Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2018, 05:52:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [SUCCESS] 7 GPU Mining with Asrock H81 Pro BTC + PCIe Switch/Hub  (Read 28661 times)
tuchubby
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 07:46:20 PM
 #61

Has anyone tried using a pci-e hub in slot 2 (x16) and using 8 GPU?  All I've seen on this thread is pci-e hub on slot 6 (x1).  I don't think it would matter because they're all connected on x1 lane, but who knows??  I want to run 8 not 7 but need some ppl out there to make sure

also, which mobo do you all have:
h81 pro btc +, or
h81 pro btc + r2.0
1519278729
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519278729

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519278729
Reply with quote  #2

1519278729
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
bursta
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 09, 2017, 11:11:58 AM
 #62

Hi there,
I tried putting pci-e hub in slot 2 (x16) and had no luck booting win10 with 8 GPUs.
I also tried disabling "everything" in bios so I can free some extra lanes but had no luck.
I guess it's 7GPU limit for this mobo  Sad
uat88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 06:44:10 PM
 #63

Has anyone tried using a pci-e hub in slot 2 (x16) and using 8 GPU?  All I've seen on this thread is pci-e hub on slot 6 (x1).  I don't think it would matter because they're all connected on x1 lane, but who knows??  I want to run 8 not 7 but need some ppl out there to make sure

also, which mobo do you all have:
h81 pro btc +, or
h81 pro btc + r2.0

I have the H81 Pro BTC R2.0 and tried with this PCI-e hub but it just could not detect the 6 or 7 GPU at all.
Tried several methods but nothing seems to work. It just could not detect any GPU connected to the PCE-e hub at all.
Not sure what seems to be the problem here.

Any help would be appreciated very much.
FrankRizz07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 03, 2017, 05:23:32 PM
 #64

OK everybody;

I have been through the ringer trying to get more than 4 cards working with H81 pro BTC v2.0.  After a ton of back and forth with Asrock support they sent me an updated / custom BIOS that added "enable 4g encoding" option just above the Auto/Gen1/Gen2 settings in chipset.

Note that this bios does not have the pretty look and feel as the 1.2, but all the same options.  Here is the download link: http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=15578659339316454721

load this file onto a bootable usb (root directory) and flash it from inside the 1.2 bios.

btw: i see a lot of posts about all these bios tweeks and what asrock said was this mb was built to load all 6 gpu's right out of the box without any tweeks. (still tweaked mine)

If this makes your day, please comment to this (so everyone knows its legit) and consider a donation:  ETH: 0x6d3853a12899dad23c9768e1d3fc00e3c98c8edb

Good luck!   -Rizzo
Valentine_13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 15, 2017, 12:38:20 AM
 #65

Hi,

- 7x RX 570
- H81 Pro BTC 2 + PCIe Switch/Hub (1x to 4x)
- Win 10

Just tried to install a 7th GPU.
The RIG just boot in a loop before bios.

Have to clear the CMOS to get back to 6 GPU's working.
Don't know why it will not take my 7th card.
I also tried to run the Switch alone and it's working as I can see 6 cards if I use it without the last pcie slot from the MB.
It just won't boot with 7.

:/

Any suggestion?
ggilbert13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 12:57:06 AM
 #66

I have had mostly unsuccessful results with ASRock H81 Pro BTC R2.0.  Four motherboards purchased. One won't read memory slot 1. One won't read PCI power connector.  One won't read any PCI slot.  The best of the four I can get five of six (ASUS P106) cards working.  I am still in the process of swapping out H81's and am pretty tired of the process.  Purchased 12 cards and would like to run twelve cards. 

I love the sturdiness of the rigs you have.  A major difference in our rigs that reduces heat.  Willing to talk.  Can't seem to post properly here.

ggilbert13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 26, 2018, 01:10:03 AM
 #67

Still having an issue getting H81 Pro BTC R2.0 to accept more than 5 ASUS P106 cards to run.  I do run my cards at a 45 degree angle to help with cooling. Can't add pic.
b0nefish
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2018, 11:01:10 PM
 #68

@ggilbert13
this board was de facto standard for mining till mid-2017, until better boards started to appear that accepts 8-9-13 or more gpus.
you can see it in genesis mining videos, and few other large scale mining facilities.

therefor, I would dare to guess that you may have a problem somewhere else. with riser, riser cabels, psu, os setup or even the cards itself.

of course, it may be that it just doesn't love your own mining cards, but to have several MBOs that are "broken" points me that problem IS somewhere else.
Kartel
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2018, 01:23:16 PM
 #69

Hiya fellow miners, coming to you because i experienced a difficulty. Have already 6 gpu 1070 GTX running smoothly on win10, on my MB there is only 6 slots pcie (Asrock H81 pro btc R.20). Have bought an expansion hib riser, this one https://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B0756HM18N/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1  to install 7 gpu.

So i installed it, plugged one riser on it (one of the 6 already working not the new one) and nothing happen, have now 5 gpu recognized on my win10. Look like this expansion doesnt working or there is something i have to change on bios?

Already have gen1 tryed with gen2 same thing. Tryed to plug the expansion on another pcie slot, nothing happen. Have already check all forums, and didnt see any tips for this kind of problem. If someone have the solution or an idea, i'll take it ! Smiley

thx
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!