Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 09:37:04 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Terrible hashrates on my 7970's...  (Read 1049 times)
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
April 22, 2013, 08:45:31 PM
 #1

Hey guys, I just installed 2 7970's yesterday and actually broke my 7950 in the same day... but thats a different story...

My problem is i finally after months got CGMiner to work! Got the AMD SDK and most recent version of Catalyst. However with the 2 cards together each is getting about 380 Kh/s
I took screenshots for your convenience.

Smiley
CGMiner:


CGMiner Settings:



Catalyst Control Center:


If im missing anything please let me know!!

I still have 2 more 7970's and 1 7950 on the way

By the way I did post on the CGminer thread... anddd people just posted past me disregarding it so im bringing it to my own thread.
Thank you very much.
1513589824
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513589824

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513589824
Reply with quote  #2

1513589824
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
April 23, 2013, 04:30:11 PM
 #2

BumP:
can someone please help
runlinux
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 566



View Profile WWW
April 23, 2013, 04:33:58 PM
 #3

Are you mining litecoins or bitcoins?

From what I see you are mining litecoins. If so, I *think* that number is fine.

EDIT:

I'd have to test on my 7970 to see what I get. I'm getting 685MH/s mining BTC. I thought the LTC process was about 1000x slower.

Mylon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

Mining FTW


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 02:57:36 PM
 #4

BumP:
can someone please help
start reading the manual of cgminer, specifically the latest version.

"All Your Base Are Belong To Us" by CATS
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 03:32:46 PM
 #5

I have read the manual multiple times... im mining litecoins but it should be around 700 KH/s

my settings were listed as set by other users but im still getting the same bad hashrates...
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 03:47:28 PM
 #6

LTCs are a bitch. Like a really temperamental bitch. The same settings on two identical computers can yield totally different results. I tried it once, and I couldn't get my 7970 above 580KH/s, even following CK's guide for tweaking.

That said, CGMiner has 2 READMEs, 1 for the program, and one for SCRYPT. The second one has suggestions and a guide for tweaking your settings.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
nightwolf92
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 04:41:53 PM
 #7

ok ill check that out and get back to you ... please stay updated on this post! I would really appreciate the help!
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 07:55:50 PM
 #8

it's always heat. or a failing chip/mb.

when my cards start they mine beautifully, then after 10 minutes they can crap out.  so I identify the crap cards by running:

-d 0
-d 1

etc on the command line. 

Then I turn off the card that is causing problems (usually a fan and overheating).

then i mine like a king.  (or a viceroy).
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 09:26:25 PM
 #9

it's always heat. or a failing chip/mb.

when my cards start they mine beautifully, then after 10 minutes they can crap out.  so I identify the crap cards by running:

-d 0
-d 1

etc on the command line. 

Then I turn off the card that is causing problems (usually a fan and overheating).

then i mine like a king.  (or a viceroy).
I was running my LTC 7970 at Powertune: +20% and the temps were still in the 60C, so it's not heat. It continues to mine, but just can't get the hashrate up there like I know other people are.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Viceroy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 12:14:00 AM
 #10

I've noticed that problems occur across the motherboard.  My test  (-d 0, etc) is to shut off a bad card and see if the other cards do not remain at speed. 

my setup:  I have 2 cards and each has 2 gpus so I have 4 gpus

command line:    ./cgminer .... -d 0 -d 1 -d 2

but not -d 3  so the last one doesn't come on. 

Then I see if the other three remain stable.  IF they do not i try another combination of 3 like:  -d 0 -d 1 -d 3  (so not running -d 2).  By testing the cards in this way I can determine if a GPU is causing problems.  My experience has been that I can get 3 out of 4 gpus stable (at 260 each) which is better than all 4 running at 145 ish.  And turning off a bad gpu through this method seems to allow me to keep the "good" gpu's operating at full speed.  time to ship back some more cards....

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!