Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2018, 02:39:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Advice on first rig build  (Read 765 times)
kevinm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 100


This is not good for my Chi


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:08:47 AM
 #1

Hiya guys,
After reading threads on this site for a couple of weeks, I decided to try my hand at mining. I have no experience with computer building and I really struggle understanding code/script. That said, I decided to build a rig and have just about got it completed. see link to photo below: sorry I dont even know how to upload the photo here  Sad  If someone could explain how to upload it here, perhaps I can edit the thread to make it more readable.

 http://s1279.photobucket.com/user/Batamminer/media/IMG-20130413-00158_zps79c879ba.jpg.html?sort=3&o=0

The hardware spec is as follows:

ASUS P8Z77-V-Pro mobo
Crucial 8GB DDR3 RAM
Intel core i3-3220-3.3Ghz CPU
Seagate 500GB Barracuda SATA3 HDD
Coolermaster 1300W Silent Pro 80 Gold PSU
3 X Sapphire ATI 7970 3GB GPU's
Windows 8 OS

I have ordered some PCI-e 16x extender cables from e-bay (the mobo has slots for 3 x 16x extenders).

My questions are:

1     Will my PSU give me enough power to allow me to add a 4th 7970 card? (I have had a little windfall and can now afford another). I understand that I will need to use a 1x extender so will have to order from the net.

2     Is Windows 8 OK for an OS or should I swap it (unopened as yet) for Windows 7?

3     What hash rates can I expect from this set up for BTC & LTC mining?

Thanks in advance   Smiley

Kev

BTC:   13oxYTF1CDzz63FV6FDMT7xuzpH8TRnYgb
1524191989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524191989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524191989
Reply with quote  #2

1524191989
Report to moderator
1524191989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524191989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524191989
Reply with quote  #2

1524191989
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524191989
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524191989

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524191989
Reply with quote  #2

1524191989
Report to moderator
DrG
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:14:55 AM
 #2

Very nice for somebody who has never built a rig.

The PSU should be able to handle 4 7970s doing BTC no problem, especially if you downclock the RAM to save power & Heat.  LTC on the other hand uses high memory clocks and a moderate core overclock, so 1300 should handle it, but don't CPU Mine.

I would suggest getting powered riser/extender so you're not pulling so much power through the motherboard.  The cards will pull 12v current up to 75W I believe through each PCIe slot, so you should add 1 or 2 powered risers to be safe.

Haven't tried Win 8 for mining so I can't comment.  Win 7 works perfectly fine for me.

              ███████░
             ░███████
             ▓████▓▒▒▓▓▓▓▒░
          ░▓█░      ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
       ░▓██▓▓      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
     ░███▓▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░░░░▒▒░░
    ▓██▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒    ▒   ░████░
   ███▓▓▓▓▓▓      ░▓▓▓░   ▓    ▒       ███
  ███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓▓   ▒    ▓          █░
 ████▓▓▓▓▓▓       ▓▓░░▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓    ▓░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ▓▓░  ░▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
▒███▓▓▓▓▓▓     ░▓▓▓░░▓░   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
░███▓▓▓▓▓▒   ░▓░░▓▓▓░    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
 ████▓▓▓▓░ ░▓░  ▓▓░      ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
 ▒███▓▓▓▓░▓░  ░▓▓▓       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒
  ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
   ▓███▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░      ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
    ░████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░       ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
      ▓████▓▓▓▓▓▓░                 ▓█░
        ░█████▓▓▓▓░             ░████░
           ░▒█████▓▓▒░     ░░████████░
.

     ░▓▓▓▓                   ▓▓▓▓░
     ▓▓▓▓░                  ░▓▓▓▓
     ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
    ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▒▒▓▓▓▓▒▒▒░ ▒▓▓▓▒░░▓▓▓▓  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░  ▓▓▓▓░░░░▒  ░▓▓▓▓░░▓▓▓▓
    ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓    ░▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░  ▒▓▒▒░  ░░░░░   ▒▓▓▓▓░     ▓▓▓▓░▒▓▓▓▓░
   ░▓▓▒▒   ░░░░░   ░       ░░░░░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░ ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░░
   ▒▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░   ▓▓▓▓░    ▓▓▓▓░    ░   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░       ▒▓▓▓░ ▓▓▓▓░    ░░
   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒  ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓  ▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒   ▓▓▓▓░    ▒▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓░░  ░▓▓▓▓   ▒▓▓▓▒  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░

    ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▒░                ▒▓▓▓▓
  ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓                 ▓▓▓▓░
 ▒▓▓▓▓░            ░░░░░          ░     ░░   ░░░
 ▓▓▓▓░          ▒▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░   ▒▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓          ▒▓▓▓▓░░░▓▓▓▓   ▓▓▓▓░  ░▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓░
░▓▓▓▓         ░▒▒▒░    ░░░░  ░░▒▒▒   ▓███░   ████
▓▓██░         ▓███░   ░████  ▓███░  ░████   ░███▓
████▓    ░░░  ████░  ░████░  ████░  ▒███▒   ▓███░
▓██████████░  ░██████████░  ░███▓   ████░  ░████
  ░▒▓▓▓▓▒░░     ░▒▓▓▓▒░░    ░▒▒▒░   ▒▒▒▒   ░▒▒▒░
.
  GET INTENSE COIN!

kevinm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217
Merit: 100


This is not good for my Chi


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 11:12:13 AM
 #3

DrG,
Thanks for that advice,

This is a dumb question, im sure of that   Huh

If I use a PCI-e 1x molex powered extender cable, where do I connect it to the power supply? since I wish to add a 4th card, the power supply to this will take up the last remaining 6 pin socket on the back of my PSU or does the power for the GPU come through the molex and i do not need to connect the power cable to the 2 x 8 pin connectors on top of the card?

P.S  I have 2 x 4 terminal molex - 1 x 8 pin power connector cables that came with the GPU's. should I plug this in the back of the PSU and then just connect the molex plug&socket to the riser cable and do away with the power supply to the top of the card?

Thanks

Kev.

BTC:   13oxYTF1CDzz63FV6FDMT7xuzpH8TRnYgb
Vod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2352
Merit: 1414


Licking my boob since 1970


View Profile WWW
April 13, 2013, 03:06:42 PM
 #4

3     What hash rates can I expect from this set up for BTC & LTC mining?

I get about 550Mhash/sec from my 7970s.  650 if overclocked.

I'm into creating universes, smiting people, writing holy books and listening to Prayer Messages (PMs).
BitcoinTalk Public Information Project (BPIP)
$$ Our donation wallet information $$
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!