Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 03:56:37 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why are some risers powered and some not? (PCI Express)  (Read 940 times)
nodesupply
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 07:45:14 PM
 #1

Basically as the subject states.

Why are some powered (with that little molex hanging off) and some not?

Is there something about more then 3 cards in a motherboard requiring the power?

GDC - gPHKnhNdAWfs3fQDXAbpA8E5HXYi3T6eMH
You can see the statistics of your reports to moderators on the "Report to moderator" pages.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513266997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266997
Reply with quote  #2

1513266997
Report to moderator
1513266997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266997
Reply with quote  #2

1513266997
Report to moderator
1513266997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513266997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513266997
Reply with quote  #2

1513266997
Report to moderator
glub0x
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 817



View Profile
April 22, 2013, 08:09:18 PM
 #2

same question here, how to know if we should use powerd risers?
is it risky for the MB? (if i try with 5 CG and no powerd RIser, will it burn the CG or MB?)

The cost of mediation increases transaction costs, limiting the
minimum practical transaction size and cutting off the possibility for small casual transactions

Satoshi Nakamoto : https://bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
mitty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 363



View Profile
April 23, 2013, 01:17:50 AM
 #3

Not directly answering this question, but I'm running a machine with 3x5830 and 1x5850 all on unpowered risers (2 on 1x, 2 on 16x slots) with no problems.  I assume there isn't an issue since the cards have their own power connectors but then again I don't know for sure if this is a bad idea.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512


I have some bitcoins. Somewhere.


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 07:09:52 AM
 #4

always use powered risers on pci-e x1 slots

other cases would be based on what cards you already have in the system & the quality of the motherboard

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1356



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 01:20:27 PM
 #5

always use powered risers on pci-e x1 slots

other cases would be based on what cards you already have in the system & the quality of the motherboard

Can you please develop further?
I couldn't gather this information months ago, so, I'm running a single 5830 on an old motherboard that has a non working pci-e x16 slot, so after being unable to figure this question out, just hacked the pci-e x1 slot to accommodate the card, not using any riser.

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Zanatos666
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


Sometimes man, just sometimes.....


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 02:17:51 PM
 #6

I think it depends on the card and if it has PCI-E power connectors from the PSU or if it gets all of its power from the slot itself.  For example, I have an unpowered riser on a 5870 and runs just fine, but it has connectors to get its power from the PSU, not from the bus itself.

Squiggly letters, written really fast, with a couple of dots for good measure.
Jay_Pal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1356



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 02:20:55 PM
 #7

I think it depends on the card and if it has PCI-E power connectors from the PSU or if it gets all of its power from the slot itself.  For example, I have an unpowered riser on a 5870 and runs just fine, but it has connectors to get its power from the PSU, not from the bus itself.
My 5830 has 2x6pin connectors. That could explain it! Thanks.

Best faucet EVER! - Freebitco.in
Don't Panic... - 1G8zjUzeZBfJpeCbz1MLTc6zQHbLm78vKc
Why not mine from the browser?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!