Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:24:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Catalyst application crashed over RDP  (Read 1978 times)
martinw79
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 11:49:56 AM
 #1

Has anyone else run into an issue where the Catalyst application crashes once you RDP into a machine?  I leave catalyst open to look @ the GPU temps, however, the app crashes as soon as I RDP in and will not reopen.  I also found that once the app crashes, the hash count goes down by 50%.

Are there other alternatives to watching the GPU temp / loads w/o using what's built into Catalyst?  I would give it a try to see if it works over RDP.

Thanks for any input.

___________________
MW79
1481347469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347469
Reply with quote  #2

1481347469
Report to moderator
1481347469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347469
Reply with quote  #2

1481347469
Report to moderator
1481347469
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481347469

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481347469
Reply with quote  #2

1481347469
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Saturn7
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:16:13 PM
 #2

When you RDP into your system, RDP hijacks DISPLAY 0 and pipes it into software instead of the hardware on your system. So you can't RDP onto a system that is mining on display 0.

There maybe a fix for that but i haven't found one.


First there was Fire, then Electricity, and now Bitcoins Wink
jkminkov
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 534


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:13:16 AM
 #3

you don't need catalyst, use MSI Afterburner, sapphire trixx, gpu-z

Bleutrade
600 dollars in one place talking - Dudes, hooray, Bitcoin against us just one, but we are growing in numbers!
3phase
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 313


Third score


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 08:53:14 AM
 #4

Martin, if you're talking about Windows, RDP will not give access to the card. Your connection will only allow you to see a dummy display device, same happens with sound also. Any software accessing the GPU card will not work (best case) or crash (worst case)

Use Teamviewer instead (it's actually safer as well).

If you're talking about Unix, Saturn's reply above is correct.

Fiat no more.
Δοκιμάστε το http://multibit.org - Bitcoin client τώρα και στα Ελληνικά
jasonstx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 11:39:58 PM
 #5

VNC type applications work as well, not as secure as teamviewer but the technical aspects are the same.  Its more akin to sending screenshots over the network instead of a driver level hook.
FreeJAC
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 05:08:09 AM
 #6

Yeah RDP really messes things up when it comes to mining. Stay away from it.

Donate here.... 18NiDLDA3qRxkEPN36xrzsdSgvEkbDKgNr
jasonstx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 02:29:58 AM
 #7

I did some testing on different types of apps from a security standpoint and I must say that VNC is pretty secure if you lock your system down and only accept connections from the loopback.  I ended up running sshd on a nonstandard port.

Connection steps are to SSH into the box, then VNC to it (since they are windows).

Also setup the sshd to ip block after 1 failed password attempt.

next it to setup a keypair though.

fun fun fun
BCwinning
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 02:36:15 AM
 #8

as others mentioned vnc works well though (tightvnc here)

https://www.rixty.com?ref=1337507 sign up for rixty
privacy, it does the body good.
Official Bitcoin Foundation Secretariat
The New World Order thanks you for your support of Bitcoin and encourages your continuing support so that they may track your expenditures easier.
tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 08:57:28 PM
 #9

my work blocks VNC, so I tried going over a different port, but I think they wised up to me, so now I gotta find yet another port!  Unless they're blocking everything except for certain ports, then maybe I'll set my home VNC to 80 or something since I don't run a website at home

I may try team viewer as well

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!