

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231253

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=13-130-567

Much cheaper, if you think you need more power, substitute the Fusion motherboard for:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131734

and

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103846
Which you may be able to unlock.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



I like this list, but even lighter on the gaming if possible, would be preferred if it saves me some cash


Swap out the gpu in this setup for dual 5830s (for $150 you can get a diamond 5830 which seems to average between 250-300 m/hash...or is that the sapphire only? the chart does not specify. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison#Nvidia) and I think that's a pretty cheap yet efficient rig (anything that can pay itself off in a month is efficiency IMO, I've seen some people pay off in 3 weeks). Is there any improvements I could do here, as far as cost/hash efficiency? I'm open to any suggestions. I'm going to purchase just 1 set of hardware for now to see how I like it, but if its the most cost efficient I'll probably set up a couple others.

Thanks everyone
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481041420
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481041420

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481041420
Reply with quote  #2

1481041420
Report to moderator
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 01:59:02 AM
 #2

OK, you don't need a DVD drive, you don't need a case, you don't need a hdd (you can boot from usb), you only need 1gb ram, and you only need a sempron.

That should save you a bit.
BTCnoobie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:01:48 AM
 #3

OK, you don't need a DVD drive, you don't need a case, you don't need a hdd (you can boot from usb), you only need 1gb ram, and you only need a sempron.

That should save you a bit.

Thanks, someone should make and sticky a thread as anyone interesting in maximizing mining profit will ask this question. Don't need a case, really? Where would I mount the fans then?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:03:32 AM
 #4

OK, you don't need a DVD drive, you don't need a case, you don't need a hdd (you can boot from usb), you only need 1gb ram, and you only need a sempron.

That should save you a bit.

Thanks, someone should make and sticky a thread as anyone interesting in maximizing mining profit will ask this question. Don't need a case, really? Where would I mount the fans then?

I'll do it later. You don't really NEED extra fans, unless you want to keep them really cool. The GPUs have fans already mounted, and the cpu heatsink should come with one.
BTCnoobie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:05:45 AM
 #5

OK, you don't need a DVD drive, you don't need a case, you don't need a hdd (you can boot from usb), you only need 1gb ram, and you only need a sempron.

That should save you a bit.

Thanks, someone should make and sticky a thread as anyone interesting in maximizing mining profit will ask this question. Don't need a case, really? Where would I mount the fans then?

I'll do it later. You don't really NEED extra fans, unless you want to keep them really cool. The GPUs have fans already mounted, and the cpu heatsink should come with one.

Hmm...I really dislike the idea of exposed hardware where I want to be keeping these rigs. But I may find a solution. An extra 40 for protected hardware isn't so bad.

Also, do you know if there is a big difference between the m/hash on the diamond and sapphire 5830s??
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:47:53 AM
 #6

OK, you don't need a DVD drive, you don't need a case, you don't need a hdd (you can boot from usb), you only need 1gb ram, and you only need a sempron.

That should save you a bit.

Thanks, someone should make and sticky a thread as anyone interesting in maximizing mining profit will ask this question. Don't need a case, really? Where would I mount the fans then?
you don't. just use a deskfan. Tongue

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
ND
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 03:10:29 AM
 #7

Build something like this:

- Dont get a case, is a waste
- Get a cheap Mobo if you plan to use single card (no diference i tested this myself), if you are going crossfire buy good PSU and a mobo capable of doing 8x/8x crossfire.
- Since you dont have a case you dont need fans (videocard fans are ok because you dont have a PC case so the card can get fresh air all the time)
- Dont get a dvdRw you dont need it just boot from usb (use linux or instal windows via usb)
- Get the cheapest Hard drive (you dont need a big one anyway)
- Get the best ATI video card you can affort, more than 300-400mh/s. With all the saving doing the things i say above you can get a good card.
- Since you dont have a case you dont need fans (videocard fans are ok because you dont have a case so you can get fresh air all the time).

All the mining rigs i own are like that and all of them are working perfect (9 months no problems so far)

Donations: 171jPhmTb7DeqmfB2ahASwdXttNASqKFnR
BTCnoobie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:08:20 AM
 #8

Anyone know the answer to the diamond vs sapphire hash question?
ND
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:19:24 AM
 #9

Anyone know the answer to the diamond vs sapphire hash question?

They are the same card. However, the main differences between them are:

- Warranties
- Clock speeds (apply only for overclocked versions)
- Coolers

You can do some research and see which one has the best warranty and which one the cools the best.

Donations: 171jPhmTb7DeqmfB2ahASwdXttNASqKFnR
BTCnoobie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:49:04 AM
 #10

Anyone know the answer to the diamond vs sapphire hash question?

They are the same card. However, the main differences between them are:

- Warranties
- Clock speeds (apply only for overclocked versions)
- Coolers

You can do some research and see which one has the best warranty and which one the cools the best.

Same card so likely same hash or close to same? I noticed the diamond is about 100 dollars cheaper and actually in stock
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:50:21 AM
 #11

Anyone know the answer to the diamond vs sapphire hash question?

They are the same card. However, the main differences between them are:

- Warranties
- Clock speeds (apply only for overclocked versions)
- Coolers

You can do some research and see which one has the best warranty and which one the cools the best.

Same card so likely same hash or close to same? I noticed the diamond is about 100 dollars cheaper and actually in stock

Same hashing speed when both at stock, but you can probably OC the sapphire ones better because of their better fan/cooler.
mellowhead
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 06:04:49 AM
 #12

Don't forget to underclock your memory to between 300-400mhz. You can gain an extra 5-10 Mh/s and the card will run 8-10 degrees cooler.
If you're using guiminer, also remember to use the "-v -w128" modifier to get much better hash rates. Only works with ATI cards though.

11 Cheers for binary currency!
1BxQsmtVtzJD9uEe5MxcyqFaohpgb76ohs
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!