Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 09:12:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: problem receiving bitcoins in Armory  (Read 460 times)
vinciguerra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
January 27, 2017, 12:06:45 PM
 #1

Hi,

Quick question: as a Bitcoin-noob I recently started using Armory, without really knowing too much about what I was doing, as someone insisted in sending me Bitcoins (instead of "regular" payment). I gave them the address, they paid, transaction confirmed on blockchain.info after a few hours.

I then found out before actually being able to use Armory I needed to use Bitcoin Core/to download the blockchain, which I did. Now fast forward two days Bitcoin Core appears to be fully synced, Bitcoin Armory says it is connected,  but still no payment in my wallet and my balance still zero.  If in Armory I go to "Wallet Properties", and right click the address the payment was send to, and choose "View address on Blockchain.info" it actually points me to the transaction being completed. So why is it not showing up in my Amory Balance or transaction history?  Is there another step I'm somehow missing?

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513285934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513285934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513285934
Reply with quote  #2

1513285934
Report to moderator
1513285934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513285934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513285934
Reply with quote  #2

1513285934
Report to moderator
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


17kKQppUsngUiByDsce4JXoZEjjpvX9bpR


View Profile WWW
January 27, 2017, 01:56:19 PM
 #2

What version of Armory are you using?

Please post your log files. Go to File > Export Log File and copy and paste the contents of the exported file to a new paste on http://pastebin.com/ and post the link here.

vinciguerra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
January 27, 2017, 02:48:38 PM
 #3

Thanks for your reply. I use the most recent version (0.95.1)

I fixed the problem actually; I'll explain what I did for anyone googling.

I installed Betcoin Core in 2013 when I wanted to start using Bitcoin. I downloaded the chain, but never used it.

Now, in 2017, for some reason Armory ddidn't work (and still doesn't work) when it tries to run Core in the background, it just hangs on trying to create a database. It does work when I first manually run Core and then Armory. But for some reason Armory was then using the 2013 download, not everything that I had already updated since then. I noticed this as Armory said it has access to about 350K blocks, while Core had 450K.

Again, for some reason this fixed itself after I left the path for "Bitcoin Home Dir" blank, instead of filled in. When I did this Armory started using the new blockchain download and after about two hours my balance is showing properly.

I still can't run Armory without myself manually running Core (as it hangs) and unticking the automatic option, but it seems if I do it manually everything is now working.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!