Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 12:02:34 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Coin Clone Learning Help  (Read 656 times)
yeahitsme (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 11

Growthcoin Developer and Crypto Geek Since 2009


View Profile
January 28, 2017, 12:37:15 AM
 #1

So ive been messing around with cloning coins for fun and to better understand the programming and different protocols ect. and im at the point of trying on one coin to generate a merkle hash my compile was fine but after running mycoind i get this


main.cpp:2326: bool LoadBlockIndex(bool): Assertion `block.hashMerkleRoot == uint256("0x")' failed.
Aborted (core dumped)

I have checked the main.cpp the net.cpp but im still learning so im not entirely sure what is holding the merkle creation up has anyone had this or know what the problem is and how to fix it so i can get the merkle to generate thanks for the help all

Growthco.in    Staking since 2013
1714132954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714132954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714132954
Reply with quote  #2

1714132954
Report to moderator
I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES I HA(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻ TABLES I HATE TABLES I HATE TABLES
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714132954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714132954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714132954
Reply with quote  #2

1714132954
Report to moderator
1714132954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714132954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714132954
Reply with quote  #2

1714132954
Report to moderator
1714132954
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714132954

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714132954
Reply with quote  #2

1714132954
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2017, 12:51:58 AM
 #2

How are you trying to generate the merkle root?

The merkle root is the hash of all of the transactions in the block. There needs to be transactions to hash in order to find it.

yeahitsme (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 11

Growthcoin Developer and Crypto Geek Since 2009


View Profile
January 28, 2017, 12:54:43 AM
 #3

been following a learning guide for scrypt coins said to use this command after compile to generate merkle from example mycoind
in the test net

./barcoind -testnet

Growthco.in    Staking since 2013
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3374
Merit: 6535


Just writing some code


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2017, 12:56:05 AM
 #4

Again, how are you trying to generate the merkle root? What did you change in the code that is supposed to generate it? I don't care about the command, I care about what you have done to the code. The commands will probably be the same, just the code will be different.

yeahitsme (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 11

Growthcoin Developer and Crypto Geek Since 2009


View Profile
January 28, 2017, 01:02:47 AM
 #5

oh okay i get the question sorry

changed ports of course p2p rpc and testnet

ip address in net.cpp

base58 - pubkey address

updated nTime and pszTimeStamp

thats about it i didnt change any block times rewards or anything wanted to see if i could basically clone the exact thing with just new merkle and genesis name ect been following this besides not changing those
https://gist.github.com/mhsjlw/8130158de01071aa8c87


also idk if it matters but im using the latest ubuntu lts to build in

Growthco.in    Staking since 2013
yeahitsme (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118
Merit: 11

Growthcoin Developer and Crypto Geek Since 2009


View Profile
January 28, 2017, 01:29:56 AM
 #6

okay so i figured it out in a kinda derp moment i unhid hidden folders boom theres the folder created by the mycoind with merkle and genesis ect debug log so if anyone else has this issue dont be me unhide your folders in ubuntu ctrl+h

Growthco.in    Staking since 2013
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!