Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:35:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 [388] 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029986 times)
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 12:12:38 AM
 #7741

So your update only only applies to the front-end that has the graphs? Will I get any thing out of it if I apply it to my P2Pool that has a different front-end?

Do you run a Vertcoin p2pool node? We need to do a hard fork of the network to fix a setting that was wrong when the network first went live. Has nothing to do with the graphs.

I am confused by the comment after the question...

I run a Bitcoin p2pool.  p2pool.smoothrunnings.ca:9332/

1480934146
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934146

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934146
Reply with quote  #2

1480934146
Report to moderator
1480934146
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934146

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934146
Reply with quote  #2

1480934146
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934146
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934146

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934146
Reply with quote  #2

1480934146
Report to moderator
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 12:14:40 AM
 #7742

So your update only only applies to the front-end that has the graphs? Will I get any thing out of it if I apply it to my P2Pool that has a different front-end?

Do you run a Vertcoin p2pool node? We need to do a hard fork of the network to fix a setting that was wrong when the network first went live. Has nothing to do with the graphs.

I am confused by the comment after the question...

I run a Bitcoin p2pool.  p2pool.smoothrunnings.ca:9332/

Ok then the changes we're making to the Vertcoin networks.py won't affect you in any way. Smiley

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
mmouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 11:56:01 AM
 #7743

PS- It'd be nice if anyone else has tested my earlier diff to share feedback on it.

I implemented your patch to work.py for my VTC node at vtc.coinpools.de:9171. Looks good so far.

One question, I can't find an answer to: where does this 1.67% of pools shares limit come from? This seems reasonable for a big network like p2pool for LTC or BTC, but many altcoins do have 5-10 pool nodes... Shouldn't this limit somehow be related to the pool node count?

PS @roy7: sorry for the delay, I managed to miss the followup discussion here Wink
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 01:08:50 PM
 #7744

how do I change the port 9332 to something else for the website front-end? I know how to change the port for the bitcoin but I need to change it for the front-end now. I have setup a second server on a different box, also does the server need to communicate with the pool on 9333 or can I change that port too?

Thanks,
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 01:14:15 PM
 #7745

how do I change the port 9332 to something else for the website front-end? I know how to change the port for the bitcoin but I need to change it for the front-end now. I have setup a second server on a different box, also does the server need to communicate with the pool on 9333 or can I change that port too?

Thanks,


https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/P2Pool

  --p2pool-port PORT    use port PORT to listen for connections (forward this
                        port from your router!) (default: bitcoin:9333,
                        litecoin:9338)

  -w PORT or ADDR:PORT, --worker-port PORT or ADDR:PORT
                        listen on PORT on interface with ADDR for RPC
                        connections from miners (default: all interfaces,
                        bitcoin:9332, litecoin:9327)

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 03:17:54 PM
 #7746

how do I change the port 9332 to something else for the website front-end? I know how to change the port for the bitcoin but I need to change it for the front-end now. I have setup a second server on a different box, also does the server need to communicate with the pool on 9333 or can I change that port too?

Thanks,


https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/P2Pool

  --p2pool-port PORT    use port PORT to listen for connections (forward this
                        port from your router!) (default: bitcoin:9333,
                        litecoin:9338)

  -w PORT or ADDR:PORT, --worker-port PORT or ADDR:PORT
                        listen on PORT on interface with ADDR for RPC
                        connections from miners (default: all interfaces,
                        bitcoin:9332, litecoin:9327)

so to clarify the --p2pool-port is port that when you access it hits the webpage and not the mining pool for the coin(s)?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 03:38:07 PM
 #7747

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 04:16:18 PM
 #7748

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

So I am back to my original question. How do I change the website front-end port?
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 04:30:15 PM
 #7749

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

So I am back to my original question. How do I change the website front-end port?

The answer is still -w.  You can't change the port for only the website front-end without changing the port for miners.  The port for the front-end and the miners is always the same port.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 04:42:17 PM
 #7750

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

So I am back to my original question. How do I change the website front-end port?

The answer is still -w.  You can't change the port for only the website front-end without changing the port for miners.  The port for the front-end and the miners is always the same port.

That's not true. I have seen P2Pool sites that have bitcoin set to port 9332 but when you try to access the front-end get a message that no page exists, and some have bitcoin on port 9332 and the front-end on a different port like port 80.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 04:44:31 PM
 #7751

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

So I am back to my original question. How do I change the website front-end port?

The answer is still -w.  You can't change the port for only the website front-end without changing the port for miners.  The port for the front-end and the miners is always the same port.

That's not true. I have seen P2Pool sites that have bitcoin set to port 9332 but when you try to access the front-end get a message that no page exists, and some have bitcoin on port 9332 and the front-end on a different port like port 80.

Show us

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
February 11, 2014, 04:58:53 PM
 #7752

No 9332 is both mining and web page
9333 is p2p

So I am back to my original question. How do I change the website front-end port?

The answer is still -w.  You can't change the port for only the website front-end without changing the port for miners.  The port for the front-end and the miners is always the same port.

That's not true. I have seen P2Pool sites that have bitcoin set to port 9332 but when you try to access the front-end get a message that no page exists, and some have bitcoin on port 9332 and the front-end on a different port like port 80.

I'll clarify that it's not possible with the standard p2pool node software and built-in command line options.  Anything is possible if you are willing to change the code yourself.  The sites you have seen must have customized nodes.  You can too!  Just break out your favorite text editor and hack away.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
February 11, 2014, 05:00:45 PM
 #7753

Or proxy port 80 to duplicate it Smiley probably what they did

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mmouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 07:48:01 PM
 #7754

PS- It'd be nice if anyone else has tested my earlier diff to share feedback on it.

I implemented your patch to work.py for my VTC node at vtc.coinpools.de:9171. Looks good so far.

I did some more minor changes to work.py and web.py to get information for the web frontend about network diff, pool diff and share diffs - I was interested to actually see what's going on Wink You can have a look at vtc.coinpools.de:9171.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 08:22:20 PM
 #7755

I did some more minor changes to work.py and web.py to get information for the web frontend about network diff, pool diff and share diffs - I was interested to actually see what's going on Wink You can have a look at vtc.coinpools.de:9171.

I like it! It's helpful to see the per-miner share difficulty targets. In fact, knowing the share diff target and their hash rate one could also provide an "average time per share", so miners know what to expect.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
mmouse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 08:35:08 PM
 #7756

I like it! It's helpful to see the per-miner share difficulty targets.

Thanks. Do we have some repo, where we could work on this and some other improvements to p2pool for altcoins?

I'd really like to consolidate the many altcoin builds (one git repo per coin Wink ) into one build which works for most coins, for example...
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 08:37:33 PM
 #7757

Forrestv mentioned in irc he's willing to pull in all the coin settings from other repos into the main distribution. It's be nice if the coin devs would submit pull requests with their coin setups to the official distribution when launching their coins.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
February 11, 2014, 11:00:18 PM
 #7758

I like it! It's helpful to see the per-miner share difficulty targets.

Thanks. Do we have some repo, where we could work on this and some other improvements to p2pool for altcoins?

I'd really like to consolidate the many altcoin builds (one git repo per coin Wink ) into one build which works for most coins, for example...

I don't know if it's a rounding error or a concern, but the slower miners have target difficulties a bit lower than the network minimum it seems.

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
bkminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216

Don't let the nam-shub in your operating system.


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 12:00:05 AM
 #7759

mutable-tx attack on Bitcoin

Has anyone noticed any effects from this "attack?"  A couple of days ago when it supposedly started my block template latency shot up from .1 to .45 and has been high every since.  If there anyway to counter this kind of thing?  Any know bot-net IPs to block?

I'm asking because I haven't seen any discussion about it here...

Thanks
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 12:02:42 AM
 #7760

mutable-tx attack on Bitcoin

Has anyone noticed any effects from this "attack?"  A couple of days ago when it supposedly started my block template latency shot up from .1 to .45 and has been high every since.  If there anyway to counter this kind of thing?  Any know bot-net IPs to block?

I'm asking because I haven't seen any discussion about it here...

Thanks

It's being worked on at a level above my pay grade.

https://bitcoinfoundation.org/blog/?p=422

RoyalMiningCo: Pools retired. Was fun!
Pages: « 1 ... 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 [388] 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!