Bitcoin Forum
August 14, 2018, 02:06:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Problems with Bitcoin.conf since 0.95.1  (Read 449 times)
Umba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 08:20:26 PM
 #1

Hello,

I upgraded to the new armory version a few days Ago. BTC-Core and the BTC-Core-Blockchain are installed on a different Location. As in the version before I choose the option to run the core client manually, but when I do and restart Armory, it does not start. I get the following error in the log:

Quote
(ERROR) Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 6909, in <module>
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 685, in __init__
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 6670, in startBlockchainProcessingInitialization
  File "ArmoryQt.py", line 2228, in startBitcoindIfNecessary
  File "SDM.pyc", line 232, in setupManualSDM
  File "SDM.pyc", line 409, in readBitcoinConf
  File "armoryengine\ArmoryUtils.pyc", line 719, in subprocess_check_output
CalledProcessError: Command '[u'icacls', u'D:\\Tools\\BTC Core\\Bitcoin\\bitcoin.conf', u'/inheritance:r', u'/grant:r', u'Patrick:F']' returned non-zero exit status 5

When I try to open or delete the bitcoin.conf file, I get the errormessage that i cannot access the file (btc-core client is shut down of course)

What can i do?
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534255578
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534255578

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534255578
Reply with quote  #2

1534255578
Report to moderator
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1526


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2017, 08:21:38 PM
 #2

The issue here is with file permissions. Right click the bitcoin.conf file and change the security settings to allow everyone to read and write from it. You may need to be an administrator to do that.

Umba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 03:56:51 PM
 #3

Thank you! That was the solution for my problem. Everything is fine now
Umba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 06:05:35 PM
 #4

Unluckily Armory does still not start when I try to run armoryQT.exe with btc-core allready running. when trying to solve the problem by startingarmoryDB.exe first as mentioned here, I alwa sgeht this message:

Code:
S:\Armory>armorydb.exe
C:\Users\Patrick\AppData\Roaming/Armory/databases is not a valid path
logging in C:\Users\Patrick\AppData\Roaming/Armory/dbLog.txt
-INFO  - 1488477188: (..\main.cpp:23) Running on 4 threads
-INFO  - 1488477188: (..\main.cpp:24) Ram usage level: 4
-INFO  - 1488477188: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1338) blkfile dir: C:\Users\Umba\AppData\Roaming/Bitcoin/blocks
-INFO  - 1488477188: (..\BlockUtils.cpp:1339) lmdb dir: C:\Users\Umba\AppData\Roaming/Armory/databases
-INFO  - 1488477188: (..\lmdb_wrapper.cpp:388) Opening databases...
-ERROR - 1488477188: (..\BDM_Server.cpp:953) There is already a process listening on 127.0.0.1:9001
-ERROR - 1488477188: (..\BDM_Server.cpp:955) ArmoryDB cannot start under these conditions. Shutting down!
-ERROR - 1488477188: (..\BDM_Server.cpp:956) Make sure to shutdown the conflicting processbefore trying again (most likely another ArmoryDB instance).

S:\Armory>

Of course there is no other armoryDB instance running. How can I fix this problem?
achow101
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1526


3F1Y9yquzvY6RWvKbw2n2zeo9V5mvBhADU


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2017, 06:06:37 PM
 #5

Open task manager and kill any process named ArmoryDB.

Umba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 01:30:28 PM
 #6

There is definetly no other task namend armoryDB running. I also killed all other non necessary tasks, but it does not work. It there any other possible source for this problem? Unluckily I have just one computer
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1096

Armory Developer


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 02:19:49 PM
 #7

You have something listening on port 9001 on localhost, that's stopping the db from setting up.

Umba
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2017, 01:35:38 PM
 #8

Thank you! Problem #2 is solved now too, and everything works fine.

The Problem was, that Ultima Media Server used port 9001 too and permanently blocked it!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!