Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2019, 06:20:42 PM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 149630 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 10, 2017, 04:08:45 PM
 #261

Might try upping the voltage a bit if you want to keep running 100MHz.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
1547749242
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547749242

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547749242
Reply with quote  #2

1547749242
Report to moderator
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 10, 2017, 05:50:44 PM
 #262

Might try upping the voltage a bit if you want to keep running 100MHz.

AHH, okay will do.  Just odd I was getting no HW errors and it still failed? (Not sure if that is actually odd or not lol)

Do I just measure across the ASIC point that is shown on page two and add the voltages up.. ? I will mess with it tonight, like 6 hours.

I'd like to rum them at 150Mhz(maybe even 200 hehe) Shocked.  I will crank that voltage up!! MUHAHAHA.
xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 15, 2017, 02:14:24 AM
 #263

Hello all and thanks for being here. I am new and have the 2pac USB stick working but I can not for the life of me figure out how to change the clock speed. I have tried a few different command lines but no go.

I am running win7 and like I said , I got the drivers installed and it mining but i need to be able to set the different timings and such so I can mess it all up. Tongue

here is what i tried and its working...

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32

i am assuming this is a u3 so I tried this...


cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32 --au3-freq 250

the cmd shell just flashes on real fast and it does not start. I tried this one...

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32 --anu-freq 250

same thing. what am i doing wromg?

thanks

Lercker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 15, 2017, 03:04:48 AM
 #264

Hello all and thanks for being here. I am new and have the 2pac USB stick working but I can not for the life of me figure out how to change the clock speed. I have tried a few different command lines but no go.

I am running win7 and like I said , I got the drivers installed and it mining but i need to be able to set the different timings and such so I can mess it all up. Tongue

here is what i tried and its working...

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32

i am assuming this is a u3 so I tried this...


cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32 --au3-freq 250

the cmd shell just flashes on real fast and it does not start. I tried this one...

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us1.bitminter.com:3333 -u xxooss -p x  --suggest-diff 32 --anu-freq 250

same thing. what am i doing wromg?

thanks


If you are running VH's cgminer, --gekko-2pac-freq 150 should work...
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 15, 2017, 03:34:40 AM
 #265

What you are doing wrong is assuming it's a U3 when it's very clearly not a U3.

The other thing you're doing wrong is not reading the first post in this thread, which explains everything you're asking about.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 12:14:39 AM
 #266

What you are doing wrong is assuming it's a U3 when it's very clearly not a U3.

The other thing you're doing wrong is not reading the first post in this thread, which explains everything you're asking about.

Salty much? I did read the first post...many times. You see I am a disabled person who is totally blind in my left eye and only has 20 percent vision in my right one. I posted here because I needed help, what I got from you was an attitude. I am 54 years old and trust me, I have been on my share of forums and know a burned out user/mod/whateveryouare  when I see one.

It is obvious that you need a course in customer service or is this how forum users can expect to be treated?

I could go on about why I might have missed something in the first post , but my health issues are not your problem so I will try the kind advice that Lercker suggested. Thank you Lercker.

I will leave you with this...

Always be kind, always. You never know what someone might be going through.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 12:42:08 AM
 #267

See under my name where it says "curmugeonly hardware guy"? That's not a joke.

I still stand by everything I said. There is no reason to assume something not a U3 is a U3 and expect U3 drivers to work. (Who told you it would? That person must be confused. Did it somehow enumerate as a U3 in an old version of cgminer?) In the first post of this thread are download links for Windows executables of the proper software and also descriptions of command-line flags specific to the 2Pac driver. The things you need to solve the problems you're having.

===============
=Basic Q&A / Troubleshooting=
===============

Q. Can I run this cgminer build with the original Compac?

Yes.  The original Compac will register with separate device name from the 2pac.

Q. How can I set a different frequency for the 2Pac vs the Compac?

cgminer will accept one or both parameters for the stick.
--gekko-compac-freq 200 --gekko-2pac-freq 150



I'll kindly answer questions that haven't been asked yet. I'll sarcastically answer questions that have been answered several times already. I'll ignore questions that have been answered so publicly and frequently that finding the answer should take a person who's gotten this far no more than 30 additional seconds of work to find it for himself. I won't do your homework for you.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 01:12:19 AM
 #268

This is what it is detected as

0: GSD 10010657 : COMPAC-2 100.00mhz hw:0 | 12.39Gh/s WV: 149.4/m

the only command line that works is

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us.ss.btc.com:1800 -u xxooss.002 -p --anu-freq 200

but the freq from the line above stays at 100.000mhc

the --anu-freq command for a u3  and since it was the only one that worked i thought it was a u3. 



sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 01:19:19 AM
 #269

100MHz looks to be the default it runs at if no frequency is specified. It probably worked with the Antminer freq flag because the executable was compiled with Icarus support (the driver for U2, U3, lot of small stuff) and every other flag you tried to give it wasn't recognized and the program shut down.

In the Q&A/Troubleshooting section of the first post (near the bottom) is a slew of advice on how to make these guys work, including the flags you need to set speeds.

The U3 is a small pod miner, runs off a 60W brick and shaped like a big CPU cooler. It runs four BM1382 chips, one generation behind the chips used in this stick so the efficiency is a lot worse.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 599


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 02:26:22 AM
 #270

the only command line that works is

cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us.ss.btc.com:1800 -u xxooss.002 -p --anu-freq 200

This software you're using wasn't from the first post on this thread.



0: GSD 10010657 : COMPAC-2 ...

Looks like you've switch, and should be okay now, but I couldn't be sure from your reply.


Let us know if you are still having issues.   

xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 05:52:55 AM
 #271

I reinstalled the driver, winusb, and it still does not let me pass the --gekko line but will accept the anu line but with no affect.  Seems to be ming ok so maybe I should just leave it alone. Like it said in the faq that default settings were most always better than what ever you change.

Thanks all.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 05:56:40 AM
 #272

Weird. You're sure you're using the latest Windows build linked to in the first post?

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 642
Merit: 599


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 06:22:35 AM
 #273

I reinstalled the driver, winusb, and it still does not let me pass the --gekko line but will accept the anu line but with no affect.  Seems to be ming ok so maybe I should just leave it alone. Like it said in the faq that default settings were most always better than what ever you change.

Thanks all.

I wouldn't leave it as it.   It will actually not be hashing as designed to or even close to baseline or even reporting the correct data.

I just downloaded and retried just in case.    There is no --anu-freq in the software.

Code:
C:\Mining\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4d44a22\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko>cgminer.exe  -o stratum+tcp://us.ss.btc.com:1800 -u xxooss.002 -p x --anu-freq 200
 [2017-04-15 23:23:51.855] cgminer.exe: --anu-freq: unrecognized option

Here's the download link from the first post:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4d44a22.7z

This is what you should see.
Code:
C:\Mining\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4d44a22\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko>C:\Mining\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-4d44a22\cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko>cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://us.ss.btc.com:1800 -u xxooss.002 -p x --gekko-2pac-freq 200


 cgminer version 4.10.0 - Started: [2017-04-15 23:16:58.476]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):21.97G (1m):21.83G (5m):11.82G (15m):4.990G (avg):21.82Gh/s
 A:128  R:0  HW:0  WU:305.6/m
 Connected to us.ss.btc.com diff 128 with stratum as user xxooss.002
 Block: 1b2a3b37...  Diff:521G  Started: [23:16:57.755]  Best share: 926
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [U]SB management [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 0: GSD 10000961: COMPAC-2 200.00MHz HW:0 | 24.38G / 21.88Gh/s WU:305.6/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [2017-04-15 23:16:55.014] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2017-04-15 23:16:57.476] Probing for an alive pool
 [2017-04-15 23:16:57.579] Found 2 chip(s) on GSD 0
 [2017-04-15 23:16:57.755] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 8192
 [2017-04-15 23:16:57.755] Network diff set to 521G
 [2017-04-15 23:18:00.535] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4096
 [2017-04-15 23:18:31.396] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 2048
 [2017-04-15 23:19:02.363] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 1024
 [2017-04-15 23:19:33.143] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 512
 [2017-04-15 23:20:04.102] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 256
 [2017-04-15 23:20:35.071] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 128
 [2017-04-15 23:20:45.085] Accepted c156efd0 Diff 339/128 GSD 0

xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 07:12:15 AM
 #274

I just finished reading yalls replys and here is where i am... the driver i am using is libusbK (v3.0.7.0)

this is the one that works...ill try the other things...
xxooss
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 16, 2017, 07:21:31 AM
 #275

Woot!  I used the commands you had in your code vh...

cgminer.exe -o stratum+tcp://us.ss.btc.com:1800 -u xxooss.002 -p x --gekko-2pac-freq 200

it set it to 200mhz and it is working @`22ghs

thanks so much for both of your efforts to get me fixed up!

edit   its averaging 21ghs atm and ive seen the real time go to almost 50ghs so I think its working great now
CADuke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 12:17:16 AM
 #276

New build is available (3094f39).   git pull and build as needed.

  • Merged in upstream (ckolivas/cgminer) updates.
  • Set device_diff to fix WU calculation.
  • Added Terminus warm-up ramp variation.

Latest windows binary:
http://23.108.83.14/images/cgminer-4.10.0-windows-gekko-3094f39.7z


Thanks VH for the update. I have been up running for 19D 16H since I last did a git pull. Finally have some time to do pull updated code.
wingless
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 82
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 05:05:37 PM
 #277

So I hope I didn't break the potentiometer on my 2pac. Is it the potentiometer designed to stop turning at a certain point? Or does it continuously turn? Because mine continuously turn and don't seem to stop at any place. I'm trying to figure out if I'm at the highest voltage setting. Unfortunately I don't have a volt meter, so I was hoping by turning the potentiometer far enough, it would stop at one point indicating the highest voltage. If I'm not making sense please let me know and I'll try explaining again.

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 05:07:18 PM
 #278

Nope, it spins continuously.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
ppetrovic68
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 10:35:47 PM
 #279

So I hope I didn't break the potentiometer on my 2pac. Is it the potentiometer designed to stop turning at a certain point? Or does it continuously turn? Because mine continuously turn and don't seem to stop at any place. I'm trying to figure out if I'm at the highest voltage setting. Unfortunately I don't have a volt meter, so I was hoping by turning the potentiometer far enough, it would stop at one point indicating the highest voltage. If I'm not making sense please let me know and I'll try explaining again.

I don't want to run at the highest voltage anyway. You should aim for the lowest voltage for your target frequency that gives no hardware errors. And I guess you should definitely invest a few bucks in a multimeter - you'll wonder how you've lived without one Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
April 17, 2017, 11:40:53 PM
 #280

Mayhaps my folks are not exactly typical, but I got my first multimeter for Christmas at about 9 years old. Never leave home without one.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 ... 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!