Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 06:31:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 [649] 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2035568 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
July 04, 2015, 01:07:18 PM
 #12961

Well, compared to certain other pools, our change over went very smoothly I think......

Just waiting for a glut of complaints from those who didn't upgrade yet....... Tongue

Bitmain got caught with their pants down on Antpool it seems.  They neglected to upgrade.  Maybe now their users will realize Antpool isn't close to what Bitmain advertises it to be?

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
1481437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437896
Reply with quote  #2

1481437896
Report to moderator
1481437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437896
Reply with quote  #2

1481437896
Report to moderator
1481437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437896
Reply with quote  #2

1481437896
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437896
Reply with quote  #2

1481437896
Report to moderator
1481437896
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481437896

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481437896
Reply with quote  #2

1481437896
Report to moderator
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 01:11:45 PM
 #12962

Well, compared to certain other pools, our change over went very smoothly I think......

Just waiting for a glut of complaints from those who didn't upgrade yet....... Tongue

Bitmain got caught with their pants down on Antpool it seems.  They neglected to upgrade.  Maybe now their users will realize Antpool isn't close to what Bitmain advertises it to be?

M

Yeah, I saw that too - but I'm not at all surprised either, if their history is anything to go by. I'm sure it won't be the last time either...... Wink
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
July 04, 2015, 03:44:06 PM
 #12963

I just saw a V2 block rejected in my home bitcoind log ... so it would seem the V3 switch over has happened.
I posted this comment coz I thought it was clearly of interest to p2pool and the late change over, to know when V3 happened.

Antpool explanation:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1088425.msg11789555#msg11789555

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 07:49:36 PM
 #12964

Well, compared to certain other pools, our change over went very smoothly I think......

Just waiting for a glut of complaints from those who didn't upgrade yet....... Tongue

Bitmain got caught with their pants down on Antpool it seems.  They neglected to upgrade.  Maybe now their users will realize Antpool isn't close to what Bitmain advertises it to be?

M

What are the repercussions for them failing to upgrade properly?
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 07:52:02 PM
 #12965

Well, compared to certain other pools, our change over went very smoothly I think......

Just waiting for a glut of complaints from those who didn't upgrade yet....... Tongue

Bitmain got caught with their pants down on Antpool it seems.  They neglected to upgrade.  Maybe now their users will realize Antpool isn't close to what Bitmain advertises it to be?

M

What are the repercussions for them failing to upgrade properly?
It actually had nothing to do with failure to upgrade or not.
They (as well as F2Pool) were/are not checking that blocks are valid before they mine on top of them.
The repercussions are that they will extend invalid blockchains, deceiving SPV nodes with false confirmations and losing the mined bitcoins.

luthermarcus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 206



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 08:19:53 PM
 #12966

 It actually had nothing to do with failure to upgrade or not.
They (as well as F2Pool) were/are not checking that blocks are valid before they mine on top of them.
The repercussions are that they will extend invalid blockchains, deceiving SPV nodes with false confirmations and losing the mined bitcoins.


I figured they would eventually lose those bitcoin"s I was wondering if there users are going to be the end or will the problem go further than that? As far as extending invalid block chains will that do anything more that use up space?

p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 10:24:27 PM
 #12967

When you refer to "Assemble a new BTC block with the MM information in the coinbase and push it out." - how does one do that with p2pool? Or is it even possible?

Can't help on this one unfortunately, I've never used p2pool so I don't have any idea how it assembles work, same with merged mining via p2pool.  Different drives for the coins is definitely one good way to split the load when new blocks hit though.

Does anyone know if it's possible to do what eleuthria suggests above with p2pool?

 Smiley
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
July 04, 2015, 10:27:01 PM
 #12968

When you refer to "Assemble a new BTC block with the MM information in the coinbase and push it out." - how does one do that with p2pool? Or is it even possible?

Can't help on this one unfortunately, I've never used p2pool so I don't have any idea how it assembles work, same with merged mining via p2pool.  Different drives for the coins is definitely one good way to split the load when new blocks hit though.

Does anyone know if it's possible to do what eleuthria suggests above with p2pool?

 Smiley
Uh, sure. Just get N hard drives, and put each altcoin on a dedicated one...

windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2015, 05:57:37 PM
 #12969

We are upgrading the server, will be down for a little bit...

Need more HD space Wink

Edit: back up and running...

yslyung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064


Mine Mine Mine


View Profile
July 05, 2015, 06:56:21 PM
 #12970

We are upgrading the server, will be down for a little bit...

Need more HD space Wink

Edit: back up and running...

noticed that. thx for the fast update Wink
Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
July 05, 2015, 10:33:14 PM
 #12971

Does anybody know what is going on with P2P today with the high latency? It is causing my bitcoind to drop connectivity and my SP's to drop as well (the S5 seems to drop as well looking at my node). It has been up/down for the last six hours. I looked at other pools and some seem to have the same problem as well. I am running the current 13.4-83-gb07b1e3 P2P version and 0.10.1 core.
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2015, 10:36:36 PM
 #12972

I am running the current 13.4-83-gb07b1e3 P2P version and 0.10.1 core.

Current is v14 & 0.10.2
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2015, 10:37:16 PM
 #12973

Does anybody know what is going on with P2P today with the high latency? It is causing my bitcoind to drop connectivity and my SP's to drop as well (the S5 seems to drop as well looking at my node). It has been up/down for the last six hours. I looked at other pools and some seem to have the same problem as well. I am running the current 13.4-83-gb07b1e3 P2P version and 0.10.1 core.
That's your problem right there.  Try joining us on version 14.0... you're mining invalid work.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
July 05, 2015, 10:51:57 PM
 #12974

Does anybody know what is going on with P2P today with the high latency? It is causing my bitcoind to drop connectivity and my SP's to drop as well (the S5 seems to drop as well looking at my node). It has been up/down for the last six hours. I looked at other pools and some seem to have the same problem as well. I am running the current 13.4-83-gb07b1e3 P2P version and 0.10.1 core.

Well... First, you may want to get OFF 13.4-83-gb07b1e3 which is on the wrong side of a hardfork.  Please see the first post in the thread (and the last few days worth of posts) and upgrade to 14.0 or you wont get any payout the next time we find a block since any version lower than 14 has been cut off.

Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
July 05, 2015, 11:09:18 PM
 #12975

That was the last pull from GitHub. Heck I thought I was up to speed great.

So I can't just perform a pull but need to delete this version and start with the new one I see.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
July 05, 2015, 11:15:11 PM
 #12976

I just checked my node, as it was showing down.  It looks like it's hyper trying to retrieve shares from multiple places:

Code:
2015-07-05 19:06:16.252636 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 74.82.233.205:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:17.357663 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 149.210.228.165:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:18.809206 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 80.60.85.169:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:19.088368 Requesting parent share 37dddcee from 74.82.233.205:9333

Notice it requested the same parent share from four nodes within 4 seconds.  That's not very efficient, and I assume that's why it's having a hard time keeping up with the shares.  It's doing this regularly.

M


MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
p3yot33at3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
July 05, 2015, 11:20:26 PM
 #12977

I just checked my node, as it was showing down.  It looks like it's hyper trying to retrieve shares from multiple places:

Code:
2015-07-05 19:06:16.252636 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 74.82.233.205:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:17.357663 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 149.210.228.165:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:18.809206 Requesting parent share 66033bd7 from 80.60.85.169:9333
2015-07-05 19:06:19.088368 Requesting parent share 37dddcee from 74.82.233.205:9333

Notice it requested the same parent share from four nodes within 4 seconds.  That's not very efficient, and I assume that's why it's having a hard time keeping up with the shares.  It's doing this regularly.

M


I've been seeing this the last few days too, but put it down to the forking & old nodes still not being updated - but maybe it's something else.....?
Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
July 05, 2015, 11:32:58 PM
 #12978

Thanks guys I was looking at the protocol of 1400 and thought the pull had updated my version, dumb on my part. I now have 14.0-5-gb07b1e3 running. I did keep my data and web-static files after performing a clone. All looks good with the version now just a wait and let it run to see if the latency and traffic rate get back to normal.

So do I really need to move up to 10.2 or can I just continue at this point with 10.1?

EDIT: Updated to 10.2 as well.
Duce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
July 06, 2015, 01:13:55 AM
 #12979

It appears that if you are updated to version 14 you will not show up here http://p2pool.jir.dk/bitcoin/ anymore. Not sure if you guys have taken a look here before but if this is the case we have more that will be left behind.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
July 06, 2015, 01:46:36 AM
 #12980

It appears that if you are updated to version 14 you will not show up here http://p2pool.jir.dk/bitcoin/ anymore. Not sure if you guys have taken a look here before but if this is the case we have more that will be have already been left behind.

FTFY - Hardfork already occured so these people won't be paid anything when p2pool gets a block.

Owner of the site is available on twitter: https://twitter.com/mclemmensen

Can someone ask this guy to switch to only showing 14.0+ nodes and tell him/her why?

Pages: « 1 ... 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 [649] 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!