Bitcoin Forum
October 17, 2017, 09:03:12 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Data Center Mining Garage and Man Mining Cave ( PART 2 !!!!!!!!)  (Read 87121 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
blueMoonshine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 08, 2017, 02:39:23 PM
 #761

Right now I've got 12 rigs at home almost max'ing the 150AMP breaker @ 110V. Thought about doing what this Florida build out did.

Now I want to expand, double maybe triple. Debating whether to flip to 220 or bring in more electrical service lines. Either way, the A/C system is under powered for 2 adults and 12 mining rigs. That would need upgrading too.

This endeavor led me to comparing the option of co-locating at a data center nearby vs. creating a data center in a commercial space or even at home.

Found that the data center can beat my overhead + power costs. I pay almost $1000/month (14cents/KWh) to run and cool 70 470s/480s in the summer months, not including space and networking costs.

Compared to creating my own mine, the data center has badge access, loading dock access, work space to build, fiber-to-premise, and redundancy of everything (power, ISP, etc.), a 24/7 NOC, and a ton of little extra services.


I found that once you need to upgrade past 150/200 AMP service at home to feed the hungry mining rigs, that is the point where one needs to evaluate data center pricing. The numbers changed my mind for sure.

 
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508274192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508274192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508274192
Reply with quote  #2

1508274192
Report to moderator
1508274192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508274192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508274192
Reply with quote  #2

1508274192
Report to moderator
1508274192
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508274192

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508274192
Reply with quote  #2

1508274192
Report to moderator
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 01:00:43 AM
 #762

Such places don't even exist in my rural area, nor would it work for us for other reasons, but out of curiosity, would you care to share the approximate figure that data center rental would cost each month? Smiley

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Your Digital Network | 10MB Blocks
Algo: XEVAN | DK3 | Masternodes
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
CoinPayments | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
DoCApocalypto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 02:43:39 PM
 #763

I just want order second rig. But prices of gtx 1070/1060 are insane Shocked.

I will make call to main eshops in my state and tried to get P106 6gb  Tongue
blueMoonshine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
July 09, 2017, 02:44:22 PM
 #764

Still in negotiation.

First quote, 42U rack at 12kW MAX, unlimited use of power and cooling, $1250/month.

Requested they quote with variable power use. Toured the facility, now waiting for the re-quote.

Basing my calculations on 9-10 4U E-ATX cases.
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
July 24, 2017, 02:59:16 PM
 #765

BACK Y'all........................  been so busy with so many things in life.     Have lots of exciting things to share..................just need time to gather the stuff, upload,etc.  I wish Bitcointalk have a newer interface to allow easier uploading without needing to transfer to imgur first, etc.
deadsix
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
July 24, 2017, 03:46:13 PM
 #766

BACK Y'all........................  been so busy with so many things in life.     Have lots of exciting things to share..................just need time to gather the stuff, upload,etc.  I wish Bitcointalk have a newer interface to allow easier uploading without needing to transfer to imgur first, etc.

Cant wait ...  Cheesy
Storx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2017, 07:40:38 PM
 #767

Still in negotiation.

First quote, 42U rack at 12kW MAX, unlimited use of power and cooling, $1250/month.

Requested they quote with variable power use. Toured the facility, now waiting for the re-quote.

Basing my calculations on 9-10 4U E-ATX cases.


does that even make it profitable?

I am shopping around for space to build my next rigs into and expand myself. At my current operating cost and earnings mining on zpool mainly, im averaging right around 1 to 2.3 ratio. So for every $1 ive put into the setup, it will net me $2.3/yr tell all the equipment is payed off over the course of a year, then its just overhead on the equipment.....

I have been thinking of just buying a small 2 bedroom fixer upper house with garage space and turn the garage into a cooling chamber. I have my main PC at home that is watercooled and just a week ago i took my hottest rig, which is 4 x 1080ti MSI Armors (terrible cooling cards) and installed Kraken G12's on them with universal GPU blocks from ekwb to keep the cost right around $60/card to convert. i have the rig sitting in the laundry room as a test location (the laundry room is the room you have to pass through between the kitchen and the garage. I ran pex line temp through the drywall into the garage and i have the radiator sitting in the garage cooling the rigs, so far the concept is working out... my card temps are far lower than any air card i have running, but the temps are not as nice as the watercooled gaming pc, because the garage has no windows and only ventilates through a leaky garage door, so the room over time gets to a set temps and just stays at that temp. If i was to ventilate the garage more i am almost certain i could get the cards down into the low 50's on temps.

The idea would allow me to just leave the computer/rigs inside the house to be cooled by the a/c to some degree leaving the a/c set in the 80's, but majority of the heat would be pulled out of the house via the waterlines and dumped into the garage to be vented to atmosphere.....If the test rig continues to be reliable, i plan to upscale this to multiple rigs, because you gain a small % of additional earnings from the cooler temps on the gpu's also.. to offset the cost of the conversion. The reason i dont want to buy already converted gpu's, is because if i do want to dump them i can just put the air fans back on and sell them, otherwise i would be stuck with 50 watercooled gpu's for a niche market to buy used... plus using the kraken kit along with a universal water block allows it to be transferred to another card in the future when i upgrade.

Plus if i buy a cheaper 2 bedroom fixer upper in my area, the mortgage and insurance would run me around $300/month, so the rigs would literally act as house renters and pay the house for me over time.

Earn up to 40% ROI on your BTC, Signup under me and message me and ill verify and send you BTC for investing under me.
Join My Team @  https://bitconnect.co/?ref=Storxusmc
onefinecoin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86


View Profile
July 30, 2017, 12:32:11 PM
 #768

BACK Y'all........................  been so busy with so many things in life.     Have lots of exciting things to share..................just need time to gather the stuff, upload,etc.  I wish Bitcointalk have a newer interface to allow easier uploading without needing to transfer to imgur first, etc.

Ohh !! i was starting to wonder where you had disappeared !! Waiting eagerly for the updates.
chiwalfrm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:39:12 PM
 #769

yun9999 how much did it cost to upgrade from your original 150amp  service to 550 ?  I am trying to upgrade from 200amps to 400amps and got a quote of $11K.  Also in Texas.

How are you able to get a second meter ?  I called Centerpoint and they said there is no way a residential house can have a second electrical meter.

cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
July 31, 2017, 10:55:22 PM
 #770

welcome back yun cant wait to see the new pics / update you have

Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


🌟 COMSA ICO: 10/02/17 🌟


View Profile
August 01, 2017, 03:31:26 AM
 #771

yun9999 how much did it cost to upgrade from your original 150amp  service to 550 ?  I am trying to upgrade from 200amps to 400amps and got a quote of $11K.  Also in Texas.

How are you able to get a second meter ?  I called Centerpoint and they said there is no way a residential house can have a second electrical meter.


11K seems high when you already have 200amp

You can have a separate meter on a detached garage or separate building on your property, I did it an added 600amps to my garage and on top of that i set it up using business
info so i got far lower buisness rates on the seccond meter

all for 13k for 600amp


                               ,,,,╓╖µpp╖╖,,,,
                         ,╓g▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄µ╖          ,╖
                     ,╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓Ñ╖    ,@▓▌
                  ,á▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓µ╫▓▓▓▌
                ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀╜╙            '╙▀▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▌
              ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▀`                       ╙▀▓▓▓███████▌
             @▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▀`            ,,,,,         ,g▓███████▀`
           ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓██▀         ,µ▄▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█▓▓▓▄@, ,@▓███████▀
          ]▓▓▓▓███▓`       ╓▄▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓█████████████▓╜
         ]▓▓▓▓█▓█╝       ╓▓█████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▀╜
         ▓▓▓▓███▌       ╙▓███████▓▒       "▀▓██████▀`
        ╫▓▓▓███▌          "▀████████▄        '▓██▀
        ▓█▓███▓▒            `▀████████▄,       `
       ]▓█████▌                ╙████████▓,
       ]▓█████▌                  ╙▓█▓█▓▓▓█▓╖
       ]▓█████▌                    ╙▀█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ▓█████▓[            ,,       `▀▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄
        ▓██████[            ╓@        ╙▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╖
        ╠██████▓          ╓▓▓▓▓m        ╙▓█▓▓▓▓▓█▓@
         ▓█████╜       ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▄╖╖,,,╓╖▓▓██▓▓▓▓▓▓
         └▓█▓╜       ,@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓████████████▓▓█▀
          '"       ╓@▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▀▓▓▓▓█████████████▀╙        ,
                 ╓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓╜    ╙▀▀▀▀▓▓▓▀▀▀▀╜          ╓▓▓▓╖
               g▓█▓▓▓▓▓▓▓`                          ,g▓▓▓▓▓▓▓w
            ,g▓██████████▓▄,                    ,╓@▓▓█▓▓▓█▓██╜
            ▓████████████████▓▄▄p╖,,     ,,╓µ▄▄▓██████████▓╜
            ▓█████╜╙▀███████████████████████████████████▀`
            ▓██▓╜     "▀▀███████████████████████████▀╜`
            ▓▀`            ╙▀▀▀███████████████▀▀▀"
. COMSA
ICO: Oct 2 - Nov 6
█████
▄▄▄
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
▀▀▀
███
███
███
█████
█████
▄▄▄▄▄
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
▀▀▀▀▀
█████
█████
█████
█████
BeerMan81
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 04:22:24 AM
 #772

yun9999 how much did it cost to upgrade from your original 150amp  service to 550 ?  I am trying to upgrade from 200amps to 400amps and got a quote of $11K.  Also in Texas.

How are you able to get a second meter ?  I called Centerpoint and they said there is no way a residential house can have a second electrical meter.

Centerpoint is a pain in the ass to deal with. I just finished my service upgrade from a 100A to a 400A on my house. Back and forth on possible solutions. At first they said it was not possible, then they later said it was ok to have a separate meter (would have to be business). However, the transformer in my neighbor's yard had NO spare connections. I wanted a dedicated 400A service to my shed, but they wouldn't allow because there was not enough space to terminate new wires.

So, literally today, my shed was powered up. 400A service to the home through a new 100 foot run of 2 1/2" conduit, buried 20" below grade. However, they have the 80% rule, so i really only have 320A. My home now ties into that service, on a 100A panel (no changes), then we have a 225A disconnect that feeds power back to the shed's dedicated breaker panel.


11K seems high when you already have 200amp

You can have a separate meter on a detached garage or separate building on your property, I did it an added 600amps to my garage and on top of that i set it up using business info so i got far lower business rates on the seccond meter

all for 13k for 600amp

My original estimate was like 10k including digging, but that was before Centerpoint started making problems. I would expect closer to 12k.

For me the biggest cost was the digging crew.
tbonetony
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443


No zuo no die why you try, u zuo u die dont be shy


View Profile
August 09, 2017, 04:37:17 AM
 #773

This is so cool. great job, OP.

My question is how did you manage to install 3 electrical panels? It looks like you are in US or Canada. Do they allow you to install more than one in a residential property simply?

K&T Crypto Hosting, hosting as low as $45/kW per month ($0.06/kWh): https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1794057.0

I offer private S9 rental for various length: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1708351.0
mpnet
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
August 13, 2017, 01:08:44 PM
 #774

yun9999, thank you for these two threads. i started reading them two weeks ago from the start, and i felt like a time traveler, thinking to myself "oh my, if you only knew..", especially when i saw the reactions to the first spike (money printers getting stuck ^^)

i'm dying to know how the story continued!
sevenmiles
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 13, 2017, 02:36:00 PM
 #775

yun9999 how much did it cost to upgrade from your original 150amp  service to 550 ?  I am trying to upgrade from 200amps to 400amps and got a quote of $11K.  Also in Texas.

How are you able to get a second meter ?  I called Centerpoint and they said there is no way a residential house can have a second electrical meter.

Centerpoint is a pain in the ass to deal with. I just finished my service upgrade from a 100A to a 400A on my house. Back and forth on possible solutions. At first they said it was not possible, then they later said it was ok to have a separate meter (would have to be business). However, the transformer in my neighbor's yard had NO spare connections. I wanted a dedicated 400A service to my shed, but they wouldn't allow because there was not enough space to terminate new wires.

So, literally today, my shed was powered up. 400A service to the home through a new 100 foot run of 2 1/2" conduit, buried 20" below grade. However, they have the 80% rule, so i really only have 320A. My home now ties into that service, on a 100A panel (no changes), then we have a 225A disconnect that feeds power back to the shed's dedicated breaker panel.


11K seems high when you already have 200amp

You can have a separate meter on a detached garage or separate building on your property, I did it an added 600amps to my garage and on top of that i set it up using business info so i got far lower business rates on the seccond meter

all for 13k for 600amp

My original estimate was like 10k including digging, but that was before Centerpoint started making problems. I would expect closer to 12k.

For me the biggest cost was the digging crew.

I am considering doing the same project to my newly built detached garage...wondering the digging cost part...if it costs 10k, can i just dig by myself? i don;t think digging work requires permit, right? and i doubt the electricians really want to dig...

████→→       ● DeepOnion                                                                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯ 
████→→       ● Tor integrated, 100% anonymous!                                ✯     Get Your FREE Coins NOW!        ✯
████→→       ● Free Airdrop! (No ICO, No Crowdfund)                        ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯
R0mi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69

Axe Capital LOVES BTC and ETH ETFs and ETNs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2017, 02:15:19 AM
 #776

Another solution other than what I stated previously "to reverse the fan, so it pushes air, instead of pulling air. Helped with the noise a lot for me."

is to double up your hp server psu so they aren't running near 100% loud. Since they are so cheap, you can get another one if noise is an issue.

For example, if you have a rig using 900 watts on the HP PSU, then the fan is going to whine like hell. Now if you split that load between 2 HP PSU, so each one is only using about 450w, then it greatly reduces the fan workload, so no more screaming demons.

You can also add a heatsink + thermal paste, like this one from eBay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Large-Big-Aluminum-Heatsink-Heat-sink-radiator-for-Led-High-Power-Amplifier-amp/122445133345?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

$6.50 but it will take a few weeks to arrive from China.

What would BitCoin Jesus do?
R0mi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69

Axe Capital LOVES BTC and ETH ETFs and ETNs


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2017, 02:38:41 AM
 #777

@ All - Favor to ask to keep the thread easier to follow and less repetitive.  Let's use @ person for the response when possible rather than quote the entire post for the ones with pictures to keep it less bulky / more scrolling.  It will be more important as this thread gets past 40-50 pages where I need to do more streamlining.  


**************Design Lab brewing *************************

First I want to thank all the people who are supporting me on this project
<snip>

@YSYLUNG - Does the HP 1500W have bigger fans and is maybe quieter?  I need a server PSU solution for the server case and the IBM 2KW wont' fit sideways nor is there a good fan solution in that space to keep either the HP1200W or the IBM 2KW PSU cool.



Thank you everyone for following and for your valuable feedback and support.


The HP 1,200 when plugged into 110v gets insanely hot, thus the crazy high noise level.  The HP 1,500 doesn't run on 110v as it requires 220v.  A passive heatsink on the HP 1,500 will help keep the fan from revving up too high, if you are only driving it about 1/2 - 2/3 rated output.

What would BitCoin Jesus do?
yun9999
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 12:14:56 PM
 #778

Sorry been busy building my Bitmain L3 and 1080Ti army and have been neglecting this thread.

Fun pics  

L3 Mini Army





(1080Ti Aorus Army)





Testing 1080TI EVGA SC2  Army with the 13 GPU ASROCK H110 MB.  I tried 12 GPU and powered them with a IBM 4KW PSU, works like a champ.





Hui8
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


Decentralized Data and AI Marketplace - Synapse.ai


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 01:29:37 PM
 #779

This is very cool mining rig I have ever seen. Thanks for sharing the pics man. It is very motivating that you have taken the mining job so seriously. The home is completely surrounded by the miners and you have almost made a data centre which looks professional and IT infrastructure from inside.

Your hash rates are amazing and I believe you have got all the gpu's from your city. Lols. Look at the numbers man. Must be bright feeling when you are seating around that miners inside that garage. Nice one.

cavaliersrus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 740

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 22, 2017, 02:50:08 PM
 #780

everytime i come into this thread i see awesome stuff as always from yun and others

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!