Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 06:04:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 16GB SSD with Windows 7 and want to upgrade  (Read 578 times)
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 05:40:41 PM
 #1

Greetings, It's been 10+ hrs I'm sitting in the farm and searching for options to somehow fit windows 10 on 16GB SSD.
I know that 16gb isn't enough and why I even bought it ? It wasn't me..
Here is the list of ssd-s I have currently on my farm:
22x16gb
25x32gb
25x120gb
and couple 64s and 40s
I was on vacation and planning to update from windows 7 to 10 and now my plan isn't working as I wanted it to.
The thing is that I can actually upgrade 32 and + SSDs to 10 but I can't do it with 16gb.
I was searching to all over the net for smaller versions of 10, I even downloaded and installed some, but it isn't working as I want it to.
Any ideas or suggestions about what system to use, atm there are 10s and 7s as well...
How can I manage to install and run correctly without any issues windows 10 on 16gb SSD?
I know that it will be better to go and buy some new ssd-s but..
1511330651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330651
Reply with quote  #2

1511330651
Report to moderator
1511330651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330651
Reply with quote  #2

1511330651
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511330651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330651
Reply with quote  #2

1511330651
Report to moderator
1511330651
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511330651

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511330651
Reply with quote  #2

1511330651
Report to moderator
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 06:20:40 PM
 #2

Even if you were able to fit windows 10 on a 16GB SSD, you would still need an additionnal storage for the pagefile that need to be at least 16GB for some algos (eth is one of them) or more (sibcoins) depend how big your rigs is (how many gpu's), also from my knowledge you can't install w10 on such a small device. There is the IOT version that is super small, but it's not aimed @ desktop usage, and would probably not be compatible with mining. a 64GB SSD is 40$, don't go and give yourself more headache just replace it  Wink

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 06:33:20 PM
 #3

Even if you were able to fit windows 10 on a 16GB SSD, you would still need an additionnal storage for the pagefile that need to be at least 16GB for some algos (eth is one of them) or more (sibcoins) depend how big your rigs is (how many gpu's), also from my knowledge you can't install w10 on such a small device. There is the IOT version that is super small, but it's not aimed @ desktop usage, and would probably not be compatible with mining. a 64GB SSD is 40$, don't go and give yourself more headache just replace it  Wink
I actually managed somehow to install on one rig (all rigs are 3GPU per rig) with 16gb SSD, max pagefile I could give was 4000MB and atm it is mining, but I'm pretty sure it will stop soon.. There are some strange win7 versions installed and I forgot the golden rule :/ if it works, leave. So I will start upgrading 32gb+ rigs with win 10, there's no other way I guess..
I was also trying to make smaller version of 10 with NTlite, but with no luck..
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

CryptoLearner


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 09:03:22 PM
 #4

Even if you were able to fit windows 10 on a 16GB SSD, you would still need an additionnal storage for the pagefile that need to be at least 16GB for some algos (eth is one of them) or more (sibcoins) depend how big your rigs is (how many gpu's), also from my knowledge you can't install w10 on such a small device. There is the IOT version that is super small, but it's not aimed @ desktop usage, and would probably not be compatible with mining. a 64GB SSD is 40$, don't go and give yourself more headache just replace it  Wink
I actually managed somehow to install on one rig (all rigs are 3GPU per rig) with 16gb SSD, max pagefile I could give was 4000MB and atm it is mining, but I'm pretty sure it will stop soon.. There are some strange win7 versions installed and I forgot the golden rule :/ if it works, leave. So I will start upgrading 32gb+ rigs with win 10, there's no other way I guess..
I was also trying to make smaller version of 10 with NTlite, but with no luck..

Yeah it's really too small Sad even with optimisation & all, that leave you really no breathing room, even less.

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 09:05:06 PM
 #5

Not to derail your question or anything, but where do you get all your copies of windows from?  I want to get my rigs all up to windows 10, but not really interested in paying for copies of each.


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 09:05:45 PM
 #6

Even if you were able to fit windows 10 on a 16GB SSD, you would still need an additionnal storage for the pagefile that need to be at least 16GB for some algos (eth is one of them) or more (sibcoins) depend how big your rigs is (how many gpu's), also from my knowledge you can't install w10 on such a small device. There is the IOT version that is super small, but it's not aimed @ desktop usage, and would probably not be compatible with mining. a 64GB SSD is 40$, don't go and give yourself more headache just replace it  Wink
I actually managed somehow to install on one rig (all rigs are 3GPU per rig) with 16gb SSD, max pagefile I could give was 4000MB and atm it is mining, but I'm pretty sure it will stop soon.. There are some strange win7 versions installed and I forgot the golden rule :/ if it works, leave. So I will start upgrading 32gb+ rigs with win 10, there's no other way I guess..
I was also trying to make smaller version of 10 with NTlite, but with no luck..

Yeah it's really too small Sad even with optimisation & all, that leave you really no breathing room, even less.
It left like 400mb or less, let's see what it will do tonight.

what about free linux distros like ubuntu or mint?
Does anyone have any experience mining with these distros in large farms? I need more stability
mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 09:08:06 PM
 #7

Not to derail your question or anything, but where do you get all your copies of windows from?  I want to get my rigs all up to windows 10, but not really interested in paying for copies of each.
It's Georgia, even local microsoft office allows small and even medium businesses to use kms and stuff, if they will force us to buy copies we simply will switch to linux. As far as I know even some ggovernemtal institutions are using havked kasperski and windows.
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


Crypto-Games.net: Multiple coins, multiple games


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 10:07:11 PM
 #8

Not to derail your question or anything, but where do you get all your copies of windows from?  I want to get my rigs all up to windows 10, but not really interested in paying for copies of each.
It's Georgia, even local microsoft office allows small and even medium businesses to use kms and stuff, if they will force us to buy copies we simply will switch to linux. As far as I know even some ggovernemtal institutions are using havked kasperski and windows.

Well I don't know what any of that means, what would it cost me to have you put like 5 copies on SSD's and mail them to me?


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄██████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████
▀██████████████████████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
   ███████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
██████████
███████
BTC  ◉PLAY  ◉XMR  ◉DOGE  ◉STRAT  ◉ETH  ◉GRC  ◉LTC  ◉DASH  ◉PPC
     ▄▄██████████████▄▄
  ▄██████████████████████▄        █████
▄██████████████████████████▄      █████
████ ▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄ ████     ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ▄██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██▀
████ █████ ██████ █████ ████    ██
████ ▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀▀ ▀▀▀▀▀ ████ ▄██████▄
████████████████████████████ ████████
███████▀            ▀███████ ▀██████▀
█████▀                ▀█████
▀██████████████████████████▀
  ▀▀████████████████████▀▀ 
DICE           
BLACKJACK
PLINKO       
VIDEO POKER
ROULETTE     
LOTTO             
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 01:15:24 AM
 #9

Not to derail your question or anything, but where do you get all your copies of windows from?  I want to get my rigs all up to windows 10, but not really interested in paying for copies of each.

Have a legitimate copy of 7x32/x64 and activated.

Update windows 7 machines to the point SP1 installs and you get a popup on next boot informing you about windows 10 etc.  Kind of a blue screen.

Then get the downloadable win10 ISO, I burned mine to a USB with both versions x64/x32, then insert usb in thge machine you want to upgrade, and run the autorun from within windows (you can't do a clean install or a boot from the USB to use your existing 7 license mind you)

Follow process to install windows 10, but choose upgrade.

When asked for a serial/license key, just click next/skip.

It will install.

It will then auto-activate itself based on the original license.

I still use this method today.

mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 07:46:28 AM
 #10

Not to derail your question or anything, but where do you get all your copies of windows from?  I want to get my rigs all up to windows 10, but not really interested in paying for copies of each.
It's Georgia, even local microsoft office allows small and even medium businesses to use kms and stuff, if they will force us to buy copies we simply will switch to linux. As far as I know even some ggovernemtal institutions are using havked kasperski and windows.

Well I don't know what any of that means, what would it cost me to have you put like 5 copies on SSD's and mail them to me?
Why do you want to spend money on postage and stuff ? You can activate it yourself with a key and KMS. I can send it to you if you want.
and the option @JaredKaragen advised is legit working option.
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10
this is the official link for downloading ISO
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 08:28:59 AM
 #11

ell I don't know what any of that means, what would it cost me to have you put like 5 copies on SSD's and mail them to me?

They would have broken activation and be unactivated when installed into another machine.

I proved this would happen to myself by switching HDD's between two PC's that were similar and both had activated copies of 10.  Swapping the HDD's, broke 10 on both machines.

mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 08:33:48 AM
 #12

ell I don't know what any of that means, what would it cost me to have you put like 5 copies on SSD's and mail them to me?

They would have broken activation and be unactivated when installed into another machine.

I proved this would happen to myself by switching HDD's between two PC's that were similar and both had activated copies of 10.  Swapping the HDD's, broke 10 on both machines.
For me it is simple, installing win10 pro, entering key and after installation using KMS activator, after that it works without any problems. I don't know how the software policies and regulations work in your county so I can't actually advise you anything. Also the SSD sending idea is just a waste of money, if you decide to take a risk you can do it yourself.
JaredKaragen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770

★YoBit.Net★ 350+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 10:06:47 PM
 #13

For me it is simple, installing win10 pro, entering key and after installation using KMS activator, after that it works without any problems. I don't know how the software policies and regulations work in your county so I can't actually advise you anything. Also the SSD sending idea is just a waste of money, if you decide to take a risk you can do it yourself.

Problem for most is;  using a KMS activator is illegal;  because they never purchased the license for the group they are activating to.... and 90% of those people don't even have a key for 10 to use to begin with.

In layman's terms: for the greatest portion of the population;  using a KMS activator would be illegal. ( Foremost being not owning rights to the keys they are using, and secondly not following the EUA for said license;  Take the Pandaminer as a prime example)

Agreed the SSD sending is a waste of $$$ also because it won't be activated on the new machine. (even though it was activated on the machine that installed it).

mettalmag
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


≡v≡


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 10:15:05 PM
 #14

For me it is simple, installing win10 pro, entering key and after installation using KMS activator, after that it works without any problems. I don't know how the software policies and regulations work in your county so I can't actually advise you anything. Also the SSD sending idea is just a waste of money, if you decide to take a risk you can do it yourself.

Problem for most is;  using a KMS activator is illegal;  because they never purchased the license for the group they are activating to.... and 90% of those people don't even have a key for 10 to use to begin with.

In layman's terms: for the greatest portion of the population;  using a KMS activator would be illegal. ( Foremost being not owning rights to the keys they are using, and secondly not following the EUA for said license;  Take the Pandaminer as a prime example)

Agreed the SSD sending is a waste of $$$ also because it won't be activated on the new machine. (even though it was activated on the machine that installed it).
Why not linux?
We are using these "benefits" until we can, until some regulations will affect it. After that I'm pretty sure we will be the nation with 98% of linux users
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!