Bitcoin Forum
August 01, 2021, 04:29:39 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 [398] 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2589512 times)
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 10, 2014, 03:16:15 AM
 #7941

I've been making some scrypt-based altcoin p2pools and I've noticed that for the first 30 seconds or so of mining in a new p2pool instance, the vast majority of work results in hardware errors. I've tried letting the p2pool run for a while first to make sure everything is fully "loaded", but this doesn't seem to make a difference. Several users, including myself have verified this, and it's not a mining hardware problem. I never, ever get a HW error in any other circumstance.
Has anyone else experienced this and/or know of a possible solution?

Yes I submitted a patch to fix that.

https://github.com/forrestv/p2pool/pull/185
1627835379
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627835379

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627835379
Reply with quote  #2

1627835379
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1627835379
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627835379

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627835379
Reply with quote  #2

1627835379
Report to moderator
infofront
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 2315


Shitcoin Minimalist


View Profile
March 10, 2014, 04:04:31 AM
 #7942

Ok, thanks
bkminer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 216
Merit: 100

Don't let the nam-shub in your operating system.


View Profile
March 10, 2014, 11:42:46 PM
 #7943

Does anyone know of HashFast works well on p2pool (doubtful I'll ever get it but just in-case)....

Also I've noticed that we've dropped from 1% to 0.35% in a little over a month... network is really growing now...

bitcoin_miner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 02:46:36 AM
 #7944

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 1167



View Profile
March 11, 2014, 04:37:36 AM
 #7945

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

Easy. Set miner url to the IP of the p2pool node followed by 9332 (example: 1.2.3.4:9332) and set your username to your bitcoin address.
bitcoin_miner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 04:41:41 AM
 #7946

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

Easy. Set miner url to the IP of the p2pool node followed by 9332 (example: 1.2.3.4:9332) and set your username to your bitcoin address.

can you suggest which url or the IP of the p2pool node? 

OgNasty
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3724
Merit: 2426


Crypto Casino & Sportsbook


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 04:43:44 AM
 #7947

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

Easy. Set miner url to the IP of the p2pool node followed by 9332 (example: 1.2.3.4:9332) and set your username to your bitcoin address.

can you suggest which url or the IP of the p2pool node? 

nastyfans.org:9332

It has 0% fees.


██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████▀▀▀        ▀▀█████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████▀    ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ███████████████████████████████████████████████
█████    ▄█████████▌   ▐█████▀  ▐███████████████▌  ▀██████████████████
████▌   ▐██████████    █████    ████████████████    ██████████████████
████▌   ▐█████████▄▄▄▄█████▌   ▐███████████████▌   ▐███▀▀█████████████
█████    ▀███████████████▀▀        ▄███████████    ██▀   ▐████████████
██████▄     ▀▀███████▀▀         ▄▄███▀▀▀▀█████▌   ▐▀   ▄███▀▀   ▀█████
█████████▄▄     ▀▀███▄  ▄▄    ████▀    ▄   ███       ▄███▀   ▄█  ▐████
█████████████▄▄     ▀████▌   ▐███▀   ███   ██▌      ████    ██▀  █████
██████▀▀   ▀█████▄    ███    ████   ███▌  ▐██    ▌  ▐██▌      ▄▄██████
█████    ▄████████    ▐██    ██▀▀   ██▀   ▐▀    ▐█   ██▌   ▀██▀▀  ████
████▌   ▐████████▀    ███▄     ▄▄▄     ▄    ▄   ▐██   ██▄      ▄▄█████
████▌   ███████▀    ▄███████████████████████████████▄  ▀▀██████▀▀ ████
█████    ▀▀▀▀     ▄█████████▀    ▀█▀    ▀█       ▀████▄▄         ▄████
██████▄▄    ▄▄▄▄████████████  █████  ██  █  █  █  ████████████████████
█████████████████████████  █▄    ▄█▄    ▄█  █  █  ████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄
█  ▄▀▄             █▀▀▐▀▄▄
█  █▀█             █  ▐  ▐▌
█       ▄██▄       █  ▌  █
█     ▄██████▄     █  ▌ ▐▌
█    ██████████    █ ▐  █
█   ▐██████████▌   █ ▐ ▐▌
█    ▀▀██████▀▀    █ ▌ █
█     ▄▄▄██▄▄▄     █ ▌▐▌
█                  █▐ █
█                  █▐▐▌
█                  █▐█
▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀█
▄▄█████████▄▄
▄█▀▀▀█████████▀▀▀█▄
▄█▀    ▄▀█████▀     ▀█▄
▄█▄    █        ▀▄   ███▄
▄████▀▀▀▀▄       ▄▀▀▀▀▀███▄
████      ▀▄▄▄▄▄▀       ███
███     ▄▄███████▄▄     ▄▀█
█  ▀▄ ▄▀ ▀███████▀ ▀▄ ▄▀  █
▀█   █     ▀███▀     ▀▄  █▀
▀█▄▄█▄      █        █▄█▀
▀█████▄ ▄▀▀ ▀▀▄▄ ▄▄███▀
▀█████        ████▀
▀▀█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄█▀▀
● OVER 1000 GAMES
● DAILY RACES AND BONUSES
● 24/7 LIVE SUPPORT
semaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 395
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:39:45 AM
 #7948

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

Easy. Set miner url to the IP of the p2pool node followed by 9332 (example: 1.2.3.4:9332) and set your username to your bitcoin address.

can you suggest which url or the IP of the p2pool node? 

http://elizium.name

cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3052
Merit: 1177


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 01:36:00 PM
 #7949

how to use p2pool for antminer S1 ?

Easy. Set miner url to the IP of the p2pool node followed by 9332 (example: 1.2.3.4:9332) and set your username to your bitcoin address.

can you suggest which url or the IP of the p2pool node? 

mine.p2pool.com:9332

We are also pointing a TerraMiner IV at random addresses who are mining there for at least an hour a day to encourage people to use p2pool. 

Don't forget to set up backup pools.  Either various p2pool nodes, or some of the larger mining pools.
CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 11, 2014, 07:49:03 PM
 #7950

Started to get this error message:

No bitcoind connection when block submittal attempted!

Anyone encounter this before? bitcoind appears to be functioning correctly and the p2pool node does not seem to have lost connection to it.

CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1270
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:37:53 PM
 #7951

Started to get this error message:

No bitcoind connection when block submittal attempted!

Anyone encounter this before? bitcoind appears to be functioning correctly and the p2pool node does not seem to have lost connection to it.

Looks like it might have been bitcoind. Restarted and have not seen it since.

cr1776
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3052
Merit: 1177


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 10:50:56 PM
 #7952

Started to get this error message:

No bitcoind connection when block submittal attempted!

Anyone encounter this before? bitcoind appears to be functioning correctly and the p2pool node does not seem to have lost connection to it.

Looks like it might have been bitcoind. Restarted and have not seen it since.

Good. :-). I was going to suggest that, but luckily checked the next page!
irrational
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 01:42:02 AM
 #7953

I'm just getting back into bitcoin, and used to use p2pool when GPUs were a thing. I have a small ASIC coming tomorrow (Antminer U2).

How foolish is it to mine on p2pool with _only_ 2 GH/s (gosh, it feels strange calling 2 GH/s "only")?

With such a small device I'm obviously not doing this professionally, but I'm also not sure what the variance will be like either.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 03:15:23 AM
 #7954

I'm just getting back into bitcoin, and used to use p2pool when GPUs were a thing. I have a small ASIC coming tomorrow (Antminer U2).

How foolish is it to mine on p2pool with _only_ 2 GH/s (gosh, it feels strange calling 2 GH/s "only")?

With such a small device I'm obviously not doing this professionally, but I'm also not sure what the variance will be like either.

The variance on 2GH on p2pool will, sadly, be massive. You could farm from sha256 alt coins though. Or else you might want to use a normal pool. (The proxy pool project I want to port to sha256 but haven't had time.)
irrational
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 03:27:02 AM
 #7955

I'm just getting back into bitcoin, and used to use p2pool when GPUs were a thing. I have a small ASIC coming tomorrow (Antminer U2).

How foolish is it to mine on p2pool with _only_ 2 GH/s (gosh, it feels strange calling 2 GH/s "only")?

With such a small device I'm obviously not doing this professionally, but I'm also not sure what the variance will be like either.

The variance on 2GH on p2pool will, sadly, be massive. You could farm from sha256 alt coins though. Or else you might want to use a normal pool. (The proxy pool project I want to port to sha256 but haven't had time.)

Ok, thanks.

I was kind of fearing that, but it's good to get confirmation. I'll stick with a regular pool for now.

What difficulty are p2pool shares?
phillipsjk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1000

Let the chips fall where they may.


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 03:34:54 AM
Last edit: March 17, 2014, 08:23:19 AM by phillipsjk
 #7956

Edit: pypy Does not work:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "app_main.py", line 72, in run_toplevel
  File "./p2pool/run_p2pool.py", line 3, in <module>
    from p2pool import main
  File "/usr/home/P2Pool/p2pool/p2pool/main.py", line 17, in <module>
    from twisted.internet import defer, reactor, protocol, tcp
ImportError: No module named twisted

Ok, got pypy to work. as far as I can tell, the difficulty is that pypy does not like c-optimized python modules. I guess the FreeBSD ports collection has it's modules c-optimized by default.

The above error was resolved by running the following as the P2Pool user:
Code:
$ easy_install --user twisted
Searching for twisted
Best match: Twisted 13.2.0
Processing Twisted-13.2.0-py2.7-freebsd-9.2-RELEASE-p3-amd64.egg
Adding Twisted 13.2.0 to easy-install.pth file
...

I then got a new error message when trying to run P2Pool:
Code:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "app_main.py", line 72, in run_toplevel
  File "./p2pool/run_p2pool.py", line 3, in <module>
    from p2pool import main
  File "/usr/home/P2Pool/p2pool/p2pool/main.py", line 17, in <module>
    from twisted.internet import defer, reactor, protocol, tcp
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/Twisted-13.2.0-py2.7-freebsd-9.2-RELEASE-p3-amd64.egg/twisted/__init__.py", line 53, in <module>
    _checkRequirements()
  File "/usr/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/Twisted-13.2.0-py2.7-freebsd-9.2-RELEASE-p3-amd64.egg/twisted/__init__.py", line 37, in _checkRequirements
    raise ImportError(required + ": no module named zope.interface.")
ImportError: Twisted requires zope.interface 3.6.0 or later: no module named zope.interface.

In trial and error I tried easy_installing "zope.interface", "setuptools" and "argparse", but I am fairly sure this is what was needed:
Code:
$ easy_install --user -U  zope.interface
Searching for zope.interface
Reading http://pypi.python.org/simple/zope.interface/
Best match: zope.interface 4.1.0
Downloading https://pypi.python.org/packages/source/z/zope.interface/zope.interface-4.1.0.tar.gz#md5=ac63de1784ea0327db876c908af07a94
Processing zope.interface-4.1.0.tar.gz
Writing /tmp/easy_install-jN0eKs/zope.interface-4.1.0/setup.cfg
Running zope.interface-4.1.0/setup.py -q bdist_egg --dist-dir /tmp/easy_install-jN0eKs/zope.interface-4.1.0/egg-dist-tmp-LfYUtu
warning: no previously-included files matching '*.dll' found anywhere in distribution
warning: no previously-included files matching '*.pyc' found anywhere in distribution
warning: no previously-included files matching '*.pyo' found anywhere in distribution
warning: no previously-included files matching '*.so' found anywhere in distribution
Adding zope.interface 4.1.0 to easy-install.pth file

It did not work without the '-U' option, which forces an upgrade (from upstream). In both cases, the '--user' option means that only the user running the command is effected.

Now to test if CPU usage/latency actually goes down Smiley

Update: Results are inconclusive or slightly worse.

James' OpenPGP public key fingerprint: EB14 9E5B F80C 1F2D 3EBE  0A2F B3DE 81FF 7B9D 5160
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 05:12:29 AM
 #7957

Ok, thanks.

I was kind of fearing that, but it's good to get confirmation. I'll stick with a regular pool for now.

What difficulty are p2pool shares?

About 500K on average. Here's a 24 hour graph.

http://vtc-us-east.royalminingco.com/p2pool_share_history/diff_history.png
irrational
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 07:51:52 AM
 #7958

Ok, thanks.

I was kind of fearing that, but it's good to get confirmation. I'll stick with a regular pool for now.

What difficulty are p2pool shares?

About 500K on average. Here's a 24 hour graph.

http://vtc-us-east.royalminingco.com/p2pool_share_history/diff_history.png

Awesome, this is perfect!

Thank you.
roy7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 03:10:09 PM
 #7959

Awesome, this is perfect!

Thank you.

Some altcoin p2pool interfaces show a "time to share" but no BTC ones that I know of. You can use normal calculators though to put in your hash rate and the share difficulty to get an idea on how bad the variance is and if you are willing to stomach it. Smiley I have some smaller miners in my closest I've not touched in ages that are still happily hashing away with a raspberry Pi. I just check now and then they are still hashing and otherwise just ignore them.
phillipsjk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1000

Let the chips fall where they may.


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 04:46:32 PM
 #7960

Some altcoin p2pool interfaces show a "time to share" but no BTC ones that I know of.

I am using the stock one on my P2Pool node, and it has it:
Quote from: casey
Version: 13.4-16-g5ee3172

Pool rate: 130TH/s (16% DOA+orphan) Share difficulty: 425000

Node uptime: 12.2 hours Peers: 6 out, 4 in

Local rate: 10.4GH/s (28% DOA) Expected time to share: 2.0 days

Shares: 0 total (0 orphaned, 0 dead) Efficiency: Huh

James' OpenPGP public key fingerprint: EB14 9E5B F80C 1F2D 3EBE  0A2F B3DE 81FF 7B9D 5160
Pages: « 1 ... 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 [398] 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 424 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!