Bitcoin Forum
December 15, 2017, 09:02:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Beginner's guide to mine LTC on nvidia (Windows)  (Read 2763 times)
adomaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 02:43:17 PM
 #1

Maybe this will help someone. This is a step-by-step guide (intended for real beginners and command line haters) to mine Litecoin on nvidia, with Windows.

I mine using cudaminer on coinotron.com, and all my sample lines will be for this combination.

-----
1. Get all the executables, extract them wherever you like:
Cudaminer thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=167229.0

getwork>Stratum proxy: https://github.com/CryptoManiac/stratum-mining-proxy
This is required for pools that are Stratum-only, like coinotron.com. Beware that there is a very similar executable for bitcoin which does not work, since litecoin need scrypt support.. or something like that Smiley

-----
2. Register on coinotron.com, create a worker in their system, set it to LTC and RBPPS (Round based pay per share). Note the workers name and its password (Which I will call workname and workpass below)

-----
3. Create .bat file to launch proxy.

Proxy: Open notepad, type mining_proxy -pa scrypt -o coinotron.com -p 3334, save file as proxy.bat in the same place where mining_proxy.exe is.

Launch proxy.bat and leave it running, allow it through the firewall if it asks.

-----
4. Autotune cuda miner to your videocard:

Create a .bat file with notepad with this:

cudaminer --device 0 -t 1 -o localhost:8332 -O workname:workpass


Save as autotune.bat
Free your computer of all GPU usage (media players, games, etc.) You can even reboot to be on the safe side. If you plan to overclock - now is the time, as autotune may find different numbers for that.
Launch autotune.bat and let it do its magic.
After a minute or a few you will see a line xxxx khash/s with configuration ***x*. This is the number you are interested in. Remember it.

-----
5. Create a .bat file with notepad to start your worker with this line:

cudaminer --no-autotune -l ***x* --device 0 -t 1 -o localhost:8332 -O workname:workpass Replace ***x* with the number you got from autotune.

Save as whatever you like, this will be your miner starter file.

-----
Notes: If you have multiple video cards, you select which one to use with the --device 0 command (change the number to whichever card you want to use). You should autotune each one separately.
I use separate miners because I keep one 24/7, and use the other (on my main card) only when it does not interfere with my graphics.

If you have SLI - disable it. Two separate cards do more work than SLI config.. I don't think that miners are even capable of using SLI's capabilites..

Save .bat files in the same folder as the executable it launches.

Launch cudaminer with -h command to see what else you can do there.

If you are getting errors in the miner that say something about JSON and 15 second retry, most likely proxy is not working properly or you have messed up worker name and password.

If you overclock and nvidia driver crashes during mining, most likely OC settings have been reset and need to be reapplied (at least this is true with MSI afterburner).

If you find this useful, feel free to put a donation to the wallets in my signature Smiley

If you see a way to improve this guide - tell me Smiley

I will watch this thread and try to answer your questions.








Find my post useful? Feeling generous? Coffee for me, karma for you Smiley
BTC: 1CsSxjbRWgkSKDWn45riqNGPff7ttxzu3K     LTC: LRFv8AELrE8bXeT7rRG5Xb2Z8ktkKa5RgX
TRC: 1P9nrCcspn2bnXa4wGdGgj9zPdtGjpxVqB    PPC: PGmNYRRhT9TBR5CDtAZ6hWBAB2t6jCeDNY
1513328563
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513328563

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513328563
Reply with quote  #2

1513328563
Report to moderator
1513328563
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513328563

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513328563
Reply with quote  #2

1513328563
Report to moderator
1513328563
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513328563

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513328563
Reply with quote  #2

1513328563
Report to moderator
"With e-currency based on cryptographic proof, without the need to trust a third party middleman, money can be secure and transactions effortless." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
robi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile WWW
April 21, 2013, 03:30:55 PM
 #2

what is your card and what speed are you getting? people like to know what to expect despite the auto tune.



Make a kitten smile: BTC=1DXUW4SjAzXNd7x6mhK5S4Nmu3JrcAGCfd LTC=LMUHKyNaZcNZaHdyA6c195o5AY6f638W5D NVC=4Yi1gh2Cqf7J2CASsc3EREkrM1dHDLUHKH PPC=PVet4AgSwYP5vT311CCtCp9tZbxiK2Xw6S BTE=8YSxHgkymSLTR8VeYiPEMu6dCxCXiyq5MY XRP=rEeb93VsmaQAzi7iCHhpiUEvJSuLprcZSm
BioTurboNick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 04:14:09 PM
 #3

Works great! I'm getting 8-10 kH/s on my laptop's 540M.
mdszy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 04:28:43 PM
 #4

I have a nvidia card and may have to try this.  I can't mine BTC very well because it's so slow.  But maybe can give it a shot.
angelafairie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 04:45:47 PM
 #5

I tried the LTC guiminer and had some errors. Probably because of drivers issues? It would not let me proceed.
adomaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 07:05:05 PM
 #6

I have 2x 660Ti (MSI, stock OC + 75Mhz core via MSI afterburner), one gives me 157kHash/s, other - 164kHash/s with cudaminer 2013.04.17. I can get ap to 170 on both, but then any aero effect or other GPU use crashes the driver.

Before I used cudaminer 2013.04.09 and got around 135kH from each.. The last update gave it a bit of life out of nowhere and also I can actually watch movies on GPU (DXVA) and play Mass Effect 1 on medium graphics settings without losing mining performance. Quite amazing.

With GUIminer scrypt i was able to get somewhere 90-110 at higher intensity and the desktop became useless. Mouse moved at 2 fps. With cgminer I was able to squeze ~120kH, desktop also useless and it tended to crash the driver if windows aero did some effects or I started a movie on DXVA.

My CPU is i7-3770k which has about 40% load on 5/8 cores.


Find my post useful? Feeling generous? Coffee for me, karma for you Smiley
BTC: 1CsSxjbRWgkSKDWn45riqNGPff7ttxzu3K     LTC: LRFv8AELrE8bXeT7rRG5Xb2Z8ktkKa5RgX
TRC: 1P9nrCcspn2bnXa4wGdGgj9zPdtGjpxVqB    PPC: PGmNYRRhT9TBR5CDtAZ6hWBAB2t6jCeDNY
adomaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 07:11:23 PM
 #7

I have a nvidia card and may have to try this.  I can't mine BTC very well because it's so slow.  But maybe can give it a shot.

For my knowledge cudaminer is your best shot. What kind of card do you have? Personally I don't look at my electrical bill.. I laughed at BTC when it was worth a few dollars and mining was already not effective on GPU - never again.

I mine LTC for selling when it reaches "the moon" Smiley or something I feel OK enough to sell. After mtgox includes it and it gets some media attention I easily see it bubbling to $10-$20, maybe more. Then again, I also bought a buttload of LTC's...

Find my post useful? Feeling generous? Coffee for me, karma for you Smiley
BTC: 1CsSxjbRWgkSKDWn45riqNGPff7ttxzu3K     LTC: LRFv8AELrE8bXeT7rRG5Xb2Z8ktkKa5RgX
TRC: 1P9nrCcspn2bnXa4wGdGgj9zPdtGjpxVqB    PPC: PGmNYRRhT9TBR5CDtAZ6hWBAB2t6jCeDNY
SamuraiHP
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


Get Bitcoins instantly using internet banking


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2013, 08:05:34 PM
 #8

is your computer usable while mining?

Or is there a way you can set the miner to not thrash the system for 100% of resources?

The fastest and easiest way for Australians to buy Bitcoins.
Available 24/7. Pay via internet banking transfer.
BuyBitcoinAustralia.com (http://www.BuyBitcoinAustralia.com)  -  Instant bitcoins. Anytime.
adomaz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
April 21, 2013, 08:43:20 PM
 #9

is your computer usable while mining?

Or is there a way you can set the miner to not thrash the system for 100% of resources?

On other miners there is intensity, which you can reduce, on cudaminer - I have no idea, current 2013.04.17 cudaminer version does not lag my computer to be noticable even at 160kH.. I assume you could try various launch configurations on cudaminer and see which one does less mining and let's you use your machine.

I would start by launching with autotune turned on and all its work shown with the command -D, that will show you a table of all combinations available for your card. I have not tried in practice if this is a good way to reduce workload.

This:
cudaminer -D --device 0 -t 1 -o localhost:8332 -O workname:workpass

Find my post useful? Feeling generous? Coffee for me, karma for you Smiley
BTC: 1CsSxjbRWgkSKDWn45riqNGPff7ttxzu3K     LTC: LRFv8AELrE8bXeT7rRG5Xb2Z8ktkKa5RgX
TRC: 1P9nrCcspn2bnXa4wGdGgj9zPdtGjpxVqB    PPC: PGmNYRRhT9TBR5CDtAZ6hWBAB2t6jCeDNY
Morcor
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 23, 2013, 06:50:31 PM
 #10

dope guide my man and program was getting 54.4 khash/s using another miner and now im getting 93.4 khash/s with GTX 650 TI Boost thank you!~

was 84.3 but new drivers boosted it +10 it just came out today update update!
namecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:43:40 PM
 #11

Thanks for the guide.  That is great.   Smiley

Cudaminer currently does not work with stratum.  
If someone don't want to setup Stratum proxy, one can use p2pool.org's mining pool.  

Hope that helps.  It helped me since I am a newbie.  If someone has a better suggestion of mining pool, please post as well. 
escrow.ms
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106

GPG Key-ID: B82BA7E1 | I don't use skype.


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 06:45:43 PM
 #12

Thanks for guide man Smiley

Please click here to know why I have negative feedback. https://21.co/escrow/
Tip address: 1nPfxnncZqWvVP4UHT6XLfNzfaik7akQS
JSMill
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 07:13:31 PM
 #13

Thanks for the bump guys.  Great guide!
murmur
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
May 30, 2013, 09:11:20 PM
 #14

pretty helpful thx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!