Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 07:49:23 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Ryzen hashrate?  (Read 58797 times)
chohav
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 238



View Profile
July 18, 2017, 11:06:10 AM
 #101

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
1511423363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511423363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511423363
Reply with quote  #2

1511423363
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511423363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511423363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511423363
Reply with quote  #2

1511423363
Report to moderator
1511423363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511423363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511423363
Reply with quote  #2

1511423363
Report to moderator
1511423363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511423363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511423363
Reply with quote  #2

1511423363
Report to moderator
wll1rah
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 03:46:47 PM
 #102

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 05:43:54 PM
 #103

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.

That specific thread limitation only applies to cryptonight due to it's specific memory use. Other algos have different
characteristics and limitations.

The modular cache is not an issue for mining because miner threads are pinned to a core. There are only problems if a thread
moves to another core on a different CCX. When this happens there is a double hit because the data on the "from" CCX cache
has to be flushed to memory and then loaded into the "to" CCX cache.

There is a more subtle effect of modular L3 cache affecting shared data. If the same data is accessed from multiple threads
on different CCXs that data needs to be loaded from memory into the cahes of multiple CCXs increasing the memory load.
A thread can't benefit from data cached by another thread. If the data is modified it creates even more memory load as the
modified data needs to be immediately written to memory and all other CCXs that access that data need to reload it.

Anyone get SHA working?

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 378


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 09:19:41 PM
 #104

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.

That specific thread limitation only applies to cryptonight due to it's specific memory use. Other algos have different
characteristics and limitations.


With the 16 core 32 thread "Threadripper" CPU coming out fairly soon from AMD, would you be able to list any algorithms that can support that many threads? I'm debating whether or not to get one and if I could find a cooler to handle it I might just have it mine abit to pay for itself if I do nite the bullet and buy one.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
July 18, 2017, 10:34:47 PM
 #105


With the 16 core 32 thread "Threadripper" CPU coming out fairly soon from AMD, would you be able to list any algorithms that can support that many threads? I'm debating whether or not to get one and if I could find a cooler to handle it I might just have it mine abit to pay for itself if I do nite the bullet and buy one.

That requires compute intensive algos and most compute intensive algos are dominated by GPUs or ASICs. What's good
for CPU is even better for GPU. Conversely what's bad for CPU is worse for GPU. The only compute intensive algo I can think of
with no GPU miner yet available (that could change at any time) is xevan.

It's memory performance where CPUs have an edge over GPUs so don't get hung up trying to load all the cores on the CPU.

I usually don't give direct advice but I would buy the CPU with the highest cache/core ratio. If the 10, 12 core versions have the
same cache as the 16 core version (32 MB IIRC) you can save some money by getting fewer cores, as long as there are enough cores to
keep the memory/cache system fully loaded.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
MingMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 03:37:00 AM
 #106

Even at 400 hash you get a CPU that pays for itself within 6 months at current prices. Since you need a CPU to mine with your GPUs anyways why not get one that pays for itself, brings in a little profit after that and also has good resale value?

For those that have an 8 core Ryzen and have not been able to reach 600+ hashrate on XMR, you will need to enable large page files (requires Windows Pro). Once I did that I went from ~450-470 to 600-630 hashrate on my R7 1700X @ 4.0 ghz.  It's a nice boost in AEON too (the most profitable CPU coin right now).

Could you kindly point me the direction to mine with one rig using both cpu and gpu? I cannot find any useful information...TIA
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 378


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 05:37:40 AM
 #107

Even at 400 hash you get a CPU that pays for itself within 6 months at current prices. Since you need a CPU to mine with your GPUs anyways why not get one that pays for itself, brings in a little profit after that and also has good resale value?

For those that have an 8 core Ryzen and have not been able to reach 600+ hashrate on XMR, you will need to enable large page files (requires Windows Pro). Once I did that I went from ~450-470 to 600-630 hashrate on my R7 1700X @ 4.0 ghz.  It's a nice boost in AEON too (the most profitable CPU coin right now).

Could you kindly point me the direction to mine with one rig using both cpu and gpu? I cannot find any useful information...TIA

To both CPU mine and GPU mine you just need to run both a CPU miner program and a GPU miner program at the same time. Unless you have a fairly powerful CPU it may not be profitable to mine with it, but it's technically possible to do so with any semi modern CPU.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
jstefanop
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 765


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 06:22:22 AM
 #108

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.

Just tested aeon on the 1400...does about 700 h/s so not bad (8 threads). I cant enable large page size on the home version of windows 10 im running though.

EDIT: figured out paging...now doing about 800 h/s on 6 threads

www.AriseChickun.com 0% fee segwit signaling Litecoin Pool!
FutureBit Moonlander 2 USB Scrypt Stick Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2125643.0
LTC:LX5vpxrQE4eLRLPobKwZhw2comkKFCh3p4 - BTC:14w9Lea6kdVzspJk8TQRe7qSYu9LhzJJsh
dvijaydev46
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 10:11:08 AM
 #109

My FX 8230e does about 320h/s with six threads for Monero which is about 40% of what an RX480 can do on average. If you mine Monero with GPUs, you can also mine with the CPU as it's going to be sitting idle anyways.
wll1rah
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 08:47:13 PM
 #110

Does anyone know what SHA versions the Ryzen family supports?
This is just curiosity on my part I'm just interested in PacalCoin and PascalLite which is SHA-265
joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


View Profile
July 19, 2017, 10:51:30 PM
 #111

Does anyone know what SHA versions the Ryzen family supports?
This is just curiosity on my part I'm just interested in PacalCoin and PascalLite which is SHA-265

SHA256, needs openssl 1.1 and compiler support, ie gcc 5.

Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
kostepanych2
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 112


View Profile
September 20, 2017, 06:25:55 PM
 #112

Hi, what hashrate is on Ryzen R5 1600X?

Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 378


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 01:19:02 AM
 #113

Hi, what hashrate is on Ryzen R5 1600X?

You should be able to get ~450 hashrate on Monero with locked pages enabled (on Windows 10 Pro at least). We have several R5 1600s and they get 400-450 hashrate at stock settings. A 1600X is clocked a little higher I believe so it should get a few more hashes at it's stock settings.

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
saga-crypto
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 01:29:11 AM
 #114

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.

Just tested aeon on the 1400...does about 700 h/s so not bad (8 threads). I cant enable large page size on the home version of windows 10 im running though.

EDIT: figured out paging...now doing about 800 h/s on 6 threads

It is really awesome performance to run at 800h/s, I just checked with whattomine and you can get $1.45 per day on monero, not a bad profit. And yet, 1400 is not expensive though.
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 378


Hobby Miner - Twitter for Crypto Info - @elderiii


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 01:54:35 AM
 #115

Just ordered my 1500x, has anyone tried it already? Would be grateful for any information Smiley
I'd like to know if you get any benefit from running  more than 4 threads on that processor since it should have crosstalk between the CCX's.  The Ryzen 5  1400 would also be nice to look at for a mining rig cpu but it would only be able to run 4 threads because of it's L3 cache and in theory it doesn't have the CCX latency issue, which could help with less expensive RAM as well.

Just tested aeon on the 1400...does about 700 h/s so not bad (8 threads). I cant enable large page size on the home version of windows 10 im running though.

EDIT: figured out paging...now doing about 800 h/s on 6 threads

It is really awesome performance to run at 800h/s, I just checked with whattomine and you can get $1.45 per day on monero, not a bad profit. And yet, 1400 is not expensive though.

You're confusing AEON and Monero, which use 2 different algorithms. 800 H/s in AEON is not going to be the same on Monero. For example, we have several R5 1600 CPUs. At stock settings they do ~1400 in AEON (Cryptonight Lite algorithm) and ~430 on Monero (Cryptonight algorithm).

BitSend ◢◤Clients | Source
www.bitsend.info
█▄
█████▄
████████▄
███████████▄
██████████████
███████████▀
████████▀
█████▀
█▀












Segwit | Core 0.14 | Masternodes
XEVAN | DK3 | Electrum soon
Bitcore - BTX/BTC -Project












BSD -USDT | Bittrex | C.Gather | S.Exchange
Cryptopia | NovaExchange | Livecoin
Litebit.eu | Faucet | Bitsend Airdrop













████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████

████
 ████
  ████
   ████
    ████
     ████
      ████
       ████
        ████
       ████
      ████
     ████
    ████
   ████
  ████
 ████
████
MingMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 04:38:02 AM
 #116

Hi, what hashrate is on Ryzen R5 1600X?

I have one running at 3.9 G and get 480 h/s mining XMR.
funnynuffy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 05:56:29 AM
 #117

I have Ryzens in my rigs - built especially with monero in mind and my results are following (large pages enabled in Win 10):
Ryzen 5 1600X (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 540 - 550 Hash/s - consumes ca 44W from wall
Ryzen 7 1700 (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 630 Hash /s - consumes ca 44W from wall
I believe that I can get near 4 Ghz - but this setup is 24/7 rock solid and doesnt lead to unnecessary restarts of the system. Wattage was measured as a difference between idle system and CPU-only mining turned ON.
Ill build new rig with Ryzen 5 1600 this weekend - but I guess the results will be same as for 1600X - cause L3 cache and number of cores are identical.


ETH: 0xb5223aa72544a07b8b8f7131ebc97fc5ec114407
kostepanych2
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 112


View Profile
September 21, 2017, 12:39:34 PM
 #118

Will overclocked 1600 give the same hashrate as 1600x?

grchina
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224



View Profile
September 21, 2017, 01:13:15 PM
 #119

I have Ryzens in my rigs - built especially with monero in mind and my results are following (large pages enabled in Win 10):
Ryzen 5 1600X (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 540 - 550 Hash/s - consumes ca 44W from wall
Ryzen 7 1700 (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 630 Hash /s - consumes ca 44W from wall
I believe that I can get near 4 Ghz - but this setup is 24/7 rock solid and doesnt lead to unnecessary restarts of the system. Wattage was measured as a difference between idle system and CPU-only mining turned ON.
Ill build new rig with Ryzen 5 1600 this weekend - but I guess the results will be same as for 1600X - cause L3 cache and number of cores are identical.


Just did quick math on ryzen 1600 build,at current monero price roi is about 450 days with cpu mobo and ddr4 wich doesnt seems so bad considering that xmr is having 1/3 price pull back

Bones972
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2017, 06:53:04 PM
 #120

I have Ryzens in my rigs - built especially with monero in mind and my results are following (large pages enabled in Win 10):
Ryzen 5 1600X (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 540 - 550 Hash/s - consumes ca 44W from wall
Ryzen 7 1700 (3,8 Ghz at 1.23V) - stable 630 Hash /s - consumes ca 44W from wall
I believe that I can get near 4 Ghz - but this setup is 24/7 rock solid and doesnt lead to unnecessary restarts of the system. Wattage was measured as a difference between idle system and CPU-only mining turned ON.
Ill build new rig with Ryzen 5 1600 this weekend - but I guess the results will be same as for 1600X - cause L3 cache and number of cores are identical.



Thanks for the info I am pretty interested in seeing what the Ryzen 5 1600 does if you don't mind sharing!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!