Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 09:43:19 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 8 Guiminer Woes :(  (Read 3066 times)
Izlude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 05:40:08 PM
 #1

On Windows 8, guiminer reports "Verification Failed: Check Hardware".  Tried all Catalyst versions from 12.6 to 13.3

On Windows 7 (dual booted) it works flawlessly on any driver version, even 13.3b.  Mines nonstop without any trouble.

Why is this happening?  It's not defective hardware, checked that already. I'm reading it might be SDK related, but how can I troubleshoot that?  I uninstalled all ATI software, reinstalled 13.3b and no go.. Do I have to install OpenCL or SDK or anything "separate" from the actual catalyst driver? (direct links would be helpful).  Thanks pals.  Hope to get this resolved once and for all Smiley

also note, some catalyst versions under win8 were causing guiminer to not launch at all.  (not the same as the "hiding" issue)  it simply would not execute.  13.3b it does execute, but gets the check hardware message.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508319799
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508319799

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508319799
Reply with quote  #2

1508319799
Report to moderator
fendlestick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 12, 2013, 05:41:49 PM
 #2

Try running in compatibility mode as win7.

20% OFF All Bondage - www.cryptosextoys.com
Affiliates Get 10% - Join
Izlude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 12, 2013, 05:46:21 PM
 #3

Thanks fendlestick, I tried guimner in compat mode, still no go...

Is there such a thing as installing older catalyst drivers from Win7 on Win8 using compat mode? (11.10 is supposed to be the sweet spot for 5870 cards)
Izlude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 12:16:52 AM
 #4

I fixed my problem folks, and it was nerve wracking!!!!

Ok I uninstalled my Catalyst through the control panel, same old same old.. Used Driver Fusion (free version) to pull out the rest.

Now I installed this: AMD-APP-SDK-v2.6-Windows-64.exe  (put everything in)
Next I installed the latest Catalyst (13.3 beta3) and UNCHECKED the SDK runtime.

In short, install sdk 2.6 first, then your current driver without the latest sdk runtime... whew.  Good luck mates.
fendlestick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 01:07:59 PM
 #5

I think 2.8 is the latest sdk maybe its related to something they changed in that, thanks for posting a solution will surely help others who come here with same issues.

20% OFF All Bondage - www.cryptosextoys.com
Affiliates Get 10% - Join
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!