Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2018, 03:53:57 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30]
  Print  
Author Topic: Ebit e9 miner with 6.8Th/s from Ebang company a new rival for existing producers  (Read 62608 times)
dgoeller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 08, 2018, 09:07:22 PM
 #581

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue
1542426837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542426837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542426837
Reply with quote  #2

1542426837
Report to moderator
1542426837
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542426837

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542426837
Reply with quote  #2

1542426837
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
smartass111
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 18


View Profile
February 10, 2018, 11:09:59 PM
 #582

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue

1. what do you mean by "bricked", more details plz?
2. how do you plan to upgrade back bricked unit?

say thanks:
BCH 182kTk7ziJoSjVENuADGVTShCUx3Qq6GAK
cpuguru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 02:58:21 AM
 #583

Does anyone around have a copy of the firmware for an E9 (not E9+)?  I have apparently "upgraded" my E9 with E9+ firmware and bricked it Tongue

I'm curious as to how you upgrade the E9 - I got one for use with a project I'm working on and I'd like to switch the Web UI to use English (currently Chinese) and to update the firmware. It's a tad flaky in that it'll run for a while and suddenly stop mining & stop responding to the web interface. My only recourse is to power it down, wait a few seconds & turn it back on again.

Sometimes it'll mine for a day, sometimes for an hour or so.

Thanks for any leads.
cpuguru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 12:55:02 PM
 #584

I've emailed eBang a few times, support & sales, about getting manuals and firmware for the E9 but so far no joy.
dgoeller
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 11, 2018, 06:47:04 PM
 #585

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks
Bajula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 14, 2018, 09:45:45 AM
 #586

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

mrb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1013


View Profile WWW
February 15, 2018, 03:51:44 PM
 #587

209 comments over 9 months and no one pointed out that the "Ebit e9" miner seems to be a clone of the Bitmain Antminer S9/T9? Even their product page http://miner.ebang.com.cn/en/product/product-89-151.html shares design elements with the S9 product page https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020161116015054858d0tUnBE6067E It seems that ebang just tweaked a few things (quieter fans? fewer chips? different voltage/clock?) but other than that it seems to be the same product. So ebang would be lying to say they use a custom chip "DW1227". Someone open up an "Ebit e9", examine the PCB, examine chips, and I'm pretty sure you will find a PCB similar to the S9/T9 and Bitmain BM1387 chips...

This is so far off base I laughed out loud when reading it. Noone pointed it out because you are 100% wrong in everything you stated. Ebang was the contract manufacturer for the Avalon A6 so if there is any comparison to be made its that they cloned the Avalon. How do you miss that in even the most basic comparison? All you have to do is look at the design.

You were, of course, absolutely right. I looked at the e9's pictures too quickly and misjudged it.

Then you claim they are lying about using their own chip. If they used bitmain chips dont you think the efficiency would be more in line with the S9?

As I said, I thought they tweaked voltage & clock. You can cover a wide range of different energy efficiency levels by doing so.

Anyway, it's nice to see one more ASIC manufacturer coming to the market.
tekcomm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 07:33:00 PM
 #588

The E9 firmware is on the ebang site. It is only available if you change the language to Chinese. Also you can activate a emergency tftp backdoor on the local network.
phusho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 08:20:30 PM
 #589

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

So basically selling is questionable, which is pure loss.
tekcomm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 15, 2018, 11:41:37 PM
 #590

Hi. Who have or use a firmware of user tekcomm for 11,5th ?

I was playing wheres waldo around the world on a easter gpu hunt. I have it but, I got rid of the last two e9+'s ebangs, there up for auction on ebay. They hash at 10.5-11. Patched and running a nxsub patched version of cgminer.  They also have all the chinese backdoors removed.ssh pub key access only. I talked to the ceo of appweb about the problem. His response was sorry but we don't have control over what they do with our software its open souce awhile ago. I would post the auction but this is not the marketplace.
The Demon Slick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 16, 2018, 12:38:16 AM
 #591

I say it is "bricked" because it is basically useless at the moment.  It stays in a constant reboot cycle.  It never starts mining before it reboots, but I can get to the various web pages for about 1 minute.  I believe I have time to download firmware to it before it reboots, but don't have the right firmware file.  All I  have and can seem to get is for an E9+.  I have read through all the posts here and it seems the only firmware ever discussed is for the E9+, never the E9.  Any idea where to get it?  There is obviously no support forthcoming from the a$$holes at eBit. 

Thanks

Something else must be wrong as the latest update works for both the regular e9 and the e9+ - an important thing to keep in mind as I sold mine, and then had it returned as it would not connect or begin mining is that baidu thing brought up early on in the thread. - I believe that if it "thinks" you are mining from a location that was not the original purchaser's location (even if you ARE that person) it kills it. so FIRST try to put that address in your hosts file (can't remember it now) and 127.0.0.1 on the computer that you are using to reach the web interface.. THEN even if it is in chinese switch to the other bank, hard reset (shutdown psu) then after getting it back up, see if it still refuses to connect to the internet. Not 100% sure on how to trick it into thinking it was in the original location if that is what it needs, but I'm pretty sure it gets location data from the pc you are connecting with not the miner.

disclaimer: I'm not truly clear on if this will work, I only know that when the guy mailed back the miner it worked on my end. the rest is my guess as to what is going on. If it doesn't work, holler at me and I'll see if I can't figure out some other way.

secondary would be to see if you can't get someone who has worked out firmware that let's them in to ssh - I'm sure a few people somewhere have copies. (side note if anyone has one with xnsub and ssh access I'm looking hehe.)

So basically selling is questionable, which is pure loss.

Somebody sold me a gimpy 9t on ebag, it works sort of, pretty sure it's not location related. It might even be a 6.5t, in which case it's running fine. Highest I've seen it go was 7Ts for a whole day once, but that could be normal fluctuations. You could sell yours, but if you don't disclose the problems you're probably screwing somebody somewhere.
tatooedsn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 5


View Profile
March 12, 2018, 10:01:27 PM
 #592

Has anyone had any luck ordering replacement boards from this company? I had a hash board in my E9 stop working. I've e-mailed everyone in their support team and tried skypeing a couple of them with no reply. As much as I would love one of their new machines.. if you can't get parts then I can't see buying anything from them in the future. I tried translating my email into Chinese.. let's see how this goes.
smartass111
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 18


View Profile
March 15, 2018, 07:51:05 PM
 #593

looks like they work only with us-based customers who already bought some miners from them
e.g. one guy here got recently invoice for e9 (old) controller board replacement


btw, I had a chance to look into ebit e10.1 - so there is ability to get root access 

say thanks:
BCH 182kTk7ziJoSjVENuADGVTShCUx3Qq6GAK
onegiantcock
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2018, 03:31:28 PM
 #594

I also tried to order E9 controller - Lynn told me “E9 too old, no controller available.”  So I got too working hash boards if anyone’s interested.  Grin
wavelengthsf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 110


View Profile
March 21, 2018, 05:27:48 PM
 #595

I also tried to order E9 controller - Lynn told me “E9 too old, no controller available.”  So I got too working hash boards if anyone’s interested.  Grin

Same here - have some perfect condition E9 hash boards and a crappy controller.
Bajula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 21, 2018, 11:37:16 AM
 #596

Soooo.. my controller went wonky.. but not dead. it's at a 192.168.80.140 address gave itself a new mac address as well...and says it is texas instruments blah de blah,(wireshark could not find it, but advanced ipscanner did) pages read like an e9+ instead of e9 but also will not take a software update won't reboot or keep any info I try to put in. reset button doesn't seem to have an effect, no matter how long I hold it in.. any ideas here?

If anyone knows the whole jtag/uboot think I have no problems with soldering, but have never used such a thing so am clueless how to proceed..



fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
June 21, 2018, 03:51:21 PM
 #597

I have probably 30 spare working e9 6.3th controllers I could sell people if they needed them

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
Bajula
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 22, 2018, 12:33:19 AM
 #598

What are you looking for there? (as in pricing)

fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 560


View Profile
June 22, 2018, 04:45:52 PM
 #599

$30 shipped? PM me if interested

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
admidiral
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 06, 2018, 08:32:19 AM
 #600

did anyone has some older firmware (20.25 or 20.33 - 37) something like that for the E9+ 9TH

if you could upload to dropbox or anything just fine

thank you
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!