Bitcoin Forum
May 25, 2018, 01:27:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Terrible hashrates on my 7970's...  (Read 1049 times)
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 08:45:31 PM
 #1

Hey guys, I just installed 2 7970's yesterday and actually broke my 7950 in the same day... but thats a different story...

My problem is i finally after months got CGMiner to work! Got the AMD SDK and most recent version of Catalyst. However with the 2 cards together each is getting about 380 Kh/s
I took screenshots for your convenience.

Smiley
CGMiner:


CGMiner Settings:



Catalyst Control Center:


If im missing anything please let me know!!

I still have 2 more 7970's and 1 7950 on the way

By the way I did post on the CGminer thread... anddd people just posted past me disregarding it so im bringing it to my own thread.
Thank you very much.
1527254839
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527254839

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527254839
Reply with quote  #2

1527254839
Report to moderator
The network tries to produce one block per 10 minutes. It does this by automatically adjusting how difficult it is to produce blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 04:30:11 PM
 #2

BumP:
can someone please help
runlinux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 562
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
April 23, 2013, 04:33:58 PM
 #3

Are you mining litecoins or bitcoins?

From what I see you are mining litecoins. If so, I *think* that number is fine.

EDIT:

I'd have to test on my 7970 to see what I get. I'm getting 685MH/s mining BTC. I thought the LTC process was about 1000x slower.

Mylon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100

Mining FTW


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 02:57:36 PM
 #4

BumP:
can someone please help
start reading the manual of cgminer, specifically the latest version.

"All Your Base Are Belong To Us" by CATS
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 03:32:46 PM
 #5

I have read the manual multiple times... im mining litecoins but it should be around 700 KH/s

my settings were listed as set by other users but im still getting the same bad hashrates...
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 03:47:28 PM
 #6

LTCs are a bitch. Like a really temperamental bitch. The same settings on two identical computers can yield totally different results. I tried it once, and I couldn't get my 7970 above 580KH/s, even following CK's guide for tweaking.

That said, CGMiner has 2 READMEs, 1 for the program, and one for SCRYPT. The second one has suggestions and a guide for tweaking your settings.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 04:41:53 PM
 #7

ok ill check that out and get back to you ... please stay updated on this post! I would really appreciate the help!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 07:55:50 PM
 #8

it's always heat. or a failing chip/mb.

when my cards start they mine beautifully, then after 10 minutes they can crap out.  so I identify the crap cards by running:

-d 0
-d 1

etc on the command line. 

Then I turn off the card that is causing problems (usually a fan and overheating).

then i mine like a king.  (or a viceroy).
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 09:26:25 PM
 #9

it's always heat. or a failing chip/mb.

when my cards start they mine beautifully, then after 10 minutes they can crap out.  so I identify the crap cards by running:

-d 0
-d 1

etc on the command line. 

Then I turn off the card that is causing problems (usually a fan and overheating).

then i mine like a king.  (or a viceroy).
I was running my LTC 7970 at Powertune: +20% and the temps were still in the 60C, so it's not heat. It continues to mine, but just can't get the hashrate up there like I know other people are.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 12:14:00 AM
 #10

I've noticed that problems occur across the motherboard.  My test  (-d 0, etc) is to shut off a bad card and see if the other cards do not remain at speed. 

my setup:  I have 2 cards and each has 2 gpus so I have 4 gpus

command line:    ./cgminer .... -d 0 -d 1 -d 2

but not -d 3  so the last one doesn't come on. 

Then I see if the other three remain stable.  IF they do not i try another combination of 3 like:  -d 0 -d 1 -d 3  (so not running -d 2).  By testing the cards in this way I can determine if a GPU is causing problems.  My experience has been that I can get 3 out of 4 gpus stable (at 260 each) which is better than all 4 running at 145 ish.  And turning off a bad gpu through this method seems to allow me to keep the "good" gpu's operating at full speed.  time to ship back some more cards....

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!