Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 07:01:46 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gateless Gate Sharp 1.1.4: zawawa's open-source dual ETH/XMR/PASC/LBC miner  (Read 163992 times)
laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 10:30:29 PM
 #801

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Are you using 16.04.1 or 16.04.2?  16.04.2 desktop includes kernel 4.8.0 instead of 4.4.0.  With 4.8.0 I get /sys/class/drm entries for my Rx 470 even before installing the amdgpu-pro driver, while 4.4.0 did not.
I had problems with 4.4.0 and amdgpu-pro 16.40, and am only now getting around to testing 4.8.0.


Upgrade to 4.10 and install only opencl packages from amdgpu-pro-16.60
Quote
clinfo-amdgpu-pro                               install
libdrm-amdgpu-pro-amdgpu1:amd64                 install
libdrm-amdgpu-pro-dev:amd64                     install
libdrm-amdgpu-pro-utils                         install
libdrm2-amdgpu-pro:amd64                        install
libegl1-amdgpu-pro:amd64                        install
libgbm1-amdgpu-pro:amd64                        install
libgbm1-amdgpu-pro-base                         install
libgbm1-amdgpu-pro-dev:amd64                    install
libgl1-amdgpu-pro-appprofiles                   install
libopencl1-amdgpu-pro:amd64                     install
opencl-amdgpu-pro-icd:amd64                     install

ZEC: t1KbbHtXqzSS6qHBaPZDKyWnzxhRjr9oCtW
1513234906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513234906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513234906
Reply with quote  #2

1513234906
Report to moderator
1513234906
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513234906

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513234906
Reply with quote  #2

1513234906
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
chafer99
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68


View Profile
March 05, 2017, 10:22:39 AM
 #802

Guys,

What settings do you use for GG for ethereum with RX470s?

With Claymore, I get 28MH/s on 470s 4GB and 8GB, but with gatelessgate, the 4GB are stuck at 24.7MH/s (haven't tried it on the 8GB). I'm getting that hashrate with the default xintensity of 4620, worksize of 192 and 2 GPU threads contained in the batfile.

Thanks!

me i don't use gateless to mine ETH or ZEC but use it for all my other coins like XMR PASC etc that I mine ...

This miner better for Cryptonight (XMR) on my R-380´s (560-635H/s, but ~2% rejected). Claymore 550-650H/s (less rejected, but 2.5% fee).
batko
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 160


View Profile
March 05, 2017, 12:31:21 PM
 #803

Today I tested RX 480 4GB Nitro+ ELPIDA sgminer vs claymore 9.6
Same clock gpu default clock 1306, elpida memory overclocked to 2050mhz

RX 480 4GB NITRO+ 1306/2050 -36mV




With same setings Sgminer is faster Smiley

Donation: ETH: 0x0c8ce94dd3d1bfd09c0f887559c61d1b551e4b4d
laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
March 05, 2017, 04:27:11 PM
 #804

@batko
Остава само да махнеш windows-a и всичко ще е наред Smiley

ZEC: t1KbbHtXqzSS6qHBaPZDKyWnzxhRjr9oCtW
agis6
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
March 05, 2017, 06:23:12 PM
 #805

Остава само да махнеш windows-a и всичко ще е наред Smiley

Τρία πουλάκια κάθονται και πλέκουνε παστίτσιο
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 06, 2017, 03:01:37 AM
 #806

The current overhaul of my small mining farm is going well, and new Linux rigs are pretty stable.
I had to work on my farm as I was seriously running out of money, but I am also making some progress with GG.
I ported the new GCN compiler to Linux, so I can finally run some experiments with GDS on RX 480.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
joaocha
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 222


View Profile
March 06, 2017, 09:02:40 PM
 #807

The current overhaul of my small mining farm is going well, and new Linux rigs are pretty stable.
I had to work on my farm as I was seriously running out of money, but I am also making some progress with GG.
I ported the new GCN compiler to Linux, so I can finally run some experiments with GDS on RX 480.

Did it get better than Cm?
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 02:10:27 AM
 #808

The current overhaul of my small mining farm is going well, and new Linux rigs are pretty stable.
I had to work on my farm as I was seriously running out of money, but I am also making some progress with GG.
I ported the new GCN compiler to Linux, so I can finally run some experiments with GDS on RX 480.

Did it get better than Cm?

Not yet, not yet. I just confirmed that GDS is accessible through inline assembly on Linux, however.
We will see...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 07, 2017, 11:27:12 PM
 #809

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176

Axe Capital LOVES BTC and ETH ETFs and ETNs


View Profile WWW
March 08, 2017, 03:45:28 AM
 #810

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

I appreciate your work.  Just sent you a small thank you.

What would BitCoin Jesus do?
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 01:43:06 PM
 #811

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

I get 268sols with Optiminer on my Rx 470 on Linux 4.8 with AMDGPU-Pro 16.40 (1900 memory clock).  I think it would be pretty hard to get that kind of performance using just 8KB of the GDS.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 02:39:36 PM
 #812

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

I get 268sols with Optiminer on my Rx 470 on Linux 4.8 with AMDGPU-Pro 16.40 (1900 memory clock).  I think it would be pretty hard to get that kind of performance using just 8KB of the GDS.


I wonder if you could get the same speed on Linux 4.10 with AMDGPU-Pro 16.60.
Let me try Optiminer on my Linux box...

Edit: I got 290 S/s, so the driver is not the problem. There got to be a better way to access GDS, then...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 07:28:21 PM
 #813

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

I appreciate your work.  Just sent you a small thank you.

Thank you! I mentioned your donation to my wife, and her reply was, "I would love monthly donations!" I think she's crazy...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
Eliovp
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961

Huh?


View Profile
March 08, 2017, 07:37:25 PM
 #814

It turned out that only 8KB out of 64KB GDS is available with RX 480 and AMDGPU-PRO.
GDS does not seem to work if m0 is greater than 0x1fff.
I suppose I could just let the first CPU thread use GDS for row counters and keep everything else the same.
It wouldn't make any sense to do all these experiments entirely in the GCN assembly as it consumes way too much time and I am hardly making any money with this miner...

Edit: All the GDS-related parameters in the HSA binary seems to be ignored. Oh well.

I appreciate your work.  Just sent you a small thank you.

Thank you! I mentioned your donation to my wife, and her reply was, "I would love monthly donations!" I think she's crazy...

Someone wants a new pair of shoes... Smiley

zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 11:53:32 AM
 #815

I've been running a ton of experiments on the GDS on RX 480 and getting some pretty weird results.
It seems like there is no straight forward way to access the entire 64KB.
Smaller values for gds_segment_byte_size may work, though. Let's see...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 12:42:47 PM
 #816

Nope, it didn't work.
I was just glancing through the change logs of optiminer and noticed something pretty interesting, though.

Code:
- [1.7.0] New --pci-modes (0-3). Try if you see GPU freezes.

It seems that optiminer directly accesses the GPU through the PCI bus.
Maybe it sends a GDS_INIT P4 packet to the GPU so that it could access the entire GDS.
What do you think, nerdralph?

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
e-coinomist
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Bountie- Do You Have Game?


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 01:09:51 PM
 #817

On stock: AMD Radeon HD 7850, somewhat dated
just 7990 getting mentioned in ANN so could I still employ my card? what to exspect in numbers?
am considering XMR and also ETH beeing a long term investment, not so much interested into the others. would mine & hodl
would have to get away from fglrx drivers first, some time investment.

zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 01:14:08 PM
 #818

On stock: AMD Radeon HD 7850, somewhat dated
just 7990 getting mentioned in ANN so could I still employ my card? what to exspect in numbers?
am considering XMR and also ETH beeing a long term investment, not so much interested into the others. would mine & hodl
would have to get away from fglrx drivers first, some time investment.

XMR should work. Wolf's kernel is just great. I wouldn't recommend ETH, though.
In any case, you have to try it yourself. Good luck!

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 01:36:03 PM
 #819

Code:
PCI configuration space access from user space is possible via sysfs.
This is done through a "config"-attribute provided with each PCI
device sysfs-representation.
http://developer.amd.com/wordpress/media/2012/10/pci%20-%20pci%20express%20configuration%20space%20access.pdf

Interesting!

Code:
$ lspci | grep VGA
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 67df (rev c7)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Device 67df (rev c7)
$ hexdump /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:01:00.0/config
0000000 1002 67df 0407 2010 00c7 0300 0010 0080
0000010 000c e000 0000 0000 000c f000 0000 0000
0000020 e001 0000 0000 f7e0 0000 0000 1682 9480
0000030 0000 f7e4 0048 0000 0000 0000 010b 0000
0000040
$ hexdump /sys/bus/pci/devices/0000:06:00.0/config
0000000 1002 67df 0407 0010 00c7 0300 0010 0080
0000010 000c c000 0000 0000 000c d000 0000 0000
0000020 d001 0000 0000 f7c0 0000 0000 1682 9480
0000030 0000 f7c4 0048 0000 0000 0000 010a 0000
0000040

Looks good to me. All I need to do is to send GDS_INIT packets to them, no?

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
March 09, 2017, 02:32:37 PM
 #820

Nope, it didn't work.
I was just glancing through the change logs of optiminer and noticed something pretty interesting, though.

Code:
- [1.7.0] New --pci-modes (0-3). Try if you see GPU freezes.

It seems that optiminer directly accesses the GPU through the PCI bus.
Maybe it sends a GDS_INIT P4 packet to the GPU so that it could access the entire GDS.
What do you think, nerdralph?

Interesting idea.  When I read that optiminer changes pci modes, I figured that was for newbies using cheap risers that don't know how to set the pci-e bus speed to gen1 in the BIOS.  If optiminer directly initializes the GDS, it could probably do it for both Linux and Windows.

I think the two most likely possibilities are:
1) There is some way to access more than 16KB of GDS from one kernel.  Perhaps the driver initializes GDS differently using the CL2.0 ABI vs using CL1.2.
2) Optiminer executes 4 instances of the kernel, each using 16KB.  If the original SA data structures are kept, the 16KB has to be split into 8KB for source (previous round) and dest (current round).  However 8K * 256 (8-bit counters) = 2 million, which doesn't allow for overflow.  It could use an overflow table in the GDDR, or maybe a form of wave sync with two kernels reading row counters from GDS and two kernels writing.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!