Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:54:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5850 Linux Overclock more than 775Mhz without modified BIOS  (Read 1771 times)
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 01:51:02 AM
 #1

So is it possible to overclock a 5850 in linux more than 775Mhz without modifying the BIOS?

btw why can it be done in windows and not in linux?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
1481262847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481262847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481262847
Reply with quote  #2

1481262847
Report to moderator
1481262847
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481262847

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481262847
Reply with quote  #2

1481262847
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nomnomnom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 03:55:41 AM
 #2

So is it possible to overclock a 5850 in linux more than 775Mhz without modifying the BIOS?

btw why can it be done in windows and not in linux?

Hi, with AMDOverDriveCtrl you can go up to 900, beyond that I think you need to edit Bios.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

AFAIK windows has a tool, trix or something, where you can overvolt and stuff, thats something
missing for linux.
Meman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:26:49 AM
 #3

Sapphire Trixx works fine for windows. You can change VDDC, memory clock, gpu clock and fan speed. Some people use MSI Afterburner instead, but it's a little tricky to make the options available.
fascistmuffin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 05:31:32 AM
 #4

So is it possible to overclock a 5850 in linux more than 775Mhz without modifying the BIOS?

btw why can it be done in windows and not in linux?

Hi, with AMDOverDriveCtrl you can go up to 900, beyond that I think you need to edit Bios.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

AFAIK windows has a tool, trix or something, where you can overvolt and stuff, thats something
missing for linux.


My XFX 5850 doesn't run that stable at anything higher than 850ish. I think I've read that 5850's stop being stable in the 850-925 range at default voltage, so 900 should be fine for this case.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 06:21:06 AM
 #5

So is it possible to overclock a 5850 in linux more than 775Mhz without modifying the BIOS?

btw why can it be done in windows and not in linux?

Hi, with AMDOverDriveCtrl you can go up to 900, beyond that I think you need to edit Bios.
http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/

AFAIK windows has a tool, trix or something, where you can overvolt and stuff, thats something
missing for linux.

It depends on the card manufacturer. I had a Asus 5870 that allowed me to go to 1200Mhz core speed without wihout flahsing (in reality I could not go over 1010 without the card becoming unstable). And then I had a XFX 5870 that only allowed me to go to 900Mhz core speed, and had to flash it.
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 12:07:39 PM
 #6

humm i did launch http://sourceforge.net/projects/amdovdrvctrl/ but could go past the 775 mark is there any special configuration i need to set to be able to hit 900?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 02:37:24 PM
 #7

I don't think those who can clock higher than 775 with AMDOverdriveCtrl have stock firmware. At least I haven't been been able to do it on any of my 4 5850 from 3 different brands. It can underclock more than aticonfig, though.
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 04:55:41 PM
 #8

I don't think those who can clock higher than 775 with AMDOverdriveCtrl have stock firmware. At least I haven't been been able to do it on any of my 4 5850 from 3 different brands. It can underclock more than aticonfig, though.

My reference ASUS card goes all the way up till 1200 :3 memory down to 900 only tough but that was fixed with AMDOverdriveCtrl...

as for volting in linux: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10228.0 Smiley

Code:
zagitta@Server:~$ aticonfig --odgc

Default Adapter - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                            Core (MHz)    Memory (MHz)
           Current Clocks :    1000           300
             Current Peak :    1000           300
  Configurable Peak Range : [550-1200]     [300-1400]
                 GPU load :    99%

zagitta@Server:~$ aticonfig --odgt

Default Adapter - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
                  Sensor 0: Temperature - 60.50 C


Smiley


nomnomnom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:35:51 PM
 #9

Interesting, I assumed that the cards are all more or less the same if they are 5850, maybe not Smiley


Nice link, thx!
Zenitur
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 368


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 05:33:35 AM
 #10

Code:
$ aticonfig --od-enable
$ aticonfig --list-adapters
* 0. 02:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
  1. 01:05.0 ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics

* - Default adapter
$ aticonfig --odsc=1000,250 --adapter=0

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            New Core Peak   : 1000
            New Memory Peak : 250
$ kanotix@Kanotix:~$ aticonfig --adapter=0 --od-gettemperature

Adapter 0 - ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 71.00 C
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!