Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2017, 04:04:54 PM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CPU Mining -- Is this even worth it??  (Read 2887 times)
alukardfe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 03:11:55 PM
 #21

Hi all im new and i want to cpu mine just for the fun
i need a cpu miner program i tryed to run 2 but they are not working please help a newbie im running windows xp
yea i know its not worth it i just want to do something this big so pls help me
1493222694
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493222694

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493222694
Reply with quote  #2

1493222694
Report to moderator
1493222694
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493222694

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493222694
Reply with quote  #2

1493222694
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493222694
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493222694

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493222694
Reply with quote  #2

1493222694
Report to moderator
wndrbr3d
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 04:25:16 PM
 #22

it's worth it if you are doing it on 200+ systems, esp if they are multi-proc, multi-core systems Wink i've gotten to around 7ghash/s using ~256 hosts, but i've seen single accounts on eligius reach 42ghash/s.. would LOVE to know what kind of set ups they're using, 30 dual-gpu systems??

uhh, it's not worth it to the person paying the power bill for those 256 hosts.
alukardfe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:06:24 PM
 #23

so can anyone help with my problem
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:11:31 PM
 #24

alukardfe,

I can help you man if you like, easiest thing is to download teamviewer, goto www.teamviewer.com

You install that and send me the ID & Temporary Password, we can configure it and get you going, then uninstall team viewer.

I can do this free of charge, I like to help people get going with this!

Private message me the ID & Password for team viewer if you would like me to login and set it up with you.

No cost at all.

Thanks!
Artlav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:17:32 PM
 #25

A cluster with 100 nodes, each with 2 dual-core Opteron 285 @2.6Ghz.
I was getting between 400 and 500 MH/s, couldn't occupy it for long and exclusively.
But a Radeon 5870 GPU in my home PC does 350 MH/s.

Compare:
Home PC - a small quiet box for ~$1000, 100 nodes cluster - a room with 8 noisy stands for about ~$1000000.

GPU mining is 100-1000 times cheaper for the same performance, both in money and in energy.
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:27:08 PM
 #26

it's worth it if you are doing it on 200+ systems, esp if they are multi-proc, multi-core systems Wink i've gotten to around 7ghash/s using ~256 hosts, but i've seen single accounts on eligius reach 42ghash/s.. would LOVE to know what kind of set ups they're using, 30 dual-gpu systems??

uhh, it's not worth it to the person paying the power bill for those 256 hosts.

true but they have around 80,000 other hosts so i dont think they'll notice these using a little more juice (i'll be using more soon anyway).
shamathana
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:29:41 PM
 #27

if you got lots of pcs and don't pay the bills, it's "worth" it. maybe even in some countries where electricity is dirt cheap. but under normal conditions...
my dualcore does 5,5mh/s
my geforce does 30mh/s
some cheap radeon graphics card does +100mh/s
the good radeons do +350mh/s
the good rigs do +1gh/s
and apparently that's not the end of the line: 44.47 Ghashes/sec http://eligius.st/~artefact2/eu/1E8jPYas4iJGTrpwfgRgigjRmjGFNqtcuF

even if it turns up a small profit, it would be a much bigger one with gpu mining.
so yes the cpumining time is long gone... more infos https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Why_a_GPU_mines_faster_than_a_CPU

19pDUWMHfcynfkNK8eYyjHp4T1xBdMrviL
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:30:23 PM
 #28

Smiley you guys running all these machines at work or something? These 256+ nodes?
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:38:53 PM
 #29

and apparently that's not the end of the line: 44.47 Ghashes/sec http://eligius.st/~artefact2/eu/1E8jPYas4iJGTrpwfgRgigjRmjGFNqtcuF

I would LOVE to know wot kind of rig this guy is using.. anyone have any info? or know how to find out ??

p.s.. yes the 250ish computers are at work :p no they don't know i'm doing this lol i am going to ramp up to ~700 on the weekends if my prox can take it heh
Uncle Scrooge
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:45:04 PM
 #30

No CPU Mining is not worth it. GPUs far outpace what your cpu can do.
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:48:15 PM
 #31

LOL - Doing it at work isn't costing him anything!
nameless
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:50:04 PM
 #32

cpu mining is totally cr*p....i tell u
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:52:35 PM
 #33

I know that but people start that way, then see the potential, and the way a couple of guys are doing it is interesting, using a couple hundred PC's LOL on a network
cynikal
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:54:11 PM
 #34

cpu mining is totally cr*p....i tell u

if you run it on a single system, yes.. but if you have more than one, maybe not..

all i know is i've generated almost 80btc in less than the 3 weeks so far i've been into bitcoins, so.. *shrug*
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 05:57:10 PM
 #35

cynikal,

Thats right man, just not everyone has the $$$ at the moment, so it's great to see the ideas coming up from people using their minds and access to resources Smiley
Artlav
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:27:00 PM
 #36

Smiley you guys running all these machines at work or something? These 256+ nodes?
You really think that someone who can afford to own a hundred-node cluster would be interested in mining Bitcoins?

One thing that can topple the network is some bored Chinese technician trying to run the mining on one of their build-for-record-and-now-idle supercomputers. 7168 GPUs at ~500MH/s and 15000 CPUs at ~10MH/s would be 3.65TH/s, or a block every 10 minutes.
bitminers
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:34:20 PM
 #37

It's just interesting to see what people are trying Smiley
relm9
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798



View Profile
June 16, 2011, 06:40:15 PM
 #38

CPU mining isn't worth it, unless you have access to free power.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!