Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:22:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6950 dilemma - breaking 320 MH/s  (Read 5177 times)
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:44:54 AM
 #1

Short description:

Currently running GUIMiner v2011-06-09

Top scores seem to be running it standard,  no flags (which uses poclbm)   --device=0 --platform=0 --verbose


Every time i try and play around with Phoenix - no matter the settings:
-k phatk , VECTORS, FASTLOOP=false, BFI_INT, Workspace=XXXX, AGGRESSION=11 or 12 etc, etc...
I don't even get to the same level as just stock no option poclbm.


Is this normal???


All the suggestions i've gleaned from around the forums say Phoenix should be faster, and that the extra flags yield higher scores... and yet on my XFX Radeon 6950 1gb @ 840 core... Can't breach 310-320MH/s. and Pheonix with phatk gets me 275HM/s ish

Any ideas? My second 6950 is arriving shortly... so would like to eek out some extra without cranking the core clocks up.

Thanks

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
1481242953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242953
Reply with quote  #2

1481242953
Report to moderator
1481242953
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481242953

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481242953
Reply with quote  #2

1481242953
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
danw635
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:53:39 AM
 #2

320 MH/s is about what I was getting with a stock 6950.

I unlocked the shaders and flashed the bios to a 6970 and now I get 400+MH/s.

Core Voltage is at 1200mV
Core Clock is at 950MHz
Mem Clock is at 850 MHz

The fans have to be on hairdryer mode or you'll melt the card, but it's worth it.

Im using   -v -f30 -w128   for flags in GUIminer.

Get 10% discount at Tradehill! Use the code  TH-R16791

Join Bitcoin7! https://www.bitcoin7.com/?ref=8032    Referral code: 8032

♥Donations♥ 1LygsUwVChagbCbMp9KTsyxfPGtHmPDWyS
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 04:56:26 AM
 #3

Interesting, perhaps with the unlocked shaders the -v and -w128 actually increase performance, with normal shader count and core @ 840, it drops performance... hmm...

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:00:00 AM
 #4

Well downloading MSI Afterburner to see what I can get that way. And thinking about it... I am guessing that the flash running in th background of the websites I am on is probably cheating me of a few MH/s as flash accelerates on GPU... should close my browser when i leave. lol.

Bah MSI Afterburner will only give me up to 840 as well.. sigh... I unlocked the overclocking in the cfg file as well.. but I think I have to put a string in the line above it... Just misplaced the post that mentioned it. Perhaps flashing when i have more time.

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
danw635
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:12:57 AM
 #5

Flashing takes 5 minutes.

http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/159

Just make sure you only have 1 card installed at a time when you run atiwinflash.

Get 10% discount at Tradehill! Use the code  TH-R16791

Join Bitcoin7! https://www.bitcoin7.com/?ref=8032    Referral code: 8032

♥Donations♥ 1LygsUwVChagbCbMp9KTsyxfPGtHmPDWyS
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 05:43:18 AM
 #6

Already there.. its complaining about a P/N mismatch between the bios I pulled off the card, flipped the unlock switch on, then went to flash back on to it... So Was just reading up in their forums before i forced it through atiwinflash.

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
accod
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 07:33:39 AM
 #7

Check in Afterburner if the clock speed is fluctuating whilst mining.  You might need to increase the power settings on the card to +20% in ccc.

Beer fund: 129Sm8HD53T5dimz57GYAmtqDR7uJ6PJsA  Grin
computerparts
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 08:58:42 AM
 #8

Already there.. its complaining about a P/N mismatch between the bios I pulled off the card, flipped the unlock switch on, then went to flash back on to it... So Was just reading up in their forums before i forced it through atiwinflash.


Do you even know if your card is a model that can be unlocked? Seeing as how it's a 1gb version, I don't think it can be unlocked.
Waltibaba
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 10:46:02 AM
 #9

hey,
to optimise performance with the 6950, try following my steps posted here: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=14962.msg200573#msg200573

You can unlock the upper limits in both MSI afterburner and CCC overdrive, for overdrive the method is more complicated but I find it much more stable and efficient. That method is outlined here: http://www.overclock.net/amd-ati/954528-all-radeon-6950-only-flashing-shader-5.html#post12819472
Happy mining!

12ZzdcQ7pyAcUJS9AGBRHTYcsu8tYLGWBK
"Money needs to be depoliticized, and the time has come for the separation of money and state to be accomplished."  Thomas Greco (2009)
*Image Removed*
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 15, 2011, 02:01:07 PM
 #10

Already there.. its complaining about a P/N mismatch between the bios I pulled off the card, flipped the unlock switch on, then went to flash back on to it... So Was just reading up in their forums before i forced it through atiwinflash.


Do you even know if your card is a model that can be unlocked? Seeing as how it's a 1gb version, I don't think it can be unlocked.

It's iffy... many of the xfx ones can be.. but by modding the bios, not using the posted 6970.. however if they hardware fused the shaders, then no.

here's hoping.

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:26:28 AM
 #11

Well... So I found out some kind of disparaging news...

My XFX HD - 695X - ZNFC lacks the Bios switch to go from the backup protected to main unprotected bios for flashing purposes...

Further, there is some talk that it can be flashed, however one has to short a couple pins on the bios chip itself, as it is locked by default, and needs a hardware override to allow flashing. On top of that, it is undeterminable if after all that... that the shaders will even work if unlocked.

Sigh.

I like XFX... even though they are just Pine... but still, this is balls. Had I known this i wouldn't have bought from them, and would've gone asus, or sapphire even.


Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
dinzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Fuck Intel!


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:32:06 AM
 #12

Short description:

Currently running GUIMiner v2011-06-09

Top scores seem to be running it standard,  no flags (which uses poclbm)   --device=0 --platform=0 --verbose


Every time i try and play around with Phoenix - no matter the settings:
-k phatk , VECTORS, FASTLOOP=false, BFI_INT, Workspace=XXXX, AGGRESSION=11 or 12 etc, etc...
I don't even get to the same level as just stock no option poclbm.


Is this normal???


All the suggestions i've gleaned from around the forums say Phoenix should be faster, and that the extra flags yield higher scores... and yet on my XFX Radeon 6950 1gb @ 840 core... Can't breach 310-320MH/s. and Pheonix with phatk gets me 275HM/s ish

Any ideas? My second 6950 is arriving shortly... so would like to eek out some extra without cranking the core clocks up.

Thanks

I have similar performance.  -w128 doesn't do anything, -v drops 10%  I also don't get much of a push with OCing it. 

In MSI Afterburner what is a good voltage to try for OC? 
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:54:55 PM
 #13

Have you gotten MSI Afterburner to unlock? I was unable to get it to let me push past the 840mhz that CCC gives me. Although, I finally tracked down the string you have to type in to the cfg file when you set the overclocking option to 1... I just have to find it again Smiley

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
ovoskeuiks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 08:55:39 PM
 #14

I have a sapphire 1G 6950, it is the same no dual bios and bios is locked
I got the soldering iron out and hooked the Write Protect up to VCC and am able to flash the bios
However it appears the shaders are disabled on chip as it has made no performance difference.

I am still curious about modifying the GPU overclock limits by flashing but am a little reluctant due to having only one bios chip
Has anyone increased the limits by flashing?
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 02:46:02 AM
 #15

I am pretty sure that's roughly the same process as I'd have to use with my XFX card. You may have to mod the bios in order to up the overclock limits on the card... but from what I found in RBE, it recommended grabbing those settings from another bios, rather then just changing the limits (which it allows you to do) in case the card isn't recognized after that... So it may cause problems, but is probably reversible, unless you can find another bios to pull the heightened speed limits from. Have you tried unlocking afterburner and seeing what speeds you can achieve with that?

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
dinzy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


Fuck Intel!


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:57:55 PM
 #16

320 MH/s is about what I was getting with a stock 6950.

I unlocked the shaders and flashed the bios to a 6970 and now I get 400+MH/s.

Core Voltage is at 1200mV
Core Clock is at 950MHz
Mem Clock is at 850 MHz

The fans have to be on hairdryer mode or you'll melt the card, but it's worth it.

Im using   -v -f30 -w128   for flags in GUIminer.

Are you sure this is Apples to Apples?  I have a locked and an unlocked one on 2 different rigs.  The locked one gets 350, the unlocked one gets ~ 360.  Both run at ~ 900 MHz.  In gaming the unlock is only supposed to net about 3% boost yet you got 25%.  Something else must have changed.  Perhaps it's your OC.  950 is pretty good. 
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 11:44:51 PM
 #17

Well I am hoping to get the crappier xfx one to at least clock up to 900... and the Asus one I just received has the bios switch, and is probably unlockable... but.. its just a shame that the xfx one is neutered like that.

However, considering that it's summer, and the one 6950 running all out warms the room up noticeably... perhaps I'll be happy with both churning away at 840ish in crossfire. Don't exactly want to have to have the fans going more then 75-80%.

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
ovoskeuiks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 18, 2011, 12:23:40 AM
 #18

Running it in a linux box so haven't been able to try afterburner or anything, I will have a look for a signature from another 6950 does anyone know of one with higher than 840 peak GPU?
supermine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 12:25:47 AM
 #19

I'm happy I cancelled the 6950. Shaders are everything.

Join the Dojo and become a better Crypto trader - http://www.reddit.com/r/ShibeDojo/
darkskypoet
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 18, 2011, 08:51:33 AM
 #20

Running it in a linux box so haven't been able to try afterburner or anything, I will have a look for a signature from another 6950 does anyone know of one with higher than 840 peak GPU?


The Asus one i just got has a 950 mhz top out in CCC, haven't tried going much over 850 with it yet though... i'll let it burn in first. Also, I am gonna try and see if an unlockd MSI AB will let me go past 840 on the XFX.


Shaders aren't quite everything... power usage, efficient use of your type of shader, and achievable clock all count as well.

Happily mining at bitcoins.lc
If i've helped...
1QEZohXPbh4ywbzPJATjMBDnSjJsZrZtQ1
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!