Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 08:43:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Building my first rig...  (Read 1353 times)
HowGudAmI
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


BTC --> ??? --> PROFIT


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 08:48:51 PM
 #1

Hi guys, I am looking to build my first mining rig for BTC or LTC... I have done a little research but the large quantity of motherboard/cpu/ram choices etc make it difficult to know if I am doing the right thing.

So here is my proposed spec:

GPU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=GX-190-MS&groupid=701&catid=56&subcat=1673
CPU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CP-450-IN&groupid=701&catid=6&subcat=2037
RAM: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-062-PA&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1387
Motherboard: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MB-097-AK
PSU: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-002-EA&groupid=701&catid=123

I make the total cost to be £540 on what I have linked so a £600 max budget seems reasonable.

Comments please?

Am I correct in assuming I can expected 600kh/s on LTC and 600mh/s on BTC? How many watts will it pull doing this?

What else will I need to purchase? Does this setup allow more cards to be added in the future?

I would hope that I can make a return on my investment in <6 months.

EDIT: Also the graphics card comes with about £100 worth of games which I would sell on to lower my initial investment and actually get the card for about £140

Smiley
1508273008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508273008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508273008
Reply with quote  #2

1508273008
Report to moderator
1508273008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508273008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508273008
Reply with quote  #2

1508273008
Report to moderator
1508273008
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508273008

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508273008
Reply with quote  #2

1508273008
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Acesbomb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 13, 2013, 09:06:26 PM
 #2

GPU - Fine
CPU- Fine if rig is just for mining
Ram - 8GB, if just for mining is OTT.
Motherboard - You can add a 2nd card, but not for gaming.
PSU-Fine.

You can probably 650mh/s with an overclock, probably on stock volts. More if you up voltage. Overclocking is also a lottery.
600 kh/s or so depending on OC. Maybe more/ maybe less, depending on oc.
HowGudAmI
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


BTC --> ??? --> PROFIT


View Profile
April 14, 2013, 12:09:30 AM
 #3

GPU - Fine
CPU- Fine if rig is just for mining
Ram - 8GB, if just for mining is OTT.
Motherboard - You can add a 2nd card, but not for gaming.
PSU-Fine.

You can probably 650mh/s with an overclock, probably on stock volts. More if you up voltage. Overclocking is also a lottery.
600 kh/s or so depending on OC. Maybe more/ maybe less, depending on oc.

Rig is just for mining, I have a 2012 macbook pro for every day life which handles my level of gaming.

Could save 20 quid by dropping to 4gb, http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-021-TG&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1517

But dont i need more ram than the graphics cards for LTC? in which case if i ever added a 2nd card I would have to buy more ram.

How come a 2nd card wouldnt be ideal for gaming on this mobo?

any where that I can save a little money? I would like to get this under £500 if possible.

Smiley
middlemarkal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
April 14, 2013, 08:09:53 PM
 #4

GPU - Fine
CPU- Fine if rig is just for mining
Ram - 8GB, if just for mining is OTT.
Motherboard - You can add a 2nd card, but not for gaming.
PSU-Fine.

You can probably 650mh/s with an overclock, probably on stock volts. More if you up voltage. Overclocking is also a lottery.
600 kh/s or so depending on OC. Maybe more/ maybe less, depending on oc.

Rig is just for mining, I have a 2012 macbook pro for every day life which handles my level of gaming.

Could save 20 quid by dropping to 4gb, http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-021-TG&groupid=701&catid=8&subcat=1517

But dont i need more ram than the graphics cards for LTC? in which case if i ever added a 2nd card I would have to buy more ram.usualy it's equal ram to vram for LTC and reaper only

How come a 2nd card wouldnt be ideal for gaming on this mobo?the second pcie*16 is only 1 or 4 x not 16, for gaming too slow but ok for mining

any where that I can save a little money? I would like to get this under £500 if possible. not much you already running without a case or dvd or Hd
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
April 16, 2013, 07:57:40 AM
 #5

how do you mine whit this? how can you run a program without the HD?
HowGudAmI
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


BTC --> ??? --> PROFIT


View Profile
April 16, 2013, 09:57:32 AM
 #6

how do you mine whit this? how can you run a program without the HD?

I forgot to link to the HD, but it was just a 120gb 3.5" seagate job.

Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!