Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 06:53:58 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ADVICE - One board on S7 shows zero as temp and HIGH HW errors ???  (Read 400 times)
bilabonic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 12:16:02 PM
 #1

Hi All

All of a sudden my S7 has developed a problem as in pic below....It will run for 30 mins or so then it starts 'beeping' and stops mining and the temp shows 100 !!!

Anyone got any ideas ?

What board is it (i think it is the furthest from the ethernet port) ??

ALSO is it ok just to power one or two of the 3 inputs on the faulty board ??

I have tried various psu's and still get the same and each PSU powers ALL boards...as obvious.



Cheers

BTC - 1Ayax24aAU8c1xwAakK94DVDkm4kbfZ8Ch
1542783238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542783238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542783238
Reply with quote  #2

1542783238
Report to moderator
1542783238
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542783238

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542783238
Reply with quote  #2

1542783238
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
not.you
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1715
Merit: 1017


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 01:31:30 PM
 #2

Had that exact issue with one of mine.  Eventually I could not get it to mine at all with that board connected because it always showed a random temp above 90 (usually like above 110-130) which prevents it from mining.  I sent it to Denver for repair.  Cost $75 for repair plus something like $25 for shipping.

This is the place that can do repairs: bitmainwarranty.com

But looking at the site: https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/ I see that they have S7 boards for sale directly so you may want to just go that route.  Why the 45 chip board costs more than the 54 chip board I do not know (maybe because it runs at a higher freq?).
bilabonic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 01:35:38 PM
 #3

Had that exact issue with one of mine.  Eventually I could not get it to mine at all with that board connected because it always showed a random temp above 90 (usually like above 110-130) which prevents it from mining.  I sent it to Denver for repair.  Cost $75 for repair plus something like $25 for shipping.

This is the place that can do repairs: bitmainwarranty.com

But looking at the site: https://bitmainwarranty.com/shop/ I see that they have S7 boards for sale directly so you may want to just go that route.  Why the 45 chip board costs more than the 54 chip board I do not know (maybe because it runs at a higher freq?).


I can not see any boards for sale on the site ? Only Hosting ??

Thanks

BTC - 1Ayax24aAU8c1xwAakK94DVDkm4kbfZ8Ch
at6871
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 09:26:18 PM
 #4

Hi All

All of a sudden my S7 has developed a problem as in pic below....It will run for 30 mins or so then it starts 'beeping' and stops mining and the temp shows 100 !!!

Anyone got any ideas ?

What board is it (i think it is the furthest from the ethernet port) ??

ALSO is it ok just to power one or two of the 3 inputs on the faulty board ??

I have tried various psu's and still get the same and each PSU powers ALL boards...as obvious.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v662/romanski/antimer%20faulty_zpsqawnukw5.jpg

Cheers

Hi,

Chain 1 is the 1st board on your right when you are facing the front of the miner (with Ethernet port).
It is ok to run just 1 or 2 boards. You just have to disconnect the power and data cable of the faulty board.
bilabonic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340
Merit: 250


View Profile
December 29, 2016, 09:28:42 PM
 #5

Hi All

All of a sudden my S7 has developed a problem as in pic below....It will run for 30 mins or so then it starts 'beeping' and stops mining and the temp shows 100 !!!

Anyone got any ideas ?

What board is it (i think it is the furthest from the ethernet port) ??

ALSO is it ok just to power one or two of the 3 inputs on the faulty board ??

I have tried various psu's and still get the same and each PSU powers ALL boards...as obvious.



Cheers

Hi,

Chain 1 is the 1st board on your right when you are facing the front of the miner (with Ethernet port).
It is ok to run just 1 or 2 boards. You just have to disconnect the power and data cable of the faulty board.


Cheers, so what i thought was correct then, board one is basically opposite to the PCIE supply for the control board..


What i also asked is it possible to run one or two of the inputs (out of the 3) on the faulty board ?

BTC - 1Ayax24aAU8c1xwAakK94DVDkm4kbfZ8Ch
isoneguy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 501



View Profile
December 30, 2016, 12:37:30 AM
 #6

Yeah, don't tell anybody this but you don't have to supply power to all 3 pcie plugs. If you are running a full s7 at full clock speed then I wouldn't use less than 2 of the plugs per board.

It will run power to the entire board though...even with 1 plug.

I have one running with 1 plug per board. It's underclocked mind you... 1 pci-e plug won't be throwing more than 300 watts...you don't want all that power going over a single wire/connector.
IITravel01
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 325
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 08:23:58 PM
 #7

So, I've got a S7-LN that started doing this, temp. on one board is near 90 while the other is in the 30's, all 45 ASICs appear to be working on both boards.  Mines for a while, then lots of HW errors and beeping which then stops mining.  Is this something that can be fixed?
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 11:03:43 PM
 #8

The temperatures are pulled directly from the hashing chip, normally chip #45 the last in the string. Outside of replacing that chip there is not much to be done.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!