Bitcoin Forum
August 22, 2018, 04:47:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Core node stuck with wrong proxy (solved)  (Read 280 times)
rotkive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 08:34:45 PM
 #1

Hi, I need some help.

I accidentally change the proxy on my bitcoin core node to 1080. Now when I start it it says error: -proxy=1080 and then shuts down.
I have tried to use a bitcoin.conf file but then it will not allow me to enter (it crashes) the options menu in the GUI to change it back.
So then I tried to run it in cmd but I can´t get it to work ether, no connection to server.
Now I also tried deleting everything I could find that related to the bitcoin client (blockchain, user/appdata/bitcoin and unistall bitcoin core) then reinstalled it but it still remembers the faulty proxy somehow.
Does anyone have a solution?

bitcoin 13.2 win 64-bit

Thanks
1534913243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534913243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534913243
Reply with quote  #2

1534913243
Report to moderator
BOUNTY PORTALS
BLOG
WHERE BOUNTY MANAGEMENT
MEETS AUTOMATION
SIGNATURE CAMPAIGNS
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
MEDIA CAMPAIGNS
AND MORE!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534913243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534913243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534913243
Reply with quote  #2

1534913243
Report to moderator
1534913243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534913243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534913243
Reply with quote  #2

1534913243
Report to moderator
1534913243
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534913243

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534913243
Reply with quote  #2

1534913243
Report to moderator
achow101
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1531


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
February 27, 2017, 08:43:26 PM
 #2

Open the start menu and search for "regedit". Open the program, it should ask to be run as an administrator. On the left sidebar, click the arrow next to "HKEY_CURRENT_USER". Then the arrow for "Software" and then the arrow for "Bitcoin". Click Bitcoin-Qt. The main window should show a bunch of stuff. Find the one labeled "fUseProxy" and double click it. The value data box in the dialog that shows up should say "true". Change it to "false". Close regedit and start Bitcoin Core. It should no longer be using the proxy.

rotkive
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 08:48:04 PM
 #3

Thank you very much!
Work perfectly
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!