Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2022, 10:34:07 AM *
News: Bitcointalk Community Awards
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: what does the official client use by default for mining (cpu or gpu) ?  (Read 925 times)
Alaukik (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:26:47 AM
 #1

can someone clarify this for me ?
1670409247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670409247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670409247
Reply with quote  #2

1670409247
Report to moderator
1670409247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670409247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670409247
Reply with quote  #2

1670409247
Report to moderator
In order to achieve higher forum ranks, you need both activity points and merit points.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1670409247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1670409247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1670409247
Reply with quote  #2

1670409247
Report to moderator
almbfsek
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:28:14 AM
 #2

AFAIK there are no more mining features on the official client.
Ricochet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:31:49 AM
 #3

AFAIK there are no more mining features on the official client.
Correct.  The client originally did CPU mining, which has become so worthless that it's misleading to include it in the client.  It discourages people from using Bitcoin entirely.
Sitarow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1047



View Profile
June 17, 2011, 07:48:35 AM
 #4

To bad it would be easy for others to start up. Yet projects like GUIMiner work great.
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 12:16:08 PM
 #5

To bad it would be easy for others to start up. Yet projects like GUIMiner work great.

Start up, yes.  Actually earn anything?  No.  The default client used CPU, couldn't be pointed at a pool, so you were basically trying to find a shard of glass in the ocean.  Was it possible you'd find a block and earn 50BTC?  Sure.  Was it probable?  No.

That's why they took it out of the latest builds of the client.  There's really no point.  You'd have better odds laying down $1 on the State Lottery.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Skeenz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0



View Profile WWW
June 17, 2011, 05:01:22 PM
 #6

Also, new users will get frustrated when no coins arrive in their wallet after X days of mining (through the client).
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!