Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2017, 09:53:46 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux GPUs found by aticonfig but not poclbm  (Read 1393 times)
personman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 15, 2011, 11:18:09 PM
 #1

Hello there,

I followed inabas wonderful guide to get mining running on Linux. Things I had to change were: Ubuntu 10.04.2 instead of 11, Ati official binary drivers.

So I got everything installed, no errors anywhere, initialised gpus, rebooted, all cards showed up in aticonfig, but not when running ./poclbm.py. There only the CPU shows up.

Does anyone have a clue what's wrong here? I'll gladly provide any info needed to solve this.

Thank you.
1503006826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503006826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503006826
Reply with quote  #2

1503006826
Report to moderator
1503006826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503006826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503006826
Reply with quote  #2

1503006826
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503006826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503006826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503006826
Reply with quote  #2

1503006826
Report to moderator
1503006826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503006826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503006826
Reply with quote  #2

1503006826
Report to moderator
1503006826
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503006826

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503006826
Reply with quote  #2

1503006826
Report to moderator
personman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:16:53 AM
 #2

Anyone?
Austinh100
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:19:47 AM
 #3

make sure you install OpenCL
neneko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:23:22 AM
 #4

What GPU are you using? If it's a older one that doesn't support openCL it won't show up.
personman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 01:56:45 PM
 #5

Thanks for replying you two!  Grin

I have three 6990 in this system, all of which are recognised on the driver side. APP version installed is 2.4.

Is there a log or something that I could post to help solve this?!  Huh
personman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:06:19 PM
 #6

OK, I found the problem. The miners just have to be started as root.

I read that other also need to start miners as root... maybe the user under which they are running needs to be added to some group to be able to start miner normally?!
spoon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:54:48 PM
 #7

According to the guide you shouldn't need root to run the miner, all I can think of is to check that the user is in the video group.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!