Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2018, 05:51:51 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Frankenstein SP20 / TerraMiner IV Project - Need PSU Advice  (Read 618 times)
TheBanksLife
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 02, 2017, 11:31:54 PM
 #1

Alright so I know hash wise it's not even really worth while to get this thing going, but that is besides the point. I'm just doing a small project for shits n giggles. I also don't pay for electricity, so why not.

I do need some help figuring out how to power this bugger. I know I'll need a PSU adapter of some sort, if it exists.

I picked up a TerraMiner IV for next to nothing that had 1 burnt board.



Then I got ambitious and bought a SP20 off eBay for $99 CAD. With no power supply.

So basically my plan was to rip the burnt board out of the TerraMiner and use the extra 1100W powersupply to power the SP20 that I bought. However I obviously run into the issue that the SP20 uses 4x PCI-E plugs.




Project Pictures;





1542563511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542563511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542563511
Reply with quote  #2

1542563511
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542563511
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542563511

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542563511
Reply with quote  #2

1542563511
Report to moderator
leowonderful
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1030



View Profile
March 03, 2017, 12:14:44 AM
 #2

Damn, nice project and good luck with it! Haven't seen the Terraminers in a long time; they're known to be absolute crap in terms of durability so keep an eye on that Smiley

I can't even get my SP20Es to post anymore on my network... shows up but when I connect to it it drops my connection even after flashing it with my microsd. Good luck again, never seen anything like this so far Smiley

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 12:53:10 AM
 #3

Check to see if the cables coming out of the PSU are on lugs. If so, it's easy to make PCIe cables with ring terminals for attaching to the PSU. Pretty sure I've done that for at least one person on here in the past.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cybermods
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10

Jack of all trades, master of none.


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2017, 03:32:44 AM
 #4

it should work fine using the cointerras second psu.
I have 4 cointerra boxes and have spent some time playing with there psus. iv adapted a few of them to run dragon miners by adding pcie cables to the connecting board that the psu plugs into.

And if you really are into it for shits and giggles take your fried hash board and connect it to a car battery directly for a few seconds. can almost guarentee it will fry whats left of the bad section of the hash board and come back to life and no longer trigger the yellow cut out led on that psu Wink .

Keep calm and carry on mining.
qctechno
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 12:08:56 PM
 #5

And if you really are into it for shits and giggles take your fried hash board and connect it to a car battery directly for a few seconds. can almost guarentee it will fry whats left of the bad section of the hash board and come back to life and no longer trigger the yellow cut out led on that psu Wink .

I like it Grin


TheBanksLife
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2017, 09:16:17 PM
 #6

Check to see if the cables coming out of the PSU are on lugs. If so, it's easy to make PCIe cables with ring terminals for attaching to the PSU. Pretty sure I've done that for at least one person on here in the past.

These the lugs you're referring to?

sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1258

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 09:25:25 PM
 #7

Yes. I forget exactly who for but I made a guy cables specifically for that interface board sometime last year. PCIe 6-pin to I think a 3/8 crimped ring terminal. Still got a sack of 'em if you're interested. Get me a length and I can make up some cables and have 'em in the mail on Monday, or if you have the tools and materials it's not hard to do yourself.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
TheBanksLife
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 03, 2017, 11:20:55 PM
 #8

Yes. I forget exactly who for but I made a guy cables specifically for that interface board sometime last year. PCIe 6-pin to I think a 3/8 crimped ring terminal. Still got a sack of 'em if you're interested. Get me a length and I can make up some cables and have 'em in the mail on Monday, or if you have the tools and materials it's not hard to do yourself.

Sent you a PM. I don't have the tools nor materials for the job.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!