Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2017, 09:39:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Wallet Can't Sync to Blockchain Without Throwing Errors  (Read 1391 times)
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
February 24, 2017, 10:01:22 AM
 #1

So back in November, my bitcoin walled (just the basic bitcoin core) give me an error that the chain was corrupt or something along those lines. I thought, 'no big deal, just re-sync up'. But every time I've tried to get it to re-sync, it gets so far then fails again. Even if I start with a totally fresh wallet and no app prefs etc. This is on the latest version of OS X.

Has anyone else had this problem lately? Is it a known issue or is it just me? Any ideas how to fix it?

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
1493242760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493242760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493242760
Reply with quote  #2

1493242760
Report to moderator
1493242760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493242760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493242760
Reply with quote  #2

1493242760
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493242760
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493242760

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493242760
Reply with quote  #2

1493242760
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


16mT7jrpkjnJBD7a3TM2awyxHub58H6r6Z


View Profile WWW
February 24, 2017, 02:04:42 PM
 #2

That it continuously fails is usually indicative of hardware issues. Bitcoin Core is very hardware intensive and can cause issues with RAM or the hard drive to become noticeable. Try running some hardware diagnostics on your computer to see if it finds any issues with your computer.

l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 17, 2017, 01:36:42 PM
 #3

I know my computer has no hardware issues, but just for shits and giggles I opened up a totally fresh bitcoin wallet using bitcoin core on a machine that has never run bitcoin before. It too gets errors and fails before getting fully synced up. This is version .13.2. I do see that there is a version .14, i'll try that and see if I have any better luck.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 19, 2017, 05:08:20 AM
 #4

Ok now I really don't know what to do. Even version 0.14 will crash before it gets finished syncing to the network. Its a totally new wallet on a totally new machine and it can't sync up.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
nemgun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
March 19, 2017, 09:22:55 AM
 #5

Ok now I really don't know what to do. Even version 0.14 will crash before it gets finished syncing to the network. Its a totally new wallet on a totally new machine and it can't sync up.

Could you send a pastebin with the content of the debug.conf ? maybe it will give some clues about what is happening.
Could also please tell us your network configuration ? do you have a firewall ?

I personally never had any problem with bitcoin core, but as achow said, sometimes hardware problems apear. could you also give more details about your hardware, how much RAM you have ?

l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 21, 2017, 03:08:23 AM
 #6

That file is pretty big for a text file so I'm going to start a fresh one, let the app crash again, then repost when that's done... hopefully tomorrow.

As far as hardware, I can assure you it's not a hardware issue. My Macs are having no problems whatsoever, other than bitcoin. And bitcoin wallets are NOT that resources intensive. I do photoshop work that uses tons of memory and maxes out most of my CPU. Bitcoin is a lightweight compared to that.
But to answer your question, one of the computers has 16 GB of RAM, the other has 4 GB.
One is a dual core i5, the other is a quad core i7.
Both are 2012 Mac minis with intel HD 4000 graphics.
I don't have any kind of active firewall, just a standard router.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


16mT7jrpkjnJBD7a3TM2awyxHub58H6r6Z


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2017, 03:19:49 AM
 #7

And bitcoin wallets are NOT that resources intensive.
Bitcoin Core is because it is also a full node. Verifying and relaying every single transaction and block is quite resource intensive.

I do photoshop work that uses tons of memory and maxes out most of my CPU. Bitcoin is a lightweight compared to that.
But to answer your question, one of the computers has 16 GB of RAM, the other has 4 GB.
One is a dual core i5, the other is a quad core i7.
Both are 2012 Mac minis with intel HD 4000 graphics.
I don't have any kind of active firewall, just a standard router.
Are both of your computers crashing? Bitcoin Core will crash with the 4 GB RAM one as 4 GB is no longer enough memory to keep a node running. It will run into an OOM error and crash.

Core shouldn't be crashing on the 16 GB RAM one unless there is some other issue at hand.

l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 22, 2017, 02:54:45 PM
 #8

Im generating debug logs from both machines. The app on the 4 GB machine doesn't crash so much as it just freezes solid, and I mean solid. Repeatably. But I don't think it's a RAM issue, as only about half the RAM is even in use. Very low "memory pressure".

I'm running the other Mac now, syncing up the block chain from scratch with a fresh wallet. This will take a few days, I'll return with more into once this is done.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 24, 2017, 06:32:01 PM
 #9

Ok here we go...

Computer A:
An i5 Mac mini running 10.12.3 and 4 GB of RAM.
You say 4 GB isn't enough, but the memory pressure never gets outside of the green zone, so this must be crashing long before RAM becomes a factor. This one doesn't crash, it just goes unresponsive and never comes back.

Log Snippet:
http://pastebin.com/DcR0kwCt



Computer B:
An i7 quad core Mac mini running 10.12.3 with 16 GB of RAM.  This one crashes hard with lots of application errors on it's way out.

Log Snippet:
http://pastebin.com/5KUWYgck



That's all I have. My other computers are i5 laptops very similar to computer A. I have one older Mac Pro with 20 GB of RAM and xeon CPUs, but Bitcoin Core requires 10.8 or newer, and that old Mac can only run 10.7.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


View Profile
March 24, 2017, 07:35:29 PM
 #10

Ok here we go...

Computer A:
An i5 Mac mini running 10.12.3 and 4 GB of RAM.
You say 4 GB isn't enough, but the memory pressure never gets outside of the green zone, so this must be crashing long before RAM becomes a factor. This one doesn't crash, it just goes unresponsive and never comes back.

Log Snippet:
http://pastebin.com/DcR0kwCt



Computer B:
An i7 quad core Mac mini running 10.12.3 with 16 GB of RAM.  This one crashes hard with lots of application errors on it's way out.

Log Snippet:
http://pastebin.com/5KUWYgck



That's all I have. My other computers are i5 laptops very similar to computer A. I have one older Mac Pro with 20 GB of RAM and xeon CPUs, but Bitcoin Core requires 10.8 or newer, and that old Mac can only run 10.7.

On the second one, I only see one application error, not "lots" - just a notification that the database is corrupted:
2017-03-24 17:24:14 Corruption: block checksum mismatch
2017-03-24 17:24:14 *** System error while flushing: Database corrupted


As far as the first one, I haven't tried any recent version of bitcoin on a Mac with less than 8GB and usually 16GB of RAM.  I too suspect that achow101 is correct that it is a memory issue on the first machine. 

Have you tried Apple Hardware Test (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201257) on either machine with the extended testing to see if you do indeed have no hardware problems? 


l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 25, 2017, 05:11:16 AM
 #11

Well i can't speak for the log, but the application itself gave me multiple different error dialog windows as it was crashing. It may very well have all been from the same cause. This is what has been happening any time I try to sink up the bitcoin wallet on any Mac. Has ANYONE been able to run bitcoin core on Mac lately? I'm suspecting it is a problem with the application itself. It always makes it to about this point then fails. Among the many reasons I know its now a hardware problem with the Mac, is that if it were, it would happen at random times. Plus the fact that I use this computer all day every day and it has no problems, even when it's doing intensive work, of which this bitcoin wallet absolutely is not.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 25, 2017, 06:08:45 AM
 #12

Oh and other wallets sync up and stay synced no problem. Litecoin, Dogecoin core wallets both never had a problem. It's only bitcoin, and it's every time it tries to sync up.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
nemgun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
March 25, 2017, 08:49:34 AM
 #13

Computer  A: wallet.dat is corrupted, you should :

(found for windows)
1) create a folder named protoalt and keep it's path in mind
2)Copy all the files except your wallet.dat into the new folder
3) Create a .bat .sh to start the alternate you have created
3)start your client with -salvagewallet, this does exactly that.
4) once your wallet is recovered, start the alternate client, it will create a new wallet for you.
5) send coins to new wallet and use it as main one now.

Computer B: Database corruption, relaunch core with reindex=1 in bitcoin.conf and try it.

l008com
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67


View Profile
March 25, 2017, 05:01:40 PM
 #14

Computer  A: wallet.dat is corrupted, you should :

(found for windows)
1) create a folder named protoalt and keep it's path in mind
2)Copy all the files except your wallet.dat into the new folder
3) Create a .bat .sh to start the alternate you have created
3)start your client with -salvagewallet, this does exactly that.
4) once your wallet is recovered, start the alternate client, it will create a new wallet for you.
5) send coins to new wallet and use it as main one now.

Computer B: Database corruption, relaunch core with reindex=1 in bitcoin.conf and try it.

These are brand new wallets, I'm trying to get the app to sync from scratch, totally clean and fresh. I do have my old wallet files but this is before I even get to the point of trying to get at those coins.

BTC: 1B5ahrgQa2UpTFukjjacAWqFPShHyAStpZ
nemgun
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
March 25, 2017, 06:02:06 PM
 #15

Computer  A: wallet.dat is corrupted, you should :

(found for windows)
1) create a folder named protoalt and keep it's path in mind
2)Copy all the files except your wallet.dat into the new folder
3) Create a .bat .sh to start the alternate you have created
3)start your client with -salvagewallet, this does exactly that.
4) once your wallet is recovered, start the alternate client, it will create a new wallet for you.
5) send coins to new wallet and use it as main one now.

Computer B: Database corruption, relaunch core with reindex=1 in bitcoin.conf and try it.

These are brand new wallets, I'm trying to get the app to sync from scratch, totally clean and fresh. I do have my old wallet files but this is before I even get to the point of trying to get at those coins.

no problem, you can go with it even if new wallet.dat, sometimes it happens on fresh install, either on mac windows, linux or any other.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!