Bitcoin Forum
September 18, 2018, 02:32:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Can ASICS kills power supplies?  (Read 1368 times)
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 07, 2017, 11:51:05 PM
 #21

I fully appreciate what you're saying about kits but I don't need that much power and can't use that much either. I'm trying to keep within the sweet spot for efficiency of the psu. Hence why I've only bought a dps1200 platinum. Well two of them one to experiment on and another to use. Already found the voltage adjustment on it.

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
1537281124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537281124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537281124
Reply with quote  #2

1537281124
Report to moderator
1537281124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537281124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537281124
Reply with quote  #2

1537281124
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537281124
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537281124

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537281124
Reply with quote  #2

1537281124
Report to moderator
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1034

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 08, 2017, 03:38:57 AM
 #22

The problem with using large commercial supplies on miners is that a normal miner is probably rated to handle 30-40 amps per PCIe plug. If you hook it up to something that can supply 100-500 amps then you run into a situation that if the miner shorts the result is the power supply will happily feed power into the resulting little plasma ball as opposed to crowbarring and shutting down.

I've repaired miners like this, the result are pretty wild. The proper way to do it is to put a fuse inline with each supply line going to a miner. That way if a miner shorts you blow a fuse and not a fire.

I've had great luck with the Corsair 500 and 750 series, the only issue with the M's is that the plugs at the power supply can get a bit warm with heavy use. But the only one that failed was a 750 that was caught in my shed during a Churriguera when the door blew open and it got soaked. The others survived.

C
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 08, 2017, 09:45:53 AM
 #23

Ok so ATX supplies have fused supplies to the miner and server psus don't?

The plugs have fuses in though  Huh

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1335


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
January 08, 2017, 01:48:50 PM
 #24

I have used soooo many psu's I lost track.

if the gear is pure asic  and needs 12.0 to 12.4 volts server psus are better.


the best server psu with 1 fan mod  is the ibm 2980  not the ibm 2880  it gets true  platinum 93%  as long as you stay under  2600 watts and can do 2900 watts

Right now as I type  I have one running 2 avalon 7's

the next best  server psu is the dps 2500

it will give true gold  91% at 2000 watts and can do 2300 watts

of course  both are a shit ton of watts.

I have used 50 different ATX psus
and some can not do 75% of rating 24/7/365  some can

Since I have 13 pc's mining alt coins with gpus  all use plat or titaniam atx at about 60%

Rosewill quark plats  are good for 60%  24/7/365-------- great sales  right now a 550 watt for 69.99

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA07234S8693

modular  and will mine 2 rx 480 gpus

evga p2's are good
evga t2's are better   but cost a lot
evga g2's are good

seasonic prime titanium are good but cost a lot
I melted seasonic plat
I melted seasonic gold

corsair plat AX Series AX760 good


all silverstone   titanium are mediocre they  dont quite get the titanium rating  unless you are 50%

that is the 600 700 and 800 models


At the moment when I get an atx I look for a good deal on evga p2 and or rosewill quark

When I go for servers  I like dps2500 and ibm 2980

I buy Finksy/j4bberwock  or optimizer breakouts

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1034

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
January 08, 2017, 02:15:04 PM
 #25

Ok so ATX supplies have fused supplies to the miner and server psus don't?

The plugs have fuses in though  Huh
They do, but that' usually rated for the amount a supply can safely provide, not the amount an individual miner is rated to take. ATX supplies will usually crowbar at around 700-800 watts per rail, large PSU supplies could source 3,000 watts or more per rail (and putting AGM batteries on the 12 volt rails to provide simple UPS ability could raise that to 60,000 watts per rail or more).

C
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!