Bitcoin Forum
August 19, 2018, 04:42:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: "datacarrier" command?  (Read 1179 times)
cochranizer666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:19:25 AM
 #1

Can someone please explain the following Bitcoin Daemon command for me please?

Code:
bitcoind -daemon -datacarrier

Much appreciated!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534696962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534696962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534696962
Reply with quote  #2

1534696962
Report to moderator
1534696962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534696962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534696962
Reply with quote  #2

1534696962
Report to moderator
1534696962
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534696962

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534696962
Reply with quote  #2

1534696962
Report to moderator
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1005


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:25:09 AM
 #2

Can someone please explain the following Bitcoin Daemon command for me please?

Code:
bitcoind -daemon -datacarrier

Much appreciated!

Check out:
https://bitcoin.org/en/developer-guide#term-null-data
And
https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/2738
And
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=957509.0

Do those help?
cochranizer666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:34:46 AM
 #3

According to what I've read, it seems to me that the datacarrier syntax allows you to mine specific transactions? Am I getting this correctly?
Decoded
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1013


lllllllllllll


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:37:56 AM
 #4

According to what I've read, it seems to me that the datacarrier syntax allows you to mine specific transactions? Am I getting this correctly?

If I'm not mistaken, bitcoind does not allow you to mine
 It hasn't for a long while.

The datacarrier command allows you to change whether your node stores OP_RETURN transactions in its UXTO pool.

I'm pretty sure that's it.
cochranizer666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:39:48 AM
 #5

According to what I've read, it seems to me that the datacarrier syntax allows you to mine specific transactions? Am I getting this correctly?

If I'm not mistaken, bitcoind does not allow you to mine
 It hasn't for a long while.

The datacarrier command allows you to change whether your node stores OP_RETURN transactions in its UXTO pool.

I'm pretty sure that's it.

If that's the case, then why are there multiple cloud mining services, like Genesis Mining, Hashflare, and the brand new MinerGate service? UPDATE: They have to come from some outdated node or something.
Decoded
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1013


lllllllllllll


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:50:10 AM
 #6

According to what I've read, it seems to me that the datacarrier syntax allows you to mine specific transactions? Am I getting this correctly?

If I'm not mistaken, bitcoind does not allow you to mine
 It hasn't for a long while.

The datacarrier command allows you to change whether your node stores OP_RETURN transactions in its UXTO pool.

I'm pretty sure that's it.

If that's the case, then why are there multiple cloud mining services, like Genesis Mining, Hashflare, and the brand new MinerGate service? UPDATE: They have to come from some outdated node or something.

First things first, let's get this out of the way. No one uses Bitcoin core or bitcoind to mine anymore. There are better clients out there that mine.

For example, CLminer or GUIminer.

Secondly, there is no actual proof as far as I know that Genesis Mining owns any mining equipment. They sell unprofitable contracts, so they very well be a ponzi.

Thirdly, they probably forked mining software like the ones mentioned in my first point, and added GUIs or ran them for themselves.
cochranizer666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:53:50 AM
 #7

Oh, ok, I see. Well, to be honest, I am a bit of a noob, so I'm just learning the ropes on this.

Going back to my original post, I was wondering about the datacarrier syntax because I thought this command was fufillment for the Data Mining whitepaper written by SpreadCoin.
Decoded
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1013


lllllllllllll


View Profile
January 17, 2017, 01:57:52 AM
 #8

Oh, ok, I see. Well, to be honest, I am a bit of a noob, so I'm just learning the ropes on this.

Going back to my original post, I was wondering about the datacarrier syntax because I thought this command was fufillment for the Data Mining whitepaper written by SpreadCoin.

I havent read their whitepaper, so I may be even more of a noon than you. To be honest, I've only read the Bitcoin, Iconomi, Ethereum and HashCash
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1526


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
January 17, 2017, 02:25:45 AM
 #9

First things first, let's get this out of the way. No one uses Bitcoin core or bitcoind to mine anymore. There are better clients out there that mine.
This is slightly incorrect. Bitcoin Core no longer has the ability to create blocks. However it is still used to generate the data used by mining software. It is still used to build the blocks, but not actually for the hashing part of mining.



The -datacarrier option tells Bitcoin Core that it can include transactions containing an OP_RETURN output in the blocks that it builds.

Decoded
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1013


lllllllllllll


View Profile
January 18, 2017, 01:15:40 AM
 #10

First things first, let's get this out of the way. No one uses Bitcoin core or bitcoind to mine anymore. There are better clients out there that mine.
This is slightly incorrect. Bitcoin Core no longer has the ability to create blocks. However it is still used to generate the data used by mining software. It is still used to build the blocks, but not actually for the hashing part of mining.



The -datacarrier option tells Bitcoin Core that it can include transactions containing an OP_RETURN output in the blocks that it builds.

Ah. So do mining clients like the ones I mentioned require a local Bitcoin client to be running, to generate the block header, or do they have this software bundled in.
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1526


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2017, 02:16:47 AM
 #11

Ah. So do mining clients like the ones I mentioned require a local Bitcoin client to be running, to generate the block header, or do they have this software bundled in.
They have to connect to something that can receive transactions, download and verify the blockchain, and build the block header. Those mining software cannot do that on their own. They either rely on a pool to do it for them, or they need a bitcoind to do it.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!