Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 12:35:39 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 145886 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
gvb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 07:26:41 AM
 #2001

Usually set to around half a dozen shares sent to the pool per minute so the pool knows you're still connected and active, but not enough to appear spammy.

So I better increase it to 128 or 256 to drop traffic to the pool?
1537835739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537835739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537835739
Reply with quote  #2

1537835739
Report to moderator
Einax Airdrops and Bounties made easy! List your ERC-20 token
FREE
ETH markets launching soon!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537835739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537835739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537835739
Reply with quote  #2

1537835739
Report to moderator
1537835739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537835739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537835739
Reply with quote  #2

1537835739
Report to moderator
1537835739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537835739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537835739
Reply with quote  #2

1537835739
Report to moderator
gvb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 07:30:32 AM
 #2002

NB  I am just starting in mining and have limited linux knowledge.

welcome to the club Wink

I've put a text file on the raspbian desktop with the lines below in it.

I just need to open it and copy paste the first 2 lines in the console to run it and that sudo leafpad one to edit the config



cd ./mining/2pac/cgminer
sudo ./cgminer


#edit settings

sudo leafpad /root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf


#show devices

./cgminer -n


#run miner at specific freq

./cgminer --gekko-2pac-freq 150


cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 10:44:39 AM
 #2003

Hi thanks for your help ... I sort of follow the instructions. 
I set in the console frequency 100 (in bash write ./cgminer -2pac -freq 100 et ... ) ,  starts at 100, then goes back to 75,  weird

My Pi only seems t be able to run 2 2pac, I assume my powered hub is not good enough
0 and 1 running at 75 mhz , and 2 is OFF .  if I enable 2 , it will just run at 0.


NB  I am just starting in mining and have limited linux knowledge.

welcome to the club Wink

I've put a text file on the raspbian desktop with the lines below in it.

I just need to open it and copy paste the first 2 lines in the console to run it and that sudo leafpad one to edit the config



cd ./mining/2pac/cgminer
sudo ./cgminer


#edit settings

sudo leafpad /root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf


#show devices

./cgminer -n


#run miner at specific freq

./cgminer --gekko-2pac-freq 150



gvb
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 96
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 12:07:04 PM
 #2004

I bought this 2.1A per port hub > https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10-Port-USB-HUB-Charger-Sipolar-A-400-Standard-20V-6A-Power-adapter/32513481750.html

I have 3 2PACs running on it at 212.5MHz and also have the Pi3 and a power supply fan attached to it to cool down the 2PACs.

It's been running for a week now without the constant stopping of the miners or freezing of the Pi.

As it is a general usage hub it's usefull for anything so not a mining aim only purchase if you might stop mining later.
gekkeleo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 06:43:02 AM
 #2005

good morning all,

i have a 2pac when i plug it in my hw start counting thats the only thing it do.
i try to run it solo and with my other sticks but it only makes hw cgminer says my speed is around 300 ghz?.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 01:07:05 PM
 #2006

300ghz, or 300GH/s? Because there's a big difference between those two and one of them shouldn't be possible without having broken cgminer first.

I'm guessing the white light stays lit on that stick. This generally means one of the ASICs has died and you should seek warranty replacement (assuming it's not the result of abuse).

cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 04:45:02 PM
 #2007

cant get this to work on raspberry pi

I follow to the letter

I get USB device fail





Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



    Debian 8.7.1 new install.
        Default Install (No desktop environment, + SSH Server)
        (*do not specify root password to enable sudo)
   
    or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2


http://23.108.83.14/images/2Pac-0002.JPG
http://23.108.83.14/images/2Pac-0003.JPG


Window cgminer.exe build steps (grab the finished zip file in the next paragraph if you want to skip this)


Linux cgminer.exe cross-compile steps (for windows use)

    Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS new install.
    Default Install (+OpenSSH server)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf autopoint bison flex gperf libtool libtool-bin python ruby scons unzip intltool p7zip-full libgtk2.0-dev

cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 05:10:34 PM
 #2008

I get this

 failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.958] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.960] failed usb_init

I am trying to run at 150 ...

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 3DZ3cEJYk5GUyGRJ7nkDqttUcaNgAtWais -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 150


cant get this to work on raspberry pi

I follow to the letter

I get USB device fail






Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



    Debian 8.7.1 new install.
        Default Install (No desktop environment, + SSH Server)
        (*do not specify root password to enable sudo)
   
    or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 06:04:50 PM
 #2009

found solution :

cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/

sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

sudo reboot

from here :  https://www.eyeboot.com/download/GekkoScience_2PAC_BM1384_USB_Stick_Miner/2PAC_BM1384_USB_Setup_Guide.pdf

its written badly , so you have to tweek as all joined

it is a real shame that both bitcoin forum and bitshopper.de have inadequate instructions on both 2pac and moonlander 2.  have had to find other ways to set up.  sloppy work by the big guys.


I get this

 failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.958] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
)


sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 01:00:37 PM
 #2010


Yeah I hear you man, if only that incredibly common problem were answered in the FAQ section of the first post.

...oh wait


Q. How to get past "USB init, open device failed" ... "you don't have privilege to access" error.
Code:
cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`
sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo reboot




Or maybe if it was solved in the README file, like the error message specifically states the user should check?

...oh wait

Code:
LINUX:

The short version:

 sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/


The long version:

On linux, the direct USB support requires no drivers at all. However due to
permissions issues, you may not be able to mine directly on the devices as a
regular user without giving the user access to the device or by mining as
root (administrator). In order to give your regular user access, you can make
him a member of the plugdev group with the following commands:

 sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

If your distribution does not have the plugdev group you can create it with:

 sudo groupadd plugdev

In order for the USB devices to instantly be owned by the plugdev group and
accessible by anyone from the plugdev group you can copy the file
"01-cgminer.rules" from the cgminer archive into the /etc/udev/rules.d
directory with the following command:

 sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

After this you can either manually restart udev and re-login, or more easily
just reboot.


Don't accuse "the big guys" of not giving you enough info. Rather, start paying attention.

marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 07:34:34 AM
 #2011

The crypto space is full of morons. They don't know how to read, how to research. When they have a problem they don't try to solve it, instead they go online hoping for an answer.
MacEntyre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2018, 10:44:10 AM
 #2012

found solution :

cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/

sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

sudo reboot

from here :  https://www.eyeboot.com/download/GekkoScience_2PAC_BM1384_USB_Stick_Miner/2PAC_BM1384_USB_Setup_Guide.pdf

its written badly , so you have to tweek as all joined

it is a real shame that both bitcoin forum and bitshopper.de have inadequate instructions on both 2pac and moonlander 2.  have had to find other ways to set up.  sloppy work by the big guys.

Simply ask for support (Chat; E-Mail) before you complain, newbie. The topic could have been resolved within minutes.
Others would say: RTFM!!! The support thread is linked from our website and the solution is mentioned on page 1.

MacEntyre
bitshopper.de

MacEntyre
bitshopper.de
Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 09, 2018, 10:48:37 PM
 #2013

Hey everybody, newby ass newbie here. Just got a 2pac, and of course I had to play around with it. At one point, I had 'er running at 30GH/s, which is amazing, but I've not achieved anything close since then. Since I hit that 30, I've played with the potentiometer a bit, and I'm reading voltages of .74 on both ASIC cores.
I guess my question is: do I add up the voltage from each core for a total of 1.48? or are both chips underpowered, thus explaining my ~6.5GH/s rate?

If it makes a difference to whoever responds, I've rotated the potentiometer screw clockwise to where the flat part is a 45-degree angle to the bottom right corner of the board, looking at it with the USB plug facing you.

/edit: Running at 100MHz, just lookin' for that ~10GH/s before I keep playing and trying to get it back up to around 15
/2nd edit: Using Biodom's picture on page 2 for reference for voltage testing
/3rd edit: Also, how do I measure vcore's voltage? Which piece is it? Is it the side of the 1st ASIC chip that reads about 2x what the chips themselves do?
/4th edit: found this, and it sounds like I've somehow managed to be giving the chips way too little power but I'm not 100% sure
/5th edit: Which pieces do I short out to "factory reset"?

/edit 6: It seems I just need to keep turning the potentiometer clockwise until it gives me that sweet, sweet 10GH/s at 100MHz <------------------------------is this correct?
/edit 7: Mining stably 17 ~17GH/s, at 200MHz so I think I got 'er worked out. It was all in this thread
/edit 8: dialed voltage in to 1.26, mining at about 8GH/s at 100MHz. Will leave at this setting until someone responds. This hashrate still seems a touch low, should i up the voltage to like 1.3?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg17678108#msg17678108

Picture and explanation of where to measure. You should see 1.24-1.26V across the two chips, with 620-630mV per chip. If that's the case, there's an IO line broken somewhere. If there's an imbalance causing the string to lock up, your Node 0 voltage will be about 480mV. If that's the case, turn up the voltage a bit, unplug, wait about 20 seconds and plug it back in.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 02:51:01 AM
 #2014

Probably, yeah. You should see 11GH (WU of about 150) for every 100MHz if everything's working right.

Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:25:13 AM
 #2015

Probably, yeah. You should see 11GH (WU of about 150) for every 100MHz if everything's working right.

Kk. Set to 1.31 @ 100MHz, gonna let it run overnight and while I'm at work tomorrow, will post an update then if stuff still seems off. Almost can't believe you got back to me O.o
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1151

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:43:36 AM
 #2016

It was fun watching all those fresh edits pop up throughout the day.

Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:54:43 AM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (2)
 #2017

I did some homework before I posted, and then I did more homework as I waited. Hopefully it helps someone somehow
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1099


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 02:48:30 PM
 #2018

I did some homework before I posted, and then I did more homework as I waited. Hopefully it helps someone somehow
+ 1million for that

You are one of the few newbs here in a long long time who knows how to learn: 1st research and *then* ask questions. Most just say "give me a fish!" (a single answer). Ja, we'll give you a fish - a fish smack in the head. You asked "teach me to fish" (how does is work), lo and behold -- you get teachers.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Tetrahybrid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 08:40:33 PM
 #2019

@vh and friends, you guys are amazing for what you have created here.


I really dont get the "Rough chart of power draw"-Table, especially the 300 MHz. So for 300 MHz it will take 13.98 watts and 2.80 ampere, but I can't find any hubs or whatsoever USB power supplier that goes beyond 2.5 ampere.

So what do I got wrong?
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 08:50:24 PM
 #2020

@vh and friends, you guys are amazing for what you have created here.


I really dont get the "Rough chart of power draw"-Table, especially the 300 MHz. So for 300 MHz it will take 13.98 watts and 2.80 ampere, but I can't find any hubs or whatsoever USB power supplier that goes beyond 2.5 ampere.

So what do I got wrong?

Nothing at all. It requires some "innovative" thinking to supply 3 amps to one of these. Can't be had out of a box (yet).

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!