Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 04:40:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD Ryzen hashrate?  (Read 57919 times)
Xeon_Xeon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 02:24:19 AM
 #21

thanks for sharing it but aren't the opteron cpu better in price/hasharate


Yea but they are power hungry.

But you can buy a new socket G34 4 cpu motherboard for under $80.00 of course you would have to deal with non standard format and non standard power connectivity and every time I thought of it I quickly talked myself out of it.

The more standard boards are more expensive to the point its not worth it.

It's worth doing if you could get a deal on a decommissioned server for cheap.

But you can purchase a dual node dual cpu open compute socket 2011 Wiwynn server new in the box for under $200.00

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Wiwynn-SV7210-Two-Node-Open-Compute-Server-Dual-LGA-2011-/391296440423

All you need to do is buy 4 cheap E5-2600 V1 cpu's and some cheap ddr 3 ram and a SSD and 240 volt power source, will run Linux and windows 7 just fine.

The only reason I have have not bought several is I moving away from socket 2011 and moving to socket 2011-3.


EDIT: Every time I look at those open compute servers I am SO tempted........I must not buy.........must not........will power must have will power.....LOL
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511152841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511152841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511152841
Reply with quote  #2

1511152841
Report to moderator
PovertyByte
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 05:56:14 AM
 #22

thanks for sharing it but aren't the opteron cpu better in price/hasharate
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Wiwynn-SV7210-Two-Node-Open-Compute-Server-Dual-LGA-2011-/391296440423

All you need to do is buy 4 cheap E5-2600 V1 cpu's and some cheap ddr 3 ram and a SSD and 240 volt power source, will run Linux and windows 7 just fine.

Interesting

I am curious about using this to mine XMR and switch to new alts for early dibs on the mining
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 07:00:20 AM
 #23

Given it hasn't even been released yet (later this week), how are we going to share hashrates?
Nikolaj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 11:30:23 AM
 #24

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others
dvijaydev46
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 03:36:10 PM
 #25

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others
My AMD FX8320E gives 320 H/S for Cryptonight with six threads while I'm able to mine other coins with my GPUs consuming 65W extra. While GPUs are much better, Ryzen may be able to close the gap. At least to an extent with Cryptonight.
PovertyByte
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 08:02:49 PM
 #26

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others

This is relevant to those who are making dedicate mining rigs

Some people may be building a new PC anyway and would like to put their CPU to work when not in use. Far as just trying to cram a mining CPU into a regular GPU mining rig we got awhile before we see any ideal AM4 based motherboards for mining rigs

XMR aside, there are rising new altcoins that are open game for CPU's. You may want to keep mentioning that CPU mining is inferior but for the rest of us who care to utilize the CPU please let us speculate and archive any hash rate reports we can find in here or whatever new thread when Ryzen is actually out. I'd really just like a clean thread of just Ryzen hashrates without this GPU vs. CPU debate cluttering the first page and beyond
Nikolaj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 08:39:13 PM
 #27

Hi Povertybyte

Sure, my intention wasn't to bash, just to report a conclusion that could help others in this sector, while considering to invest heavily, or not, in State-Of-The-Art CPUs.

With this goal surely the CPU, given it's name "Central Processing Unit", it's fundamental, but just for mining purposes unfortunately not.

I am pretty sure that the Ryzen architecture could bring benefits, but I see that the multi-threading implementation for these architectures needs a lot of phisical and logical cores, so it could be interesting surely for the server derivations with higher TDPs and raw power. From what I've seen RYZEN seems just a stop-gap measure in opposition to the Intel dominance, because of an i7 7700K has the edge on a lof of applications, due the single thread performance.

What could really move something could be the new Intel 7950x with 24 threads, potentially, not a 95W TDP RYZEN.

The main issue is the fact that when we'll have that, there will be VOLTA refresh and the successor of VEGA.
bittawm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120



View Profile
March 02, 2017, 09:16:13 PM
 #28

THEYRE HERE!

someone show us benchmarks

BTC:1B3GN2WRQ6LBk9PcuZxoXevhty8sTgVrxn  <-------ONLY DEPOSIT TO THIS ADDRESS
LIMITED INTERNET ACCESS UNTIL 21st NOVEMBER
felixbrucker
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2017, 10:20:22 PM
 #29

THEYRE HERE!

someone show us benchmarks

a friend of mine received his today but the mobo isnt there yet, if no one else chimes in till that is the case i can provide numbers for the 1700 stock and with max OC

toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 11:04:40 PM
 #30

THEYRE HERE!

someone show us benchmarks

a friend of mine received his today but the mobo isnt there yet, if no one else chimes in till that is the case i can provide numbers for the 1700 stock and with max OC


I'll be watching Smiley....I'm still gonna  hold off for the cheaper ones all most bought one of the low end ones released to day on New egg but still gonna wait after my FX 8 core buys a few years back on day one .. I'll let others test them this time ...

for anyone interested  the AMD RYZEN 7 1800X 8-Core 3.6 GHz (4.0 GHz Turbo) Socket AM4 95W YD180XBCAEWOF Desktop Processor sold out fast eta on restock 10 th of March, they still have the other two in stock..

you might find more on Amazon but they cost more then new egg I run a app on firefox that prices Amazon on new egg .
Xeon_Xeon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 03:41:18 AM
 #31

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others


It's not worthless, cpu mining is complementary. Wink


 



 
Siskaver
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 07:53:54 AM
 #32

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others
My AMD FX8320E gives 320 H/S for Cryptonight with six threads while I'm able to mine other coins with my GPUs consuming 65W extra. While GPUs are much better, Ryzen may be able to close the gap. At least to an extent with Cryptonight.

65W extra for 320H is very efficient. It is better than RX 480.
DuvajBalone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 11:02:58 AM
 #33

Little bird told me Ryzen R7 1800x  1390h/s mining XMR
zer0k
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 03:48:43 PM
 #34

From the awesome Servethehome forums
I'm guessing these numbers will improve as they get optimized miners from the devs.

CPU Results (wolf's) Using (MB L3 cache/ 2) for threads
4x Intel Xeon E7-8870 V3 = 2600H/s (NB drops to 2000 over time)
2x Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 = 1723H/s
1x Intel Xeon Phi 7210 = 602H/s (case to use nproc-1)
2x Intel Xeon E5-2698 V4 = 1572H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2698 V3 = 1463H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2690 V3 = 1100H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2667 V3 = 1090H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2658 V3 = 1050H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 = 1047H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650L V4 = 1031H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2683 V3 = 1014H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2680 V3 = 969H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 V3 = 969H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2628L V4 = 897H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650L V3 = 874H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 = 866H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 V1 = 829H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650 V1 = 750H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2620 V1 = 480H/s
1x Intel Xeon D-1587 = 388H/s
1x Intel Xeon E5-2630L V3 = 334H/s
1x AMD Ryzen 7 1700X = 273H/s
1x AMD Ryzen 7 1700 = 250H/s (209 using nproc)
1x Intel Xeon D-1541 = 242H/s
1x Intel Xeon E3-1515M V5 = 240H/s
1x Intel Xeon D-1540 = 218H/s
1x Intel Xeon E3-1220 V3 = 186H/s (case to use either nproc/2 or nproc-1)
1x Intel Xeon E3-1245 V5 = 161H/s
1x Special CPU = 153H/s (case to use nproc)
1x Intel Atom C3338 = 77H/s (case to use nproc)
1x Intel Pentium D1508 = 47H/s (case to use nproc-1)
1x Intel Atom C2358 = 18H/s (use nproc)
Longsnowsm
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 06:43:50 PM
 #35

Unfortunately the reviews are stating the TDP figures are pure fiction for Ryzen.  So I wouldn't use those TDP numbers to figure efficiency. 
Xeon_Xeon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 01:08:56 AM
 #36

From the awesome Servethehome forums
I'm guessing these numbers will improve as they get optimized miners from the devs.

CPU Results (wolf's) Using (MB L3 cache/ 2) for threads
4x Intel Xeon E7-8870 V3 = 2600H/s (NB drops to 2000 over time)
2x Intel Xeon E5-2699 V4 = 1723H/s
1x Intel Xeon Phi 7210 = 602H/s (case to use nproc-1)
2x Intel Xeon E5-2698 V4 = 1572H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2698 V3 = 1463H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2690 V3 = 1100H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2667 V3 = 1090H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2658 V3 = 1050H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650 V4 = 1047H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650L V4 = 1031H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2683 V3 = 1014H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2680 V3 = 969H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 V3 = 969H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2628L V4 = 897H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650L V3 = 874H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2630 V4 = 866H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2670 V1 = 829H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2650 V1 = 750H/s
2x Intel Xeon E5-2620 V1 = 480H/s
1x Intel Xeon D-1587 = 388H/s
1x Intel Xeon E5-2630L V3 = 334H/s
1x AMD Ryzen 7 1700X = 273H/s
1x AMD Ryzen 7 1700 = 250H/s (209 using nproc)
1x Intel Xeon D-1541 = 242H/s
1x Intel Xeon E3-1515M V5 = 240H/s
1x Intel Xeon D-1540 = 218H/s
1x Intel Xeon E3-1220 V3 = 186H/s (case to use either nproc/2 or nproc-1)
1x Intel Xeon E3-1245 V5 = 161H/s
1x Special CPU = 153H/s (case to use nproc)
1x Intel Atom C3338 = 77H/s (case to use nproc)
1x Intel Pentium D1508 = 47H/s (case to use nproc-1)
1x Intel Atom C2358 = 18H/s (use nproc)



Quoted from the Serve The Home forum:

"It's definitely not a perfect formula, but the cryptonight algorith requires 2MB of memory per thread to calculate hashes. Keeping it all in L3 cache or below definitely sped it up on the platforms I've tested.

For example:

Intel Xeon E3-1240 v1 went from 129 H/s to 231 H/s (going from 7 to 4 threads, respectively). L3 cache size is 8MB."

This is the most important thing with cpu mining cryptonight, with both my E5's combined I have 70 mb of L3 so 70/2 = 35 so I can run all 32 threads and get the best performance, with my older pair of E5 2670's with a total of 40mb of L3 for both it seemed to run best with ~18 threads and any more the hash rate would drop.

Also you compare my ES 2667 V3's to the retail ones in the above list my has rate is a about 50-60 H/s faster even tho mine only boost up to 3.0 Ghz and the retail version boost up to I think 3.6 Ghz. The thing to think about is that the retail 2667's have 20mb of L3 vs 35mb of L3 with my ES cpu's.
 
PovertyByte
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 01:42:26 AM
 #37




Quoted from the Serve The Home forum:

"It's definitely not a perfect formula, but the cryptonight algorith requires 2MB of memory per thread to calculate hashes. Keeping it all in L3 cache or below definitely sped it up on the platforms I've tested.

For example:

Intel Xeon E3-1240 v1 went from 129 H/s to 231 H/s (going from 7 to 4 threads, respectively). L3 cache size is 8MB."

This is the most important thing with cpu mining cryptonight, with both my E5's combined I have 70 mb of L3 so 70/2 = 35 so I can run all 32 threads and get the best performance, with my older pair of E5 2670's with a total of 40mb of L3 for both it seemed to run best with ~18 threads and any more the hash rate would drop.

Also you compare my ES 2667 V3's to the retail ones in the above list my has rate is a about 50-60 H/s faster even tho mine only boost up to 3.0 Ghz and the retail version boost up to I think 3.6 Ghz. The thing to think about is that the retail 2667's have 20mb of L3 vs 35mb of L3 with my ES cpu's.
 


That explains why my own CPU does not get more hashing past a certain point. I suppose the Ryzen CPU's are fairly efficient power wise for CPU mining but it would have been nice if they could simply produce double the hash rates they got right now.

I wonder now if disabling hyperthreading can be done to actually cram all its power into 8 threads. I could probably try that with my old i7
Xeon_Xeon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 02:23:08 AM
 #38




Quoted from the Serve The Home forum:

"It's definitely not a perfect formula, but the cryptonight algorith requires 2MB of memory per thread to calculate hashes. Keeping it all in L3 cache or below definitely sped it up on the platforms I've tested.

For example:

Intel Xeon E3-1240 v1 went from 129 H/s to 231 H/s (going from 7 to 4 threads, respectively). L3 cache size is 8MB."

This is the most important thing with cpu mining cryptonight, with both my E5's combined I have 70 mb of L3 so 70/2 = 35 so I can run all 32 threads and get the best performance, with my older pair of E5 2670's with a total of 40mb of L3 for both it seemed to run best with ~18 threads and any more the hash rate would drop.

Also you compare my ES 2667 V3's to the retail ones in the above list my has rate is a about 50-60 H/s faster even tho mine only boost up to 3.0 Ghz and the retail version boost up to I think 3.6 Ghz. The thing to think about is that the retail 2667's have 20mb of L3 vs 35mb of L3 with my ES cpu's.
 


That explains why my own CPU does not get more hashing past a certain point. I suppose the Ryzen CPU's are fairly efficient power wise for CPU mining but it would have been nice if they could simply produce double the hash rates they got right now.

I wonder now if disabling hyperthreading can be done to actually cram all its power into 8 threads. I could probably try that with my old i7

I thought about trying that with my older dual 2670 build, but that parts are back in their boxes because I wanted to put them up on ebay. 
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 04:15:36 AM
 #39

1x AMD R9 290 = 870 H/ TDP 300
1x AMD RX 480 = 700 H/ TDP 150
1x AMD R9 470 = 650 H/ TDP 130
1x AMD R9 280x = 600 H/ TDP 250
1x AMD R9 280 = 550 H/ TDP 250

CPU mining it's worthless, as always Wink

Better to scale up with GPUs (7/8 per system) than with CPUs (up to 2 in very costly, and power hungry, configs). If you max out CPUs you loose hashrate on the GPUs, that's why CPU mining it's ridicolous compared to GPU; if you're using a botnet then good for you, but we're not talking about legit operations, not hacking others

 Better example - NVidia 750 Ti - 250 H/s or a bit more if pushed for around 50 watts actual usage - which is the same ballpark as most CPUs are in any more, is easily a match for those Ryzen results at a bit LOWER power despite being generation-older tech and quite a bit less power usage than the high-end stuff usually used for CPU mining, as well as being quite a bit less $$$ than any of the CPUs listed in the post I didn't quote that can compete with it on hashrate.

joblo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 04:38:29 AM
 #40


That explains why my own CPU does not get more hashing past a certain point. I suppose the Ryzen CPU's are fairly efficient power wise for CPU mining but it would have been nice if they could simply produce double the hash rates they got right now.

I wonder now if disabling hyperthreading can be done to actually cram all its power into 8 threads. I could probably try that with my old i7

No it won't. The algo is cache bound, it has nothing to do with compute power. Once the cache overflows performance goes
down. Optimum thread count is cache size MB / 2 MB. No CPU can mine cryptonight efficiently with max threads, hyper or not.


Principal developer of cpuminer-opt, the optimized multi-algo CPU miner.
BTC donation address: 12tdvfF7KmAsihBXQXynT6E6th2c2pByTT
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1326803.0
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!