Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2018, 05:52:40 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 [806] 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2558761 times)
alttalker1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 08, 2018, 06:22:25 PM
 #16101

I am sending the following stratum message to p2pool:
Code:
{"id":1,"method":"mining.subscribe","params":["myclient/0.1"]}
And I am getting back:
Code:
{"error": null, "jsonrpc": "2.0", "id": 1, "result": [["mining.notify", "ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f"], "", 4]}

Note how the xnonce1 is returned as empty string, while xnonce2_size is 4, which is Ok.

I opened the code of "p2pool-master\p2pool\bitcoin\stratum.py", and I found this. which kind of explained why xnonce1 is empty, regardless of the way I subscribe:
Code:
def rpc_subscribe(self, miner_version=None, session_id=None):
        reactor.callLater(0, self._send_work)
       
        return [
            ["mining.notify", "ae6812eb4cd7735a302a8a9dd95cf71f"], # subscription details
            "", # extranonce1
            self.wb.COINBASE_NONCE_LENGTH, # extranonce2_size
        ]

So, is Stratum not supported yet by p2pool?
It's allowed to be zero length.

So how do I regard it when I calculate the coinbase tx? as "00000000" or simply as "" ?
1524635560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524635560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524635560
Reply with quote  #2

1524635560
Report to moderator
1524635560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524635560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524635560
Reply with quote  #2

1524635560
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524635560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524635560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524635560
Reply with quote  #2

1524635560
Report to moderator
1524635560
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524635560

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524635560
Reply with quote  #2

1524635560
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 08, 2018, 08:46:07 PM
 #16102

Note how the xnonce1 is returned as empty string, while xnonce2_size is 4, which is Ok.
It's allowed to be zero length.

So how do I regard it when I calculate the coinbase tx? as "00000000" or simply as "" ?
Note I said zero LENGTH, not zeroes, so "".

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2018, 01:46:35 AM
 #16103

Does anyone know how to setup a solo mining pool for scrypt machines?
Roughly, this: set PERSIST=False in p2pool/networks/(networkname).py or p2pool/bitcoin/networks/(networkname).py, then run it with the maximum peers set to 0.

Let me know if you have trouble and I'll give more specific instructions.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2018, 01:48:01 AM
 #16104

Any news on P2Pool merge?
None yet. Still need to get altcoins working with my code, or verify that they work. I have not had any time to work on p2pool stuff recently, alas.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
Xantus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 06:34:10 PM
 #16105

Hey People,

i need an P2Pool Mining Server to connect my Miner. is there one without or low Fee, free for all ?
i used befor 178.63.18.3:9332 but it seams to denie my get works quests :-/
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 10, 2018, 08:18:30 PM
 #16106

i need an P2Pool Mining Server to connect my Miner. is there one without or low Fee, free for all ?
ml.toom.im:9332 and ml.toom.im:9334 are available for public use. Zero fee.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
mine4.com
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 10:06:21 PM
 #16107

Hey People,
i need an P2Pool Mining Server to connect my Miner. is there one without or low Fee, free for all ?
i used befor 178.63.18.3:9332 but it seams to denie my get works quests :-/

Hi Xantus,

I have stratum+tcp://5.133.177.158:9332 avaliable on p2pool mainnet or stratum+tcp://5.133.177.158:9334 if you prefer to mine on p2pool\jtoomim (both with a low 0.5% fee and 0.5% donation to the developer). I'm in Sheffield, England (UK) so depending on your location it may or may not be quicker. See my site www.mine4.com for more info and current ping times from your location.

Jtoomim,

Is a merge of the two networks a possibility? Main net has increased to 3.1Ph/s and Jtoomim to 7.6Ph/s. A combined 10.7Ph/s would be good to see and may help attract more to the pool. Also the mainnet reward is much more often in line with jtoomim these days. Presumably some development has taken place there...?

All the best.
James.
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 10, 2018, 11:05:45 PM
 #16108

The cover page to P2Pool doesn't say anything about needing to run 32bit versions of everything or if 64bit versions can be run. Is is possible to run P2Pool on 64bit versions of Python, etc??

Has anyone done a how-to?

Thanks
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2018, 12:53:41 AM
 #16109

Is a merge of the two networks a possibility? Main net has increased to 3.1Ph/s and Jtoomim to 7.6Ph/s. A combined 10.7Ph/s would be good to see and may help attract more to the pool.
The 3 PH/s spike on mainnet is over. It was probably just someone renting on Nicehash for an hour or so. Mainnet is back to ~1 PH/s.

It is not possible to "merge" the two networks. They are separate share chains. What is possible is for people to switch chains so that everyone is on the same chain.

Also the mainnet reward is much more often in line with jtoomim these days. Presumably some development has taken place there...?
No, it's not. At this particular moment, I see:

16.72565364 BTC/block on mainnet in 1681 transactions
17.48822478 BTC/block on jtoomimnet in 2026 transactions

You have to look at the actual shares being mined to see the difference. The "Current block value" metric on a node's front page shows the value before mainnet's transaction trimming takes place.

Something to keep in mind is that the bug/design flaw on mainnet that forces small blocks is intermittent. It shows up when a Bitcoin block has been recently published, and disappears a few minutes later. Just because they show the same thing at one moment doesn't mean it will always be the same.

Is is possible to run P2Pool on 64bit versions of Python, etc??
Both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Python should work. I don't think I've tested with 32 bit versions before, though.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
faberyayo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 01:39:00 PM
 #16110

Hello. I’m trying to setup and make bitcoin node up and running (code was taken from here https://github.com/jtoomim/p2pool/tree/1mb_segwit), but it doesn’t work correctly since I’m getting high level of DOA (more than 20%). Miner and server located in the same network. Please help to make it working properly.
Server config: Xeon E3-1225, 8Gb RAM, SSD drive, OS Windows Server 2012 r2
bitcoin.conf:
Code:
server=1
disablewallet=1
listen=1
daemon=1
prune=10240
rpcuser=*
rpcpassword=*
maxconnections=20
blockmaxweight=3950000
mintxfee=0.00001
minrelaytxfee=0.00001
dbcache=500
maxmempool=500
rpcthreads=50

I’m getting a lot of errors such as these ones:
Code:
2018-01-12 11:13:05.602000 Generating a share with 1108592 bytes, 3945962 WU (ne
w: 1114 B, 4456 WU) in 1431 tx (3 new), plus est gentx of 1702 bytes/6844 WU
2018-01-12 11:13:05.602000 Total block stripped size=947572 B, full size=1110374
 B,  weight: 3953046 WU
2018-01-12 11:13:06.055000 WARNING! Previous share's timestamp is 5 seconds in t
he future. This is not normal.
2018-01-12 11:13:06.055000 Make sure your system clock is accurate. Errors beyon
d 300 sec result in orphaned shares.
2018-01-12 11:12:11.836000 New work for 1FwAD8EinPKnW14LxQ7ug21Lw4yNMXNjfx! Diff
: 355190.15 Share diff: 1390473.73 Block value: 16.31 BTC (1321 tx, 1086 kB)
2018-01-12 11:12:15.836000 > Unhandled error in Deferred:
2018-01-12 11:12:15.836000 > Unhandled Error
2018-01-12 11:12:15.836000 > Traceback (most recent call last):
2018-01-12 11:12:15.836000 > Failure: twisted.internet.defer.TimeoutError: in Re
plyMatcher
2018-01-12 11:18:42.684000 > Peer referenced unknown transaction 34bd59d5478ebec
e779d6c84a2ab2eceb49fa7afe0293fb3bef781be9efa14d1, disconnecting
2018-01-12 11:18:42.684000 Peer sent entire transaction c5398526266124c129a276f3
cc0e388523207f9ad48289133604d28a90415de1 that was already received
2018-01-12 11:18:42.872000 Lost peer 178.63.18.3:9333 - Connection was aborted l
ocally, using.

I'll be thankful for any help.
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2018, 05:52:08 PM
 #16111

There are two likely causes: One, maybe your mining hardware is not compatible with the frequent work changes that p2pool requires. Two, maybe your node is slow.

1) What type of miner are you using? If you point it to someone else's node which is known to be working well (e.g. ml.toom.im:9332), what DOA rate do you get?

2) You'll have better results if you use pypy. That's easiest to do if you're running Linux, but you may also be able to get it to work using the Windows Subsystem for Linux:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.msg21025074#msg21025074

You can also check your CPU usage to see if it ever gets pegged at 25% (i.e. 1 full core used).

P.S.: The Bitcoin Cash p2pool has different chain parameters that results in less work switching, so you will see better performance and efficiency there. However, it doesn't have much hashrate yet, so it might be a while before it finds a block.

P.P.S.: A higher dbcache setting would be a good idea, though it won't solve your problem. Also, blockmaxweight=4000000 is safe on 1mb_segwit.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
faberyayo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 06:33:07 PM
 #16112

There are two likely causes: One, maybe your mining hardware is not compatible with the frequent work changes that p2pool requires. Two, maybe your node is slow.

1) What type of miner are you using? If you point it to someone else's node which is known to be working well (e.g. ml.toom.im:9332), what DOA rate do you get?

2) You'll have better results if you use pypy. That's easiest to do if you're running Linux, but you may also be able to get it to work using the Windows Subsystem for Linux:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.msg21025074#msg21025074

You can also check your CPU usage to see if it ever gets pegged at 25% (i.e. 1 full core used).

P.S.: The Bitcoin Cash p2pool has different chain parameters that results in less work switching, so you will see better performance and efficiency there. However, it doesn't have much hashrate yet, so it might be a while before it finds a block.

P.P.S.: A higher dbcache setting would be a good idea, though it won't solve your problem. Also, blockmaxweight=4000000 is safe on 1mb_segwit.
I have 10 Antminer S9, but testing it with just one until get the node working. I tried different nodes and everything works fine there with DOA around 4-6%. CPU load is under 20% per core.
Software is: Windows Server 2012 R2 64 bit, Python 2.7, Twisted 15.1.0, Zope.Interface 4.1.2, Python win32 api, Python win32 api wmi wrapper
Pool address is http://gminv.ge:9332/static/
Graphs are here: http://gminv.ge:9332/static/graphs.html?Day
jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2018, 06:43:16 PM
 #16113

CPU load is under 20% per core.
"Per core" is not meaningful here. Python can only use one core at a time, and it's bouncing around between all four cores. If it's using about 20% of each core, that means that 80% of the time it is using at least one core, which is too much.

Your getblocktemplate latency graph shows the same thing. It's taking about 2 seconds for p2pool/python to process the GBT results returned by bitcoind, which indicates that p2pool has a short backlog of tasks for it to perform that is delaying the GBT processing.

Reloading the webpage is sluggish (~2 second delay), which indicates the same thing.

You're running into CPU load issues. Try pypy and/or a CPU with faster single-threaded performance. Pypy is likely to make a bigger difference than a CPU upgrade. Reducing your peer count can also help.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
faberyayo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 06:48:05 PM
 #16114

CPU load is under 20% per core.
"Per core" is not meaningful here. Python can only use one core at a time, and it's bouncing around between all four cores. If it's using about 20% of each core, that means that 80% of the time it is using at least one core, which is too much.

Your getblocktemplate latency graph shows the same thing. It's taking about 2 seconds for p2pool/python to process the GBT results returned by bitcoind, which indicates that p2pool has a short backlog of tasks for it to perform that is delaying the GBT processing.

Reloading the webpage is sluggish (~2 second delay), which indicates the same thing.

You're running into CPU load issues. Try pypy and/or a CPU with faster single-threaded performance. Reducing your peer count can also help.

Thank you so much. Will try it and see if it helps.
crypto_curious
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 104


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile
January 12, 2018, 10:07:54 PM
 #16115

Is there any way to make p2pool mode modern so it can use multithreading and multi cores etc?

jtoomim
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 818
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 03:47:52 AM
 #16116

Python is inherently single-threaded. https://wiki.python.org/moin/GlobalInterpreterLock

It would be far easier and more effective to remove most of the transaction-handling code from p2pool, and make share objects contain only the merkle root plus the coinbase transaction (and the merkle path thereto). However, I have not had the time to do that, and nobody else seems to be interested in doing it. Even though it would be much easier, it's not super easy to do.

Note: Bitcoin Core is *also* mostly single-threaded, although not quite to the same extent as p2pool.

Hosting bitcoin miners for $65 to $80/kW/month on clean, cheap hydro power.
http://Toom.im
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2506
Merit: 1047


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2018, 03:48:52 AM
 #16117

Is there any way to make p2pool mode modern so it can use multithreading and multi cores etc?
Rewrite it from scratch in another programming language.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 02:46:19 PM
 #16118

Is is possible to run P2Pool on 64bit versions of Python, etc??
Both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Python should work. I don't think I've tested with 32 bit versions before, though.

I am running Windows 10 x64 v1709 spectre patched. When I try to install the wraper it doesn't see Python installed because the app is looking for the 32bit installation of Python and it's location. Do I still need the wraper?

-- On a different note.

I started over, this time I installed the 32bit versions of everything on Windows 10 x64 v1709 Spectre patched. I getting an error with the twisted. I am using Python 17.0. It can't find vps.forre.st when I check it against Google, L3, and open DNS public DNS server they too can't find it. Safe to ignore? There is no mention or update on the first post...





(Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to fix broken quote formatting.)
bitlock1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 04:38:51 PM
 #16119

Disregard the vps.forre.st it is a known issue, probably resolved when jtoomin gets the main code updated with forrest permission.... right now there are two versions on p2pool running  main and jtoomin

regards
smoothrunnings
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 14, 2018, 04:42:59 PM
 #16120

Disregard the vps.forre.st it is a known issue, probably resolved when jtoomin gets the main code updated with forrest permission.... right now there are two versions on p2pool running  main and jtoomin

regards

I see more errors too, this one and these ones when I connect a miner to my p2pool.



See this when I connect my Neptune to the pool.


Pages: « 1 ... 756 757 758 759 760 761 762 763 764 765 766 767 768 769 770 771 772 773 774 775 776 777 778 779 780 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 [806] 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!